We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Google
Ways to Experience Le Parc Ornithologique de Pont de Gau
from $90.19
More Info
from $124.01
More Info
Reviews (2,750)
Filter reviews
2,750 results
Traveler rating
1,617
883
179
47
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,617
883
179
47
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird park pink flamingos entrance fee bird life beautiful birds wings small cafe water birds nice park watch the birds bird watchers longer walk insect repellent their natural habitat wild horses le parc information boards
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 2,750 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2019

Well worth a visit. We had a lovely morning here. Visitors can choose to do the 2.6 km walk around some of the smaller pools (approx 45 mins-1 hr) or add on the 4.3km around the edge of the larger etangs (approx 2 hrs in total).
The walks are easy and nicely laid out - but take a hat and sunscreen as the area heats up.
The shorter route has the majority of the wildlife (cranes, storks, flamingos and beavers - if you are lucky enough to spot the latter). We didn't see much on the longer walk but it was still nice to do. We didn't see any dead fish as mentioned in an earlier review but saw a few very large live ones and everything looked very healthy. There are also some pens at the start that are now home to injured birds which cannot be released back to the wild.
There is a little cafe at the start/ end of the circuit serving drinks and sandwiches on a terrace.
Entrance is $8 and definitely worth it. The park also now takes cards to pay for the entrance fee.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank helsbels4762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2019

This is more like a zoo than park. Lots of flamingos, a few coypu and the odd wader. A total disapointment. Hundreds of people and hundreds of school children.So much noise.Couldnt wait to leave Manicured footpaths Many more places to see birds and this is the last you would visit. Huge dead carp everywhere .The water is green with algae as though stagnant. Flamingos like it though or the'd vote with feet/wings Waste of money

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2019

We have been visiting Camargue for decades now and always visit Pont de Gau. Plenty of different bird species to be seen and great photo opportunities.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank andylovering2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2019 via mobile

A super visitor experience. They miss a trick by not having any gift shop! There are birds in large enclosures but they are severely injured and could never survive in the wild.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Cyrus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2019

We drove with friends into the Camargue from their home near Anduze, so ... an hour-and-a-half or so. I had heard about this place from our friends, but really had no idea what to expect.

Expect: Kinda a compromise between developed tourist stop and natural bird habitats.

On the former, a small counter-based cafe, seating area under sun shade, some birds in cages, decent restrooms, etc.

On the latter, a series of trails follow the contours of two natural/artificial lagoons. The first one is short; the second one is LONG! We did the first one! ('Cause we were off next to Aigue-Mortes and Le Grau-du-Roi - all in one day.)

We saw many flamingos, herons, ducks and wading birds, etc. We heard - and sometimes saw - song-birds in the thick foliage along the trail.

We experienced (in mid-May 2019) a nearly constant wind (probably 15-20 mph), and bright blue skies and near-tropical sun. Do not eschew the sunscreen!!

But in all, a fine experience.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank LarryM708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews