We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, relaxing, homely place to stay owned by great people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pavillon de Pampelonne
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Ramatuelle
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We have just returned from a fantastic week on the Cote d'Azur staying at the Pavillon de Pampelonne near St Tropez. Being pregnant, I was a little anxious about our trip so when we found this accommodation that was small and owned by an English couple we thought it would be ideal and it was!!!! Our hosts, Alison & Peter, were fantastic making us feel welcome from the moment we arrived.

The Pavillon is beautiful, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We stayed in 2 rooms during our week long stay which was our choice as we had wanted a superior double room for the extra space but this wasn't available for our first 2 nights so we took a standard double. It wasn't huge but it was very comfortable and would have been fine for the whole of our stay although the extra space when we moved to the superior double was nice.

The pool area and terrace is very private and quiet, perfect for a relaxing afternoon. There is no restaurant as such, however, in high season evening meals are available. Throughout the day guests are invited to help themselves from the 'honesty bar', stocked with a good selection of chilled beers, wines and soft drinks. One evening we stayed in to watch the Champions League semi-final and enjoyed takeaway pizzas and drinks with Peter, Alison and our fellow guests, which was a nice change from going to a restaurant.

The villa is a pleasant 10 minute walk from Pampelonne beach, it's fairly long and has lots of sunbed/snack-bar/restaurant businesses on the sand just a few metres from the water.

A 10 minute drive gets you to St Tropez town or the small and very quaint Ramatouelle village. There are also a few other small villages within 10-15 mins drive with good restaurants etc. You will definitely need a car for this trip. A taxi to St Tropez will cost about 25 Euros, however, being pregnant and not drinking alchohol I was often designated driver home.
The Cote d'Azur area was beautiful and there are lots of places to see within a couple of hours drive. It was very helpful and refreshing to have hosts who were more than happy to spend time telling you the best places to visit.

I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation to my friends. My husband and I considered our stay at PDP to be worth every Euro.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 100 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2009

Though Ms Bardot has long departed its beaches, pretty St Tropez remains a place to see and be seen but, seemingly, unlike Portofino, without the compulsion to pose. In late autumn the sun still beat down warmly from cloudless skies onto real sand beaches, there were tables to be had at its many restaurants and the renowned beach bars were buzzing. The annual regatta had just finished and the little port was bursting with boats and their crews as the most unscrupulous of the many and variable waterfront eateries milked the last tourist wallets of the season.
A few kilometres away from all of this is the Pavillon de Pampelonne, a small resort hotel.of about ten rooms, on the road which parallels the beach of the same name. Run by personable expatriate English couple Alison and Peter Dow, the Pavillon offers simple luxury around a landscaped and inviting pool, a few minutes' walk from the beach or short drive into wineries or small villages such as Ramatuelle and Gassin. Secure parking is available onsite, lunches by request and round-the-clock drinks on an honour system.
Enticing poolside breakfasts followed by a barrage of Peter's jokes and puns, improbable weather forecasts and reflections on French culture are a fitting prelude to visiting Alison's little garden boutique (which sells a range of designer clothes and jewellery), a trip into the hills or along the coast, or a day lazing on the sand. Close-by Ramatuelle has a number of good restaurants, including Comme a la Maison, operated by the engaging Sascha, while the Dows can suggest and book numerous other favoured places to eat. The drive into St Tropez takes no more than five minutes and parking is not difficult for those wishing to shop, bank, eat or just look around.
Pavillon de Pampelonne is not grand and does not seek to be but it is elegant and its rooms are very comfortable and spacious with good sized bathrooms and garden/pool views. The large sitting room allows guests to mingle or keep to themselves if they choose. The layout of the pool area and the terraced gardens gives the Pavillon a lush feel while the down-to-earth and welcoming manner of the Dows encourages guests to be themselves. This is a place that attracts a regular clientele, offers access to myriad local attractions but is sufficiently well situated for day trips to the Cote d'Azur, Aix, the Luberon and further afield into the Rhone valley, Avignon and beyond. (St Tropez is a relatively short distance from the A8 motorway and the most direct route is undergoing major reconstruction which will further shorten the journey.)

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We stayed here because of a family wedding, and having read other reviews chose this utterly delightful place. It has to be experienced to really understand how good it is. My husband and I have stayed in many places but this one really beats everything else. The place, situation, the hosts Alison and Peter ,
the service are so good you keep thinking it won't last but it does.
Having breakfast by the pool, lunch again, by the pool and mixing with other guests adds to the whole ambience of the place. Alison and Peter are perfect as hosts, nothing is too much trouble, information at the ready on anything. We stayed only 5 nights could have stayed much longer but a cruise beckons. Other hoteliers would do well to send their staff here to be trained on how to treat guests so well, If you are going to stay here just for something different go into St Tropez and have a meal at L'Auberge des Maures where the food and service are second to none, yet again another of Alison and Peters recommendations.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Goldenwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a a fabulous 10 day stay at the Pavillon de Pampelonne. This is the second time we have been in the last twelve months as after our first experience we knew that we would definitely re book for 2008.

The Pavillon de Pampelonne is probably one of the most ideally situated places to stay in St Tropez as the beach is a 10 minute walk (2 minute drive!) away and the heart of the town is only around 10 minutes drive away. Even in the height of summer and with a little knowledge of the back roads in to town, you can be parked and admiring the yachts in the harbour in 20 minutes.

Peter and Alison are wonderful hosts who make you feel at home as soon as you arrive. They are also wonderful authorities on the best restaurants, places to see and things to do and after no time at all become fabulous company.

A continental breakfast is served at the pool each morning and a light lunch can be ordered for those not going to the beach. As there are so many fabulous restaurants in town you won't want to stay in in the evening but for those feeling a little peckish before going out you can order on of Peter's platters which are superb. Every Monday night in summer is bar be que night and is a great time to meet other guests and sample some Chateau de Pampelonne, the locally produced rose wine.

One of the best things about the Pavillon are the other guests who as there are only a small number due to there only being nine rooms make you feel very welcome on arrival and there is somewhat a family atmosphere. As a lot of guests are regulars they can advise on the best places to go and the things to avoid.

Pampelonne Beach has some fantastic restaurants such as the world famous celebrity haunt of Club 55 which is only a 10 minute walk away. Other beaches worth checing out are Cap 21, Key West and Tahiti where you can while away an hour or two over lunch.

In my opinion staying at the Pavillon de Pampelonne is as close as you can get to having the intimacy of your own home on the best location in the South of France without the mortgage! - check it out!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank waterskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

What a rare find! Reasonable prices, gorgeous property, comfortable rooms, great location, and proprietors and staff who take great care to ensure the happiness of their guests.

The property is a beautiful villa in an idyllic setting. The rooms are modern and have their own bathrooms, air conditioning, cable TV, WiFi, etc. Every morning starts with a bountiful and delicious breakfast by the pool. You can walk to Pampelonne Beach, about a half-mile away, or drive to any number of great spots nearby, including the Village of Saint-Tropez and the Villages of Ramatuelle and Gassin. The location of the villa on Rue des Plages is on the side of Saint-Tropez that has less traffic--a consideration that you might overlook if you've not been to the area before during the summer months. As other reviewers have pointed out, there is still a fair amount of traffic on the Rue des Plages. We were never bothered by the proximity to the road--we never heard a noise, but perhaps those in the suites closest to the road did.

Peter and Allison are delightful. Not only do they make their villa as comfortable as possible for their guests, they are exceptionally well-versed in the do's and don't's of the area. They are eager to recommend restaurants, activities, the quickest way into town on a market day, etc. Every evening, they serve snacks by the bar--a great way to unwind with a drink after a tough day of beach-going, eating, sight-seeing, and shopping!

The villa is so unpretentious that it comes almost as a surprise that it is run so very professionally and efficiently. Guests feel more like houseguests in a friendly environment than patrons at a small hotel.

Our experience was first-rate, and we recommend Pavillon de Pampelonne in the highest terms.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank USTraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

Our family of 5 including 3 children (9 to 14 years) thoroughly enjoyed several days at Pavillon de Pampelonne, a welcome respite from the bustle of Italy before heading on to Paris. Peter & Alison were our most gracious hosts and our every need was readily accomodated. A wonderful breakfast, with an enormous basket of breads and pastries, served by young friendly staff by the pools edge. The children enjoyed the swimming pool, the giant chess set & petanque, the opportunity to sunbathe and were made to feel welcome-not always the case in Europe!. Plenty of space to read, relax, enjoy a drink from the honour bar in the central family rooms-just like being at home! The rooms are clean, simple and tastefully decorated with Alsion's flair, each with a pretty aspect onto the gardens.

A quick drive to St Tropez and access to easy parking or a saunter down to the beachfront clubs and restaurants , the Pavillon is perfectly situated for day trippers or a sanctuary for rest and relaxtion. We will definitely be back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank aussiecrocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Barton-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ramatuelle hotels
1.4 mi away
La Ferme d'Augustin
La Ferme d'Augustin
#2 of 26 in Ramatuelle
280 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Marie
Villa Marie
#6 of 26 in Ramatuelle
152 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Romarine
Hotel La Romarine
#12 of 26 in Ramatuelle
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel  La Garbine
Hotel La Garbine
#8 of 26 in Ramatuelle
102 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostellerie Le Baou
Hostellerie Le Baou
#10 of 26 in Ramatuelle
77 reviews
1.7 mi away
Muse Hotel
Muse Hotel
#4 of 26 in Ramatuelle
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon de Pampelonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon de Pampelonne

Address: Route des Plages, Ramatuelle, Saint-Tropez, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez > Ramatuelle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Ramatuelle
Price Range: $386 - $837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upmarket stylish Maison d'Hote villa consisting of 9 bedrooms situated around a large pool terrace close to Pampelonne Beach and half way between Saint Tropez and Ramatuelle. Open from Easter to the end of October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Pavillon de Pampelonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon De Pampelonne Hotel St-Tropez
Pavillon De Pampelonne St Tropez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing