We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usually when there's only one big hotel in town...”

Grand Hotel du Cours
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel du Cours
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sisteron
Reviewed August 5, 2012

..it's not very good. That is not the case with this hotel. It is a big hotel, with a large restaurant and sidewalk cafe, but the staff tries for an air of elegance, and they mostly succeed. The entry and lobby have an old world feel, but in a comfortable kind of way. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable, although a bit small. The staff is friendly and helpful, and patient with my bad French.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep with the window open, which you will in the summer in Sisteron, avoid the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leighsscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 119 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

Friendly welcome by, we presume the owner. During our stay this lady had always a friendly word. She knew that we understood French but not perfectly so she talked a bit slower. The room was small, as was the bathroom. We had a room at the front so early in the morning we heard people talking, delivery vans eg. the hotel is situated in the centre at a crossing. Close to shops, cathedral, tourist information. unfortunately no airco. It was so hot in the room and we had to leave the shutters open. Clean towels every day. Good shower. Beds were good. No duvet but blankets and sheets. The room could do with some updating. Big lounge downstairs. There is a restaurant with good food. Tea was cheap!!!! Just €2, while in the rest of the area you pay at least € 4. The desserts were value for money. Patisserie: one piece, two pieces or even 3, it's just € 7 and the same with cheeses. It doesn't matter how many pieces, it's a fixed price. There are 3 tables and chairs in front of the entrance where you can have a drink. There is nothing else, so we sat there, but not very pleasant. But if you're looking for a friendly hotel with a good restaurant, this good be your choice if you're not too demanding.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasduivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Simple Hotel in the French Province that barely should make the 3 stars. TVs in rooms are okay no international channels. Very small rooms, most of the towards the busy street (single glass windows). Very very small bathrooms, very old fashioned. On top of rooms 12-17 is a massive generator of some sort running making the bathrooms vibrate. Beds are old and soft. Furniture is old and beat up. The staff at the reception is short in explanations, not very talkative (even in French) and could be taken as arrogant (don't bother me - attitude) The waiting staff was very friendly. 1 Bottle of beer (0,33ltr) is 4 Euros. Rooms are clean, not airconditioned.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were send here by the nearby Ibis hotel that we booked but due to an error in the reservation system was over booked. The hotel promised a room with airco but when we arrived it had none. Then we asked the manager for a room with airco, and he very rudely said that we could go if we were not satisfied. A room with airco suddenly costed 130 euro while they advertise the price as 78 euro at their website and at the entrance. This is realy a scandalous rip-off . Further the room was small (it can hardly fit a 2 person bed), noisy, warm and weared. Never go to this hotel in your life because you will get ripped off. don't go to this hotel, its very unwelcoming

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oudgenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Why do the French like to go to the type of restaurants that have a maitre D (female in this case) who looks down their noses at you ! this is certainly one of them. I had an entrecote steak, thin,extremely fatty tasting,smothered in butter and overpriced, You know French Traditional Cooking! Breakfast was sidestepped, 10Euros, Eggs and ham extra!
Hotel itself was OK though! There are other places to eat!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soundhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rose_fr_marseille13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Sur l'arrière pour le calme et au second pour la vue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Flojeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sisteron
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Tivoli
Hotel Le Tivoli
#3 of 7 in Sisteron
153 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Sisteron
Ibis Sisteron
#1 of 7 in Sisteron
357 reviews
1.7 mi away
Les Chenes
Les Chenes
#4 of 7 in Sisteron
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Citadelle
La Citadelle
#6 of 7 in Sisteron
98 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Sisteron
Ibis Budget Sisteron
#5 of 7 in Sisteron
239 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant la Magnanerie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Cours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Cours

Address: place de l_Eglise, 04200 Sisteron, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Sisteron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sisteron
Price Range: $84 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel du Cours 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel du Cours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing