We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Experience in Provence!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Moulin a Huile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Moulin a Huile
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
“Outstanding Experience in Provence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent eight nights at Moulin a Huile in a beautiful suite. The charming decor in the room was balanced by a completely modern bath. Our private terrace looked out over the Ouveze river and two thousand year old Roman bridge. While the proerty is known for its Michelin-starred restaurant, where we enjoyed two wonderful dinners, the Provencale breakfasts were equally enjoyable. Ask to be served on the terrace in the morning! The wine list runs from undiscovered - in the USA at least - Rhones to classed Bordeaux.The servie is impeccable.
There is a well-equipped spa nearby with spa, pool and workout facilities. Vaison-la-Romaine icontains the largest ruins of acinet Rome in France that are available to the public. It also puts you in easy reach of Provence and the Rhone River Valley. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 952Sarah1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    24
    4
    9
    8
See reviews for
8
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zandbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice rooms, room on the first floor has an nice balcony with view on the Mont Ventoux.The breakfast is excellent but maybe a little too expensive. (€ 20,00/pp/pday).
The hostess is a very friendly lady.
The location is very good.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor could be a problem for tall people. (= low ceilings)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karinadecoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Please note that this is a not your average B&B, it restaurant with 4 available guest rooms all with their own character. The location is perfect for entry and exit into the town. Parking is free and generally available on the road towards the bridge.

Check in was a very relaxed affair and we were shown directly to our rooms. We had the balcony room and the view of the river and mountains was delightful. The quirky character of the owners flowed effortlessly throughout the house with art, books and magazines strategically placed on the walls and stairs.

The service was wonderful and we happily took madam up on her offer to do our laundry free of charge!!! Breakfast was a lavish affair with so much choice :-)

We stayed for a Monday night and was treated to probably the largest market that we have even seen the next morning. It covers the whole town and just about every product that you could ever need.

Simply put, we will definitely return here!

Room Tip: Pay the extra 20 euros for the "suite" with the balcony. Worth noting that the room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlacKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

It is important to understand this this is primarily a restaurant, that also has 4 (nice) guest rooms!

There is an expectation that you will have dinner here and if you chose not to, the matron of the house will make it very clear that she is not amused which assuredly will impact the enjoyment of your stay.

Also, it would be very beneficial if you speak basic French, because no member of the owners family or staff speak much English.

Having said all this, the location is excellent right outside the walls of the old town and overlooking the river and a mountain. This is a 400 year old building, with the odd shapes and sizes that go with it. The rooms are pretty and well appointed. The family is obviously very artistic and the entire house teems with books, pictures, statute and other knickknacks.

Without doubt the best breakfasts during our 14 day trip through France - really well done.

Please note that WI FI is not available in the rooms. You have to god downstairs to the office.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pomerol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a lovely place to stay full of charm and character and ideally situated just on the edge of Vaison and only a few strides from the sights and town centre.
Ms Bardot was a charming host and made us feel most welcome and our room was something special, quirky but more than adequate with a spacious bathroom and shower. We could not have wanted for more from our one night stay.
The garden is delightful for relaxing on a warm summer's day and there is a small inviting pool and sun loungers.
We had dinner in the restaurant in the evening eating on the terrace overlooking the river, a great view, and the food was fabulous making it a memorable evening.
Our stay was completed by a magnificant breakfast on the terrace in the morning and we were sad to depart this lovely place to stay in Provence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vaison-la-Romaine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#2 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#1 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
#7 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Eveche
L'Eveche
#2 of 18 in Vaison-la-Romaine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Jour et la Nuit
Le Jour et la Nuit
#1 of 18 in Vaison-la-Romaine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin a Huile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin a Huile

Property: Le Moulin a Huile
Address: 1 quai du Marechal Foch, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Vaison-la-Romaine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Vaison-la-Romaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the "Moulin à Huile" the cooking is madefor your highest pleasure.Taste "La Carte" , our suprise menus, our holiday menus, all designed with a copy of a watercoulor made by Robert Bardot.From January to March you can also taste our special Truffle menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Moulin a Huile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Moulin a Huile Vaison-La-Romaine, Provence, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing