We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Auberge Edelweiss
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Grave
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We have had a lovely time in this hotel.
The quality of the room and of the bed was really good.
Silence during the evening.
TV in the bedroom.
Clean bathroom with a bath.
Very nice welcome on arrival.
Very nice view of the Meije.
I would advice this hotel to anybody going to the Grave.
Spa available for relaxing moments.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday201013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Auberge Edelweiss
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 106 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2009

Every winter we very much enjoy our trips to La Grave. The skiing is superb, a pure experience. Where ever you go, La Grande Dame de La Meije is watching you!
Hotel Edelweiss offers you the ideal Base Camp whenever you are in La Grave. After an exciting day in the mountains, it feels good to enjoy the afternoon sun and relax on the terrass. Edelweiss offers you great wines, which is the interest area of the landlord, Robin. The food is great and the staff is professional and friendly.

Last week (July 09) we visited Edelweiss with our 5 teenage kids and again we really loved it. We spend 3 days in a big appartment with 2 bathrooms and 4 bedrooms. During the day we did lots of outdoor activities, like climbing. Late in the afternoon the kids enjoyed the jacuzzi, while we had a nice beer in the bar. Diner was served at the terrass and we ALL enjoyed the environment and staff!

This is our home in the French Alpes (whish I had those quality wines...). We´ll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelgiumBandits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2008

La Grave / La Meije is a very popular destination with extreme skiers and snowboarders, but I stayed at the Hotel Edelweiss because I needed a place "away" to work on a book for a few days.

It was quiet during the day when the snow fiends were gone, and quiet at night as they were all exhausted!

The owners, Marlon and Robin, are friendly and knowledgeable and very accommodating. They love their inn, and enjoy their guests, and it shows.

The rooms are simple, all have ensuite bathrooms with tub and shower (and my room had an excellent mirror light) and a view of the Meije glacier (weather permitting). Everything was clean--not brand new, but very well cared for.

The food at the Edelweiss is excellent and very reasonably priced. I took the demi-pension--the price includes the room, breakfast, and dinner--and was entirely happy with each night's dinner special. The hotel has a huge selection of wine, very reasonably priced, and each night the "specials" include the wine selected to match the evening's dinner. If you can't finish a bottle--get a half bottle, a glass, or a cork to keep your partly consumed bottle for future meals!

In addition to the wooden-beamed-chalet-style dining room, there is a cozy bar, a small "multipurpose room," and a jacuzzi & sauna so there are plenty of places to hang out when not out in the mountains. With wifi, and a computer for guest access in the bar.

For the snow fiends - there is also a nicely set up equipment room for storing, cleanng, preparing boots, boards, skis, etc.

The hotel doesn't serve lunch so I ventured out into the village where there is a good number of bars, cafes, hotel-restaurants, and restaurants. It's within walking distance of the lift to the slopes--all in all, very conveniently located.

I stayed here in the winter, but hope to return in the summer. I've been to this part of the alps several times before and it's gorgeous in all seasons.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GrenobleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2007

Just thought I'd add to this, I've been staying here for nigh on six years, so you can't get a better review than that.

Marlon & Robin have owned the hotel and "been in charge", well Marlon at least :) for the past four years. It's very much home from home for me and I stay there with and without my wife, so again that must say something as my wife is happy for me to go on my own!

Whether in a group staying in the hotel apartments which are roomy & comfortable or in the hotel there's always a pleasant ambience.

Food and wine can not be faulted, only problem is that the bar has a nasty habit of keeping hold of me after dinner.

As for location, obvioulsy great for La Grave / Chazalet, but we use it as a base to go further afield to Col Du Lauterett, Serre Chevalier, Deux Alpes, Alpe D'Huez and other areas.

Stayed: January 2007
Thank GavinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

We had a fantastic time there. The large patio was a perfect place to enjoy the pleasant breakfast with a grand view of the rugged alpine setting across the valley. The staff was friendly. The owners, Marlon and Robin, made us feel very welcome and were most helpful. Dinners were great, and Robin had outstanding recommendations for little-known wines to complement the fine food ideally. We very much look forward to returning.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BernardH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

excellent food, cosy place, not too big, atmosphere guarantee due to the fantastic owners Marlon and Robin. it s international place which makes a special ambiance !!!! bar is great t!!!! . location is very good and they can give you all the best adivse for the ski . they hve a fantastic jacuzzy for after ski !!!! just go and you will not be disapointed as there is magic atmosphere !!!!! we want to be back , that s for sure !!!!
I recommand new year !!!!!

Stayed: January 2007
Thank nathandthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Had an excellent stay with friends and hope to be back for new year again this year. Excellent and personal service, food and wine is fantastic. Loved the bar which had a real "alp" athmosphere. This place makes you feel like you are on holidays.

Stayed: December 2006
Thank wawwaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Grave
2.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Castillan
0.3 mi away
Panoramic Village (Chalets de la Meije)
1.5 mi away
Le Faranchin Hotel Restaurant
Le Faranchin Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Villar-d'Arene
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Rock Noir
Rock Noir
#1 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
311 reviews
8.0 mi away
Le Panoramique
Le Panoramique
#1 of 1 in Mizoen
65 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel des Glaciers
Hotel des Glaciers
#3 of 5 in Le Monetier-les-Bains
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Auberge Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auberge Edelweiss

Address: le Village, 05320 La Grave, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > La Grave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Grave
Price Range: $119 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Auberge Edelweiss 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Edelweiss, a favorite with bon-vivant skiers and cyclists, is a privately owned centuries old coaching inn. The hotel is comfortable and cozy, with wood paneling and log fire. We have a well equipped ski and bike workshop, spa area with sauna and free Wi-Fi access. The restaurant offers delicious dinners and a big selection of wines. Panoramic terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Auberge Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel La Grave

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing