We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel le Mirage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel le Mirage
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Istres
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Very nice garden and big pool. Excellent breakfast. We loved the decoration of the room. Wonderful staff. We will come back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dockclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    17
    13
    8
See reviews for
24
40
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

A haven of peace in the city with its large garden and pool area. Great room decoration and newly renovated bathrooms (at least in our case). Nice breakfast and extremely helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marko12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

This hotel is in a great location to visit the Camargue, Les Baux and south Rhone cities of Arles, Avignon and Aix. Its just out of the small town of Istres with Martigues just down the road. On approach it looks good with a large pool at the front a very pleasant bar/ restaurant close by and ample parking in the grounds. The reception is clean and airy and the staff friendly and assisted my mediocre French by speaking some English.
As someone has said the rooms have various themes , ours was Morrocco with the wierdest looking paintings of camels you would ever see.
And it is here the hotel begins to disappoint. It was a bit iffy in the bathroom with the shower hardly working and an internal balacony that was neglected , dusty and v tired. The corridors seemed like a school though they were carpeted.
Outside why oh why did they not make much better use of the bar/restaurant , next to the pool it was never open (apart from breakfast). It could have been the centre of loads of activity with the glorious weather we had.
A 3 star hotel that could have been a 4 star with just a few small improvements. Overall however I would recommend for a 1 or 2 day stopover but no more.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cablegram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed for three nights in Istres while visiting Camargue, Provence, and surroundings. The rooms are recently renovated and each is decorated with a different theme - we had oriental and pop-art decorated, adjacent rooms, one with a balcony. The rooms are very pleasant, but the bathrooms really need to be updated - good thing that they were actually redoing some of the lower floor bathrooms while we were there. Nice outdoor pool on-site, with facilities for barbecue and free wifi in the rooms. The rooms were cleaned every day, but not with much care. I could see dust on the white furnitrue/appliances and circle marks from the shampoo bottles in the bathroom. The price was unbeatable, though, half of everything else. Location is also good - within 1-1.5 hrs. drive you're in Avignon, Aix, or Camargue. Really nice restaurants on the lake (you need to drive 5 min), for breakfast go to a boulangerie or cafe in the old city - the on-site breakfast is a little expensive (EUR10). If we're in Istres, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank di68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
206 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

This is a nice small hotel in Istres. It is clean and comfy. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is nice to sit outside by the pool and have a beer or two in the evening before heading out for a civiized meal.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpm-indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

Having stayed at this hotel for 11 weeks in the last year, we just keep going back. It's pleasant, located in a quiet area with very friendly and helpful staff.

All rooms are air conditioned and nicely decorated and sitting around the pool terrace of an evening with beer or wine is the only way to see in the night!

A local family fun hotel who care about the guests, certainly my top Istres choice!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Typhoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colrado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

I stayed at the Hotel le Mirage for a month while working in Istres. Though this occurred more than 2 years ago, I am taking the opportunity to write this review now because I just joined Trip Advisor and this is one of the better hotel experiences that I have ever had. That says a lot, considering how much I travel.

The quality of the hotel was very good and the staff were exceptional. It is a family run hotel where the owner and his wife take great care to make their guests comfortable and happy. I do not speak French and they went to great lengths to help me feel welcome and even connected me with local merchants to make my stay easier and more pleasant.

The room was very nice, quiet and clean. The bed was comfortable and had a nice balcony where I could sit and read while listening to the breeze blow through the trees. The grounds were very nice and the buildings were well kept. There was a nice pool, but I was not able to use it because it was November.

At one point during my stay there was a small problem with my room and the staff took care of it immediately.

Breakfast was very nice and always available early enough to meet my early work schedule.

Access to town, restaurants, shopping, etc. is good.

Everything about this hotel is nice, but what makes it special is the people. I hope to get the chance to stay there again someday.

  • Liked — The people who owned the hotel and who worked there.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ColradoWeatherguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istres hotels
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Istres-Trigance
1.4 mi away
Ibis Istres Trigance
Ibis Istres Trigance
#2 of 9 in Istres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Du Soleil Bleu
Hotel Du Soleil Bleu
#5 of 9 in Istres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Top Motel
Top Motel
#3 of 9 in Istres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#4 of 9 in Istres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premiere Classe Istres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Mirage

Property: Hotel le Mirage
Address: 7 avenue des Anciens Combattants, 13800 Istres, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Istres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Istres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Mirage 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To stay at Hotel Le Mirage, is more like living at a resort than a hotel. An experience unlike most in the region. It is set in a private and enclosed pine tree park of over 5 hectares within the city of Istres in Provence. We sport a nearly half-olympic size swimming pool that will give you memorable and peaceful moments under the treetops. You could of course also swim at the nearby Etang de Berre or at the beaches of the Mediterranean sea as an alternative ! Istres itself is ideally positionned between Marseille (about 50km), Aix-En-Provence (about 40km) & Arles (about 25km) with access to all the main tourist sites or business areas of Provence. The Marseille Provence Airport is located exactly between Istres and Marseille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel le Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing