We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Le Jour et la Nuit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Jour et la Nuit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was reluctant to write this review because La Jour et la Nuit is a secret I would prefer to keep to myself. There's nothing negative I could say from our stay.

The building is nicely renovated in a modern style while retaining the Provence charm, and was located in a beautiful setting just outside the town of Vaison la Romaine (if not a little tricky to find the first time). The hosts were wonderful, as was the breakfast.

For cyclists, Vaison-la-Romaine is a good place to be based. There are many great rides nearby including Ventoux and the spectacular Gorges de la Nesque.

The feel was contemporary casual. You'll feel completely comfortable in flip flops having a glass of wine in the courtyard, where Plume (the dog) was a welcome companion.

Will definitely be back...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 172 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great place on earth!
The building is renewed with a perfect balance between preserving the old and ancient and adding the new and modern. An exquisite mixture between old and new.
Spacious rooms, great furniture, every detail thought over twice, sleeping quality superb (room, but also matras etc.).
Breakfast very complete and delicious top quality, service by always smiling landlady that is always available for any additional information on the nearby city or area in general.
Unforeseen late arrival was miraculously accepted and solved.
THANK YOU !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDLLTicino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed one night on our visit to Vaison la Romaine.
The farm house is well restored and situated among vineyards and orchards.
The rooms are stylish and well appointed , a good 4 star hotel standard and a warm welcome from the owners.
The breakfast is very good with fresh fruit and home made jams.
There are no sign posts to the BB even when you are in front of it. Look at the map and take the D975 to get there and do not rely on your GPS or you may arrive via dirt track!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisChristiane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here three nights this past May in the Le Jardin room. To echo the other reviewers, they have beautifully restored this limestone building and the grounds around the property. It sits next to a vineyard, which makes for a very nice setting.

The rooms are decorated in an "art Deco" style that on one hand sounds "hip" and uber-european...........however, it made for a cold, sterile and unwelcoming room. One that you can't wait to leave in the morning and not hurry back to at night. It was unseasonably cold while we were there and they were having issues with their heat pump, so we woke up the first night freezing. David was kind enough to provide a space heater for us, so this helped for the other two nights.

The breakfast was very nice, very good bread, cheeses, fresh juices, etc. The breakfast room, which is a glass walled extension off of the main house is also done in a contemporary style. Close the curtains so you can't see the natural stone courtyard and you could easily feel as though you are in the waiting room of a doctors office. I know some are thinking I am being too harsh.....not at all, I am just trying to convey our experience. It also needs to be said that cost should be considered when evaluating a property. And for 100 euros a night, including breakfast, it is a very good value for Provence.

Lastly, the hosts Emmanuelle & David are nice, but again, not overly-welcoming. It is hard for me to explain, but you just get the feeling that you are inconveniencing them in their own home, versus them happy to have you as a guest. The lack of any kind of signage identifying their location is also kind of strange. We found it ok by putting in the map coordinates into the GPS, but even in the daylight we weren't entirely sure we were at the right place. Even with the value taken into consideration, we will probably look elsewhere next time in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horlbogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Le Jour et La Nuit served as a totally delightful home for our three day visit to northern Provence. As others have remarked, the farm house (mas? bastide?) was beautifully and sensitively restored. Its setting, in a vineyard surrounded by apricot trees, was restful and quiet. Even the pets, Plume the dog and the two cute cats, seem just right.

Emmanuelle was a charming and helpful hostess even before we crossed the threshold. Our GPS could not locate their B&B. After phoning, somewhat in a panic, Emmanuelle drove to where we stood by the roadside and led us to her B&B.

The interior is quite starkly modern, yet very welcoming. A great sense of style here. Big, fluffy towels, nice bath products, terry cloth robes, and a bed comfortable for us two tall people.

The breakfasts were every bit as delicious as others have described. Emmanuelle fixed dinner for us on our final night there, and it was one of the best meals we had during our three week trip.

Vaison La Romaine is a pretty and historic town, with parking easy enough to find … except on market day. We loved touring the entire area, beginning with our drive to Vaison through the Luberon from Aix en Provence. The small and picturesque wine town of Gigondas proved to be a favorite.

We hope to return to this excellent B&B!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne97210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at Le Jour et la Nuit for one night on our trek through Provence. We couldn't find the place so we called Emanuel, and she and her precious daughter came and met us. From that phone call on, we knew we were in for a treat. The farmhouse has been renovated and is gorgeous with a beautiful courtyard, a friendly dog and two cats that occasionally meander by. Everything inside and out is immaculate . Our room had sleeping for three and a huge balcony looking out over vineyards and orchards. There are metal shutters you can open from bed to look out onto the vineyards and it was dark and quiet and comfortable sleeping. A new, modern bathroom with a great shower was also in the room. Breakfast was WONDERFUL with huge croissants, chocolate croissants, meats, yogurt and several different kinds of wonderful homemade jams and fantastic local juices. Emmanuel was so charming and accommodating. The only bad thing was we had to leave. Vaison la romaine was a beautiful city with a medieval city on top of the hill by the roman bridge. Everything was wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WesleyChapelLiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This property has been rated so highly, and justly so, that there is little to add. However, we recently were happy to find availability, and were assigned to the last open room here. t was made to be handicapped accessible (we are not handicapped) and a;though the room was lovely, the shower had no curtain and the floor does not drain properly. When used, the entire floor including the floor area at the sink and the toilet becomes wet and stays drenched the whole day through. Any time one needs to use the sink or the toilet, you walk through the standing water and then need to try not to track this into the bedroom area. Other than this, the stay was perfect and Emmanuelle's dinners, although pricy, were heavenly, were worth the cost and are highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saccuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vaison-la-Romaine hotels
1.6 mi away
Hostellerie le Beffroi
Hostellerie le Beffroi
#2 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#1 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
294 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Bastide
Hotel La Bastide
#5 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#3 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
#8 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jour et la Nuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jour et la Nuit

Address: 1205 Chemin des Ruches, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Vaison-la-Romaine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Vaison-la-Romaine
Price Range: $112 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming guesthouse between vineyard and apricot-trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Jour et la Nuit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jour Et La Nuit Vaison-La-Romaine, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing