We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't return in a hurry” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Le Leonardo

Restaurant Le Leonardo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Won't return in a hurry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This restaurant has great pretensions but failed to deliver as far as we were concerned.
The maitre d' is a very odd fellow who is either very shy or very arrogant. We couldn't work put which.
The food was OK but our main issue was that whatever we had was very oily. From the Salad that was sloshing in so much oil that, because we sat outside on the sloping road, it nearly spilled back out of the plate in to my wife's lap to the pan fried tuna. All too greasy for us.
Not good value at €90 for 2 courses and a carafe of rosé.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaBlue66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    30
    7
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
112 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very nice evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I had a nice meal with my wife here in lovely Vaison. Location is great. Food was good. my wife choose the pasta linguine which was excellent. I took the lamb, also good, but I could have eaten more. Prices are a bit on the high side. Very nice starter and desert. I would recommend. Service was good except they hurried us to leave when we were done.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juelsvej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Exceptional Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

have you had food so good you'd cry? that was the experience I had when I went here. the atmosphere setting was an intimate one and the maitre'd is warm and friendly. the chef, who reminds me of John Galliano, is an artist. the dish St Jacques Poelees au Vinaigre Balsamique is exquisite and a must try as the appetizer. the accompanying lamb entre and chocolate fondant lived up the expectation of the appetizer and tasted great as well. the entire experience was a religious one and paints you a story like the Sistine Chapel.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FauzyIsmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
143 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Food excellent, prices exhorbitant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Really very good Italian food, but service only just what it should be, considering the prices. The maitre d' can be very moody, warm and welcoming one day and cranky the next.
And we found the prices truly exhorbitant. So we have stopped going there, even though we live near.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mollandaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian place in Vaison!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

I like everything about this place, the setting, decor, food, wine and service. Nothing to complain about - prices just about ok too. Book ahead in busy times.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank minnie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Leonardo also viewed

Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
 
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
 

Been to Restaurant Le Leonardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing