We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful guesthouse”
Review of Le Jour et la Nuit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Jour et la Nuit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very cool place to stay in the middle of a vineyard. Our room was very modern and cool in a rustic converted farmhouse. Perfect and unique mix of old and new. The bathroom was also cool. Good night sleep here. Breakfast was delicious with local juices and good selection of meats and cheese.

Very near Vaison la Romaine (5 minute drive). They were building a pool when we were there so that should add to the experience for future guests.

I will say that it was near impossible to find as google maps did not plot it properly. We had to ask a nearby hotel where it was after 30 minutes of circling. Definitely consult something better than google maps if you stay here. This hotel had absolutely no signage. Even once there we were not share we had arrived.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 174 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

When you look at all the places you can stay at, it's hard to be better then the rest. La jour & nuit, is better then the rest. When you're looking for rest and tranquility you will find it over here. The owners are very friendly and helpful people. We had the room just above the dining room, witch was very clean and comfortable (Imho they did a bang out job on the lighting, and design of the room). It is a well succeeded combination between a modern and classic style. The comforts of today with the charms of few hundred years ago.it was a bit hard to find, because it is located in the middle of some vineyards, but when you use these coordinates it would be allot easier : 44.250948,5.046176. One night we stayed in for supper which was very nice as well. Bottom line, if you would like to visit the Provence, and you pick the region round Vaisson- La-Romain, you can't be better of then this place. Thanks for making it a very pleasant stay !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A fabulous conversion by Emanuelle and David and they are just now building a swimming pool to make it even better. We stayed 4 nights: our welcome was fantastic and nothing was ever too much trouble, including offers to take issue with local store over faulty goods (I fight my own battles, but such a kind offer). Agree with all the other comments re interiors, comfort etc. Lovely breakfasts but just missed having the option of eating in as the hotel is 2-3 km out of town. Apparently planning permission for catering wasn't possible in an area prescribed as 'agricultural'.

This is also the perfect base for so many great excursions:Vaison is lovely, Mt Ventoux awesome, loads of footpaths in the hills....all-in-all hard to fault.

Room Tip: The rooms are individually designed and profiled on the website: we liked our west-facing room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackmellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was reluctant to write this review because La Jour et la Nuit is a secret I would prefer to keep to myself. There's nothing negative I could say from our stay.

The building is nicely renovated in a modern style while retaining the Provence charm, and was located in a beautiful setting just outside the town of Vaison la Romaine (if not a little tricky to find the first time). The hosts were wonderful, as was the breakfast.

For cyclists, Vaison-la-Romaine is a good place to be based. There are many great rides nearby including Ventoux and the spectacular Gorges de la Nesque.

The feel was contemporary casual. You'll feel completely comfortable in flip flops having a glass of wine in the courtyard, where Plume (the dog) was a welcome companion.

Will definitely be back...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great place on earth!
The building is renewed with a perfect balance between preserving the old and ancient and adding the new and modern. An exquisite mixture between old and new.
Spacious rooms, great furniture, every detail thought over twice, sleeping quality superb (room, but also matras etc.).
Breakfast very complete and delicious top quality, service by always smiling landlady that is always available for any additional information on the nearby city or area in general.
Unforeseen late arrival was miraculously accepted and solved.
THANK YOU !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDLLTicino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed one night on our visit to Vaison la Romaine.
The farm house is well restored and situated among vineyards and orchards.
The rooms are stylish and well appointed , a good 4 star hotel standard and a warm welcome from the owners.
The breakfast is very good with fresh fruit and home made jams.
There are no sign posts to the BB even when you are in front of it. Look at the map and take the D975 to get there and do not rely on your GPS or you may arrive via dirt track!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisChristiane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here three nights this past May in the Le Jardin room. To echo the other reviewers, they have beautifully restored this limestone building and the grounds around the property. It sits next to a vineyard, which makes for a very nice setting.

The rooms are decorated in an "art Deco" style that on one hand sounds "hip" and uber-european...........however, it made for a cold, sterile and unwelcoming room. One that you can't wait to leave in the morning and not hurry back to at night. It was unseasonably cold while we were there and they were having issues with their heat pump, so we woke up the first night freezing. David was kind enough to provide a space heater for us, so this helped for the other two nights.

The breakfast was very nice, very good bread, cheeses, fresh juices, etc. The breakfast room, which is a glass walled extension off of the main house is also done in a contemporary style. Close the curtains so you can't see the natural stone courtyard and you could easily feel as though you are in the waiting room of a doctors office. I know some are thinking I am being too harsh.....not at all, I am just trying to convey our experience. It also needs to be said that cost should be considered when evaluating a property. And for 100 euros a night, including breakfast, it is a very good value for Provence.

Lastly, the hosts Emmanuelle & David are nice, but again, not overly-welcoming. It is hard for me to explain, but you just get the feeling that you are inconveniencing them in their own home, versus them happy to have you as a guest. The lack of any kind of signage identifying their location is also kind of strange. We found it ok by putting in the map coordinates into the GPS, but even in the daylight we weren't entirely sure we were at the right place. Even with the value taken into consideration, we will probably look elsewhere next time in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horlbogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaison-la-Romaine
1.2 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#3 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
219 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostellerie le Beffroi
Hostellerie le Beffroi
#2 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Bastide Bleue
La Bastide Bleue
#2 of 2 in Seguret
72 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#1 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
302 reviews
1.5 mi away
L'Eveche
L'Eveche
#2 of 20 in Vaison-la-Romaine
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jour et la Nuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jour et la Nuit

Address: 1205 Chemin des Ruches, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Vaison-la-Romaine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Vaison-la-Romaine
Price Range: $88 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming guesthouse between vineyard and apricot-trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Jour et la Nuit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jour Et La Nuit Vaison-La-Romaine, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing