We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Farniente

Farniente
Price range: $20 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great food, nice presentation, relaxing location. Service somewhat slow at times, and prices above standard in this part of France - nonetheless, overall another happy customer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pikkumyy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_dum, Propriétaire at Farniente, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear friends from Switzerland,

Many thanks for your recent commentary for the Farniente plage.
We are delighted to receive your feedback and are happy to know that you appreciated our cuisine and location.
We extend our apologies if the service on this particular day was below par, we try our best to meet the needs of every client that visit us. In regarding to the prices at Fariente, they are in accordance with the quality of our fresh produce.

We hope to welcome you back to the camargue and Farniente Plage again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

The Farniente Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    212
    71
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
112 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Devine, quiet location, superior service and great food - that sums it up. That's on top of a stylish interior and lots of parking.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_dum, Propriétaire at Farniente, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Mleuth,

Many thanks for your lovely commentary. it gave us great pleasure to know that you appreciated our service and produce. For us, it is the most important, that you; the client, leaves with a sense of satisfaction regarding service and food!
The large car park in front of our restaurant is indeed a great advantage to us, it means that we can provide free, safe parking for our customers!

We hope that you will come back to visit us again in the near future during your next visit to the Camargue.

With kind regards,
The Farniente Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go there! - Just avoid the "haute cuisine"! ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We arrived with my wife for a lunch on a Thursday, so not a busy day by any account. First, they refused to let us share the mussels, which we knew were great and copious in portion. So we ordered the squid as a second dish. It was terrible, chewy and flavorless, much like everything on that plate, and the bread we were served would be considered a worthy projectile at any football game. Next time we'll stick to the cocktails and fries, the location is well worth the visit.

Helpful?
Thank Javier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_dum, Propriétaire at Farniente, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Javier,

Many thanks taking the time to write this commentary, your feedback is very important to us.
We would like to clarify a few details regarding the day of your visit to Farniente.
Firstly, your visit coincided with a large storm in the area and the team was in the process of a big clean up during the aftermath, which damaged our establishment; it is by no means an excuse but we would like to put a few issues into context for you.
You arrived after the conclusion of the midday service; we wished to accomodate your needs for your pleasure and we re-opened the kitchen post service for one portion of Mussels and one Jug of water to share; this is why we insisted on ordering a second plate. In regards to the second dish, you refer to as "chewy" and "disgusting" but you finished the entire dish and even left a 4euro tip, which is confusing to us as you were evidently not happy with the produce.
It is true that the bread on this day had hardened during our midday service as a result of the humidity in the air following the storm but when we baked a fresh batch especially for you, you declined.
We made various efforts to meet all of your requirements and are saddened to learn that you were not satisified during your visit.
Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Farniente Plage in the future.

Kind regards,

The Farniente Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This restaurant was a real find for us, so much so that we went back twice in our short time in Les Saintes Maries de la Mer. Very good food served in a great location . A beautiful view of the sea especially with the sun setting. Service was really friendly - explaining everything to us, as we did not have much command of French. The atmosphere was really good on both occasions with a nice mix of ages and families/couples. Really interesting decor within a fascinating demountable structure on a private beach.
We would highly recommend this to anyone and it really helped us to have a wonderful holiday in the Camargue.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_dum, Propriétaire at Farniente, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Frances,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely message. We appreciate all feedback from our clientele.
We are very happy to know that you appreciated the quality of our produce and services, as this is very important to us and an area in which we pride ourselves.
Here at the Farniente, we have a young dynamic team that speak English, French, Spanish and German ensuring that we can cater for the needs of all of our customers.
We are truly happy that your visit to Farniente was one of the high points of your holiday in Camargue and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

With kindest regards,
The Farniente Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farniente also viewed

Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Farniente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing