We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great food & good service”
Review of Mas de Calabrun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mas de Calabrun
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great food & good service”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in June. The rooms varied a great deal & I had one of the smaller ones, but it was clean & quiet with a good bathroom. The highlights were the service & the great food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pwilman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    200
    46
    14
    5
See reviews for
124
283
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spent 3 nights at Mas de Calabrun and it was very enjoyable. The surrounding area is picturesque, quiet, relaxing, with nothing but beautiful scenery and wildlife. The general feeling of the property is country/rugged (it is a farm). The rooms are comfortable, the bathrooms are nicely done, and the A/C worked well. We had a terrace overlooking the pond, however due to the mosquitoes we spent most of our time by the pool where there were no mosquitoes. At night we had to hunt a few mosquitoes in our room, we sprayed ourselves with mosquito spray and had no bites. Given the surrounding wildlife I believe the mosquitoes are permanent residents and with a little planning the situation is manageable and tolerable. In addition to the mosquitoes, sand is often blown in, however the cleaning staff does a reasonable job keeping the floors of the rooms clean.

The pool area is large and has plenty of very comfortable lounge chairs. Don't miss watching the stars late at night. The staff re-arranged the chairs every evening and the pool area was nice by the time dinner was being served.

Dinner was absolutely delicious and it is well worth staying at the hotel with the half board option. Dinner was served either outside or inside, depending on weather (wind). We tried items from both the a la carte menu and half board pre set menu. The chef does a fantastic job. We were very happy/impressed with the quality, freshness and creativity of the food. Don't miss having an aperitif before dinner, the bar has a wide range of Provencal options. The wine selection is good and the prices are reasonable. As others have noted the hotel provides a great breakfast with lots of meats, cheese, fresh fruit, pastries, etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PermanentNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The hotel itself is really nice, big room with clean and new bathroom! Breakfast time is absolutely great, the only really continental breakfast we found in out 15 days in provence and camargue! Pool is big and jacuzzi is nice but, unfortunately, not clean!! What really made our stay less pleasent was the mosquito! The hotel is sited near to' a small river and mosquito Are everywhere!! You cannot open Windows or doors and you have to keep the door always closed otherwise mosquito Will enter in the room ( you can see many died mosquito on the wall of the room, this is really ugly!)!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for 3 nights, the location is 4 km from the city centre, away from the hustle and bustle, its so relaxing there, the rooms are generous in size, air conditioned, flat screen TV, great bed and bathroom,,and 5 star linen, everything seems brand new and spotlessly clean, the pool is a dream and the staff are excellent, especially the Manageress Aurelie who was professional, courteous and a 'nothing to much trouble', attitude. They have there own carmargue horses and arrange trips daily for small groups of 4 to 6, unlike other operators that have 25 to 30 walking in a long row, they offer a very individual service at a great price, a little slice of heaven, and we will return, the place to go if you want everything just perfect. Highly recommended.!!!! we loved it!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PogoStickPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer hotels
2.5 mi away
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des Bannes
L'Auberge Cavaliere Du Pont Des ...
#10 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
769 reviews
3.2 mi away
Vila de la Mar
Vila de la Mar
#2 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
334 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mas de la Fouque
Mas de la Fouque
#1 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Le Mas de Cocagne
Le Mas de Cocagne
#5 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
384 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Les Arnelles
Hotel Les Arnelles
#9 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
261 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mas des Barres
Mas des Barres
#25 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas de Calabrun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de Calabrun

Property: Mas de Calabrun
Address: 85 A route de Cacharel | Quartier de Frigoules, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mas de Calabrun 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in the heart of the Camargue Natural Park. 30 Rooms totally renewed and decorated with Camargue items (provided with air-conditionning, flat tv and hair dryer). Restaurant with fine traditional cooking. Swimming-pool, boules ground, table tennis and horseriding in our private domain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Mas de Calabrun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing