We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Serac

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Grave
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Serac
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Grave
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in hotel le Serac for 5 days and had a lovely holiday. The owner is very friendly and he gave us some good suggestions for hiking trips. Each day we enjoyed a delicious dinner with good wine. The wine was priced very reasonably. The rooms are a little oldfashioned but are very clean. The view from the balcony is outrageous. This hotel gives absolutely very good value for money and is the best choice in la Grave.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koninggerritsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Hello,
Thank you for your kind message. Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback on our hotel and our services. It was our pleasure to welcome you home.
We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again soon in our établisement.
Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 111 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hotel Le Serac has problay the best views of La Meije in all of La Grave. The food was by far some of the best food around, Jean Michel and wife Cecile the owners of the hotel were very friendly and both went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home. Both are very knowledgeable of the area which is great for hicks, glacier climbing, bike riding, photography, etc. I had a problem with running out of space on my camera, Jean was very helpful in finding a solution. The rooms are large, very clean, quiet and come with everything one needs for a nights stay or a weeks stay. We stayed for three days and I will be writing to them myself for a personal Thank You because they made our trip very special.

Room Tip: All rooms face La Grave, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimostler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Hello,
Thank you very much for your opinion on "Tripadvisor" hoping to see you soon!
Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hotel Le Serac is a friendly, quiet hotel in a charming small village in the Alps. The hotel makes a great base for taking day hikes in the stunning Alps. Jean Michel, the owner of the Hotel is friendly, knowledgeable, and runs a marvelous small hotel operation. He kindly found space for my husband's bike during our four night stay. The hotel has free, fast WIFI which works in the rooms as well as the main dining room. Even though the hotel is on the main road through the Alps, the village becomes quiet at night time. The rooms are large and clean. We enjoyed our balcony and the view of the Mieji. After a long hike, we enjoyed the local cuisine served at the hotel. We signed up for half board and were pleased with the variety of food and its high quality. Jean Michael would explain the menu to us and let us know what were the typical recipes and ingredients of the area. He has a nice, varied wine list of very reasonable wines. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The local tourist office had for a small price an area hiking map and the woman gave us several recommendations for the best 3 - 5 hours hikes (there are shorter and longer hikes too). We had 3 glorious days of hiking with the sun and breeze to keep us cool. The week in the Alps was a wonderful complement to a week in the Provence. I would recommend this hotel and area to anyone enjoying hiking and biking. The Hotel is great value for the price. My husband plans to return in the winter to their great skiing in La Grave and plans to stay in this Hotel based upon our wonderful experience this summer.

Room Tip: Balcony view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FavonianPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Michel G, Gérant at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear Sir or Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your compliments, awaiting the pleasure of receiving you.
Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is fantastic. Everything was shining clean. The personel was verry friendly and the man that served us, took the time to explain what was on the menu. The food was delicious. The breakfast was more than enough and was all fresh. The room was big and also clean. A nice quiet hotel with a beautifull view and friendly people.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Michel G, Gérant at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012
Google Translation

Hallo, Hartelijk dank voor uw opmerking, het was voor ons een groot genoegen u te mogen verwelkomen.
Tot ziens
Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Just think of it. You have spent the day in the French Alps hiking and climbing in some of the most beautiful landscape on earth. You are tired, exhausted...it has been a long physical day. You head back to your hotel, take a shower and go down the stairs for dinner and what comes out of Le Serac's kitchen is perfect. Several courses of freshly cooked food with a French homestyle flavor. Trout, duck and other specialties perfectly cooked and in large enough portions to keep you going day after day in the moutnains. Half board is the only way to go.

Besides the food there is the view....every room with a balcony looking out on La Mieje, France's second highest peak....

Pure paradise....

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Michel G, Gérant at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Dear Sir or Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your compliments, awaiting the pleasure of receiving you.
Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

It was a very pleasant stay; the owner is caring, friendly, attentive, service minded and made our visit a joy; the food is just excellent! Large rooms, tidy and clean; if you prefer regular pillows and need extra blankets, just ask. I will definitely stay here again during my next trip to La Grave.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Michel G, Gérant at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Hello,
Thank you very much for your evaluation. See you soon
Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have stayed in most hotels in La Grave and Le Serac is the best. Rooms are big, clean and quiet and the food is the best I have had in La Grave. The owner very nice. If you go to La Grave I definitley recomend you to stay in Le Serac

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Michel G, Gérant at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Hello,
Thank you very much for your evaluation. See you soon

(Le bonjour à la Provence ;)

Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Grave
0.1 mi away
Hotel Auberge Edelweiss
Hotel Auberge Edelweiss
#1 of 4 in La Grave
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Castillan
0.4 mi away
Panoramic Village (Chalets de la Meije)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Faranchin Hotel Restaurant
Le Faranchin Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Villar-d'Arene
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gite Le Rocher
Gite Le Rocher
#2 of 5 in La Grave
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Serac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Serac

Address: 1 rue du grand chemin, 05320 La Grave, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > La Grave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Grave
Price Range: $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Restaurant Sérac La Grave offers twelve rooms facing south with a panoramic view over the Meije. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing