We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect spot”
Review of La Palunette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Palunette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was everything we had hoped for, absolutely wonderful, friendly and efficient staff, Aurielie couldn't have been more helpful even allowing me to practice my rudimentary french on her. The setting being literally adjoining the Camargue was ideal if your going for the wildlife and it was only 1km to Saints Marie. Breakfasts were the best we had on our whole trip. We had a fridge and a kettle which for us Brits is very welcome as we could make a cup of tea when we liked. The pool area was spot on with plenty of space and loungers and did i mention how friendly the staff were?

Room Tip: All the rooms were the same, so all of them are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank droitwichWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 264 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

We just returned from eight days at La Palunette. It's a simple, comfortable and likeable place. The pool is nice, the little verandah at the back of the rooms (with view of a Camargue horse) is also a great little extra. The room is very clean, the bed large and comfortable. Aircon is good. Given that this is just classed as a three star, the standards are very good. Breakfast is €9.00 but worth it in our view - you can ask for eggs cooked anyway you like, in addition to a simple buffet and the traditional 'pain et croissants'. There is no other food offer, but we picnicked on a couple of occasions, Aurelie lending us the plates and cutlery to do so on our little verandah. The staff, overseen by Aurelie, are all very cheerful and pleasant. Nothing is too much trouble. The bar and lounge area are pretty quiet, as the town is just a ten minute walk down the road, with literally dozens of eating options - in fact it's pretty much wall to wall restaurants, cafes and shops. Generally a really nice place to stay. There is bike rental in town if you want to get down the coastal paths, which we recommend. Also go to the Bac de sauvage - a little free ferry with a little eaterie on the other side, a really pleasant diversion. We walked there and it took an hour. Bike would be 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NickOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The lovely horses, little Jongo the baby Chihuahua, the hungry cats, and the birds, which include flamingoes made this hotel one of the favorites of my trip to the south of France to visit sacred sites. Aurelie, the owner and proprietress was so kind and helpful and she spoke excellent English. I will be grateful to her to my dying day for showing me how to use the European computer keyboard; I was finally able to get into my e-mail after days of no contact with family since I had lost my Kindle Fire ipad in the airport. I had been trying for days without success to log into my accounts; Aurelie actually did it for me, pointing out the main secret which is that numbers and periods require the shift key! Another example of specialized service was her decision to drive into town to obtain a special necklace for one of our tour guides, leaving her own necklace as collateral. The rooms were comfortable and air conditioned. Outside our on our back patio, a lovely white horse was almost always visible; you could go up and pet him, which I did on several occasions. The lovely swimming pool helped ease my aching back. The classic French breakfast was superb. I would return here again in a heartbeat, probably with someone I loved.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Firstly the good. We took advantage of a special offer so the room was very reasonable. Our little dog was welcome at no extra charge. The owner couldn't have been nicer and as a bonus, spoke excellent English. Breakfast was lovely with a freshly made smoothy as well as fresh croissants, bread etc. the room was small but clean. In the room we found a fridge with a door that fell off when we opened it and a shower that overflowed because the drain was blocked. We reported those and it was noted. What we felt was a shame was the state of the outside of the hotel. It was beyond shabby. The fence was broken and rusty which could be a problem for anyone with children and animals. To see such a beautiful location where you could see wild horses and flamingoes flying by spoiled by beds and pots choked with massive weeds and chairs and loungers dirty and neglected was sad. With some hard work it could be lovely but had we been paying full price we would have felt short-changed. A dirty glass sat on the outside bar for 2 days and the pool was dirty. Don't expect luxury. It's basic and gives the impression that they can't afford to keep it up to scratch. Having said that, if you can overlook your immediate surroundings it is 10/10 for friendliness, quietness and breakfast.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Miriam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

A very friendly little hotel about 1 km outside Stes Maries.

The rooms are smallish but modern and clean with A/C, a refrigerator, TV and a safe. Our room overlooked a typical Camargue landscape and we almost always had a white horse standing in the middle of it. Each room has a table and chairs outside on a deck area and loungers.

There is a very good pool with loungers and sun shades and a bar. A very good breakfast is served either inside or by the pool. There is no restaurant but they will book tables for you in the town.

Altogether a delightful little hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_R_Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A small and charming hotel. The friendliness of the owners and staff, the swimming pool, the clean and well-appointed room--with patio and view--were all welcome. Everyone went out of their way to make me feel at home and receive exactly what I needed, even if my scant French made that last point difficult.

On top of all that the setting was serene.

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Room with a patio and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSpence09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The room was simple but clean, with a decent shower. The key here was the outstanding service. We arrived late one afternoon, but thanks to the owner, we were able to book an evening cruise (with discount) that same day, and ride the famous Camargue horses the next morning. The breakfast for 9 euros each was generous and tasty. Being on the outskirts of town was a blessing, as the crowds and parking in the centre ville are intimidating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Omnivore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer hotels
0.2 mi away
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des ...
#15 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
813 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mas de la Fouque
Mas de la Fouque
#1 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
774 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mas de Calabrun
Mas de Calabrun
#3 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Vila de la Mar
Vila de la Mar
#2 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mangio Fango
Hotel Mangio Fango
#10 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
282 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Tramontane
Hotel La Tramontane
#8 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palunette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palunette

Address: Route d Arles, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Price Range: $108 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Palunette 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your La Palunette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing