We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like looking at water birds , especially flamingos make the effort to visist”

Le Parc Ornithologique de Pont de Gau
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.66*
and up
Camargue and Les Saintes Maries de la Mer Tour from Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“If you like looking at water birds , especially flamingos make the effort to visist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We drove here from Narbonne. I am a biased reviewer, I love nature especially the elegant flamingos so prevalent here and I dont like walking 50 k carrying my photo kit. This parc is well laid out with wide, well maintained and accessible walking tracks. Ample car and bike parking. Only a few K walking is required. Sorry to see another reviewer had there car broken into and robbed. We had no such problems with our small hire car. There is a cafe in the observatory where you can get a most welcome cold drinks. We also visited in Sept and were not worried by mosies. At midday there is a lot of glare so you might want a polariser for you camera lens. I only saw one wild horse but I stayed in areas with flamingos so maybe they were somewhere else.

I have to say I had been looking forward to this trip for months and was not disappointed. !! On the other hand one of our group, walked around for an hour and then waited 3 hours in the cafe with a cold drink and a book.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ozsolo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    918
    542
    110
    31
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Flamingo heavan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The large number of beaultiful pink flamingos in October was unbelievable. This is very worth the stop for up close photography of these beautiful birds. We also saw caged owls and other wounded birds that were in the care of the parc. Please stop and spend the time to experience this great place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank msm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Warning. if you decide to visit- beware. We were parked in the carpark at 10am 28 September and we got our vehicle broken into. When visiting the local police I think this is a hotspot for theft. We had nothing on display in our camping-car. The theives broke in through the dining area window. So beware.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank theexplorer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This was the high light of our holiday in Provence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spend two weeks in Provence this year and out trip to Le Parc Ornithologique was fantastic. We had been looking forward to this visit and were not disappointed. Flamingos were superb but also Storks, Egrets and Herons, so many and so close. Very easy to get around, well signposted. We did the full route round - quite long but worth it. Do take binoculars to get all the detail. Also saw an Otter and a Beaver and of course, the famous white horses. Lovely little snack bar: excellent filled baguettes and cold drinks.
A very memorable experience!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Flamingos and more flamingos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Yes, that's what we saw in abundance, they were fascinating in flight and in the water, also saw some herons. The pathways were wide and easy to traverse, would liked to have observed a bigger variety of birds, overall it was a really relaxing walk, lovely landscape.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Parc Ornithologique de Pont de Gau also viewed

Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Parc Ornithologique de Pont de Gau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing