We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Hotel Le Serac

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Grave
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Serac
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Grave
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a short cycling holiday. On arrival we were immediately directed to a garage to assemble and store our bikes, it was unlit but clean and even included some stands to help set up our machines. A nice touch. The room was basic but spotless and excellent value for money. It also included a separate utility room, which is very useful when using the hotel as a base for cycling or skiing trips. The main attraction however is the view from the balcony, which is spectacular. The service from the proprietor hit the perfect balance between friendly and discrete and the food could not be improved upon. The pizzas, cooked in a charcoal oven, proving to be the ideal fuel for a hard days peddling. In summary – it’s all good here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Customer,

We thank you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your warm Alpin short stay.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Serac in La Grave.
We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel.

sincerely

Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 111 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

After wandering around France for a week or so, my wife and I thought we'd had the best food and hospitality available. That's until we chanced upon Hotel Le Serac and it's very genial host.

We called in unannounced for dinner and couldn't have been treated better. From a wonderful window seat with a view to die for, we enjoyed 5 courses of the set menu (you receive a choice of 2 things for the first 4 courses).

The food was magnificent. The best we've had in a 3 week tour of Europe.

The service was very friendly and efficient with our host even Googling in the kitchen so he could give us the English words for our dishes.

I'd ordered a few dishes with noises - "Quack, quack" got me the Duck and "Baaaaaaaa" got my wife the lamb, as well as a hearty chuckle and big smiles from our host.

The price was very, very reasonable (I'd pay more for a main course in Australia for what I paid for the 5 courses).

A wonderful dining experience - just wished we'd stayed in the hotel for the night if the value in the restaurant was anything to go by. Thanks!

Room Tip: Qyack like a duck for the best duck in all of Europe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour Les Australiens !

Madame, Monsieur, Chers Clients

Nous vous remercions pour votre très bel avis sur TriAvisor. C’était aussi, pour nous, un réel plaisir de vous accueillir. Et si tous les Australiens sont gentils comme vous, on s’expatrie prochainement.

A très bientôt, au pied de « La Meije ».

Jean Michel

*********************************************************************************
Hello Australians !

Dear Dear Customers

Thank you for your very nice review TriAvisor. It was also, for us, a real pleasure to welcome you. And if all Australians are nice like you, we expatriates soon.

See you soon at the foot of "La Meije."

Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great place to stay. Everything you need for a great ski holiday. Great breakfasts, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful host. Great value for money.
We stayed at Hotel Le Serac for a week in winter. We had a very relaxed stay and felt like we were really well looked after.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for your very nice review on this website is really nice to think of us on the other side of our planet!

I wish you a very good day, hoping to see you again at the foot of the Meije.
Very sincerely,

Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

When you reserve a hotel to stay in while planning to ski powder in La Grave, you are not focused on the hotel, but topos, snow conditions, weather and such things. We booked the half board so were did not have to think about dinner when we came back each night. The less planning, the better we thought. We would have been happy with anything. Not only did we receive something acceptable, we received wonderful. We were very surprised how the owner made our experience even better with his charm and food. Oh the food! Good, home cooked French cuisine. Four courses. Each was flavorful and hearty. The first night we had game hen served in a brown sauce swimming with baby onions, herbs and butter. So yummy. The second night I believe I had the best scalloped potatoes known to man (sorry mom.) The creme brulee had bits of vanilla bean and was excellent. The view from the rooms were wonderful. A great way to wake up each morning. I would certainly book a room again, with the half board!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hello and thank you very much for your avi on this site. For us it was very pleasant to have you recvoir. We wish you a great day, hoping to see you very soon at the foot of the Meije.

Cordially.

Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went to La Grave for a short ski of 4 days and stayed in Hotel Le Serac. It's my second stay there and it did the trick for me once again. A cinematic atmosphere, basic but big and atmospheric rooms, a professional, funny yet not pushy host, a magnificent view and huge amounts of great food. U have to get used to the four course diners every evening but after a day of la Grave ski, one eats more than the usual. If u like a good meal, go for the half pension deal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FilipVR_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hello Sir,

Thank you very much for your nice comment thank you also for your very beautiful pictures. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you

Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Though the rooms are basic they are big and have all the necessities one needs including a bath.
The 'Patron' is amazing, great sense of humor and most helpful in answering and finding solutions to just about anything you ask.
The food here is unbelievable, it deserves a special mention and for the extra half board price you are served like a king. From entree to main passing to cheese and deserts with a well balanced food enough to have you rolling to bed rather then walking.

In short a real find! immaculately clean with amazing food

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions sincèrement de votre avis sur ce site. C’était aussi pour nous un réel plaisir de vous accueillir.

C’est dommage que la photo ne soit pas votre passion, car vous auriez pu en mettre sur ce site !

Nous vous souhaitons une très bonne journée en espérant vous recevoir à nouveau au Sérac avec, peut être, votre ami «Clint Eastwood » et son éternel passion pour l’hélicoptère …*

Et n’oubliez jamais que le coulis de framboise, au Sérac, ça ce mérite.

Merci
Jean Michel



Hello Sir,

We sincerely thank you for your review on this site. It was also a pleasure for us to welcome you.

It is unfortunate that the picture is not your passion, because you could have put on this site!

We wish you a great day and hope to welcome you again with Sérac can be your friend "Clint Eastwood" and eternal passion for the helicopter ... *

And never forget the raspberry coulis, the Serac, it deserves it.

thank you
Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed in Le Serac for 4 nights at the end of January while we did some Touring. The hotel was great - rooms were a good size and were kept clean. We had free wifi which helped to check snow conditions. The highlight was definitely the food (4 amazing courses and good portions every night) and the extremely friendly Jean Michel who made the stay! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for your review it was a pleasure to welcome you and hope to see you soon at the foot Meije Hotel Le Serac.

Thank you

Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Grave
0.1 mi away
Hotel Auberge Edelweiss
Hotel Auberge Edelweiss
#1 of 4 in La Grave
108 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Castillan
0.4 mi away
Panoramic Village (Chalets de la Meije)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Rock Noir
Rock Noir
#1 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
311 reviews
14.1 mi away
Chalet des Touristes
Chalet des Touristes
#7 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
42 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gite Le Rocher
Gite Le Rocher
#2 of 5 in La Grave
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Serac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Serac

Address: 1 Rue Du Grand Chemin, 05320 La Grave, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > La Grave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Grave
Price Range: $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Restaurant Sérac La Grave offers twelve rooms facing south with a panoramic view over the Meije. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing