We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Muse Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Ramatuelle
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I spent a lovely three nights at Muse in June and would gladly have stayed longer.

It's a beautiful spot - on a hill above St Tropez - but the most remarkable feature is the universally positive vibe of the staff. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful and most were extremely so.

There's a beautiful pool area (love the detail of the loungers sitting over the water - there are shallow areas around the pool itself where the water runs around where you're sitting). The rooms are serene and stylish, with some intriguing items (loved the wobble-chess board so much I bought one [though one piece was missing from the one in our room]) and nice Hermes products.

The food is delicious and the gardens beautiful in an authentic (local, not over-irrigated) way.

Concierge services were great, and the staff made great recommendations of restaurants and beaches. The one booking I made myself - at the Vague d'Or - got lost by that (otherwise excellent) restaurant. Fortunately, Karim the manager went to great lengths and used some personal influence to secure us a table at the last minute, which is something I'll always be grateful to him for.

The hotel upgraded us on arrival to their best suite - a two-floor, two-bedroom one with balcony and garden with plunge pool. All lovely. The huge, open-plan bathroom area is great, and comfort and finish throughout is excellent.

Massages were great. It's great that they provide bicycles. Cool towelettes are frequently offered.

There are a few small snags at the Muse and it's a testament to how good the place is overall that they don't linger in the mind - I'm including them here as much to help them iron out a few kinks as to warn travellers. Here they are -

The 'private' garden isn't really private (at least, ours wasn't). It's open at the bottom to a path which is mostly used by staff, but could be accessed by anyone. And the fencing between the gardens is easy to see through. So don't expect privacy in the garden, which is a pity.

In addition, the neighbouring room's plunge pool was powered by equipment under our deck, and on two days a maintenance man arrived unannounced in our garden to work on it. In a hotel of this class, where the garden is part of the room and not a public area, one would have expected a phone call in advance and perhaps some token compensation for the intrusion (a bottle of champagne, say).

One really strange detail is that there is no control of air-conditioning in the room - you have to phone reception to have them adjust the temperature. This seems weird and a bit wasteful as you're less likely to moderate your energy usage if you have to control it this elaborate way. I felt bad every time we left the doors open to the garden and I realised after a while that we were essentially sending air-conditioned air out into the world.

Smaller things: the large wine fridge in the room is purely decorative. It doesn't cool the wine. There's no power to it. I wonder why have it then? It's a bit like having a decorative shower head or something....pointless and slightly frustrating, though of course you can order drinks from room service and they'll come right away.

Chilled bottles will come in a beautiful conical metal designer ice-bucket thing. But here's the snag – they'll put it directly onto the coffee table, where eventually it will create condensation on the oustide, which will drop down and flood the table. A little tray underneath would solve that problem.

The massage table on our balcony had its cushion missing, but the staff (especially the excellent masseuse Belinda) worked hard to find a replacement.

For my personal taste, the room design is a little stark. Beautifully finished and laid out, I (personally) would have added just one or two more organic-feeling elements. An original oil-painting, say, rather than the aluminium-mounted modern reprints of vintage fashion photos which felt less cosy and intimate and homely than they might have done (they felt like the kind of 'art' you'd have on, say, an ad agency office wall, rather than in the home).

So these small things could be improved quite easily by Muse and then they'd be a perfect hotel. As things stand they are very close to perfect and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    11
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
68
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place is truly magical - everything from the facilities, rooms, and staff. I can't praise this hotel enough and can't wait to return already.

A special note must be said for the 24/7 chauffeur service the hotel offers - brilliant not having to think about driving anywhere or get taxis.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IEatToLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We recently stayed a week in the beautiful Muse hotel. Pleasantly greeted by the manager and one of her assistants, while other staff took care of the car and the luggage. Have been upgraded to a very nice and large room which was appointed perfectly. Huge bathroom...

The surroundings and the pool area are fantastic. Also the restaurant is very nice. Attentive and friendly staff.

Hotel shuttle was great and most welcome as we did not have to think about driving after dinner out in town. Both Paolo and Alexandre were very kind drivers.

Attentive and friendly staff. In general the hotel is very good.

However, the food or better said the preparation of the food was not that good. We had fish and seafood at our first dinner and the food arrived cold. So was the fish and the seafood that we had for lunch the next day. Also the seafood was not prepared appropriately (not opened and no pliers). Our second dinner was much better in terms of taste and temparature.

The breakfast was just average, although very good and fresh orange juice. A small fruit plate, bread and cereals but no eggs, no cheese, no cold meat. We thus ordered boiled eggs and scrambled eggs as well as cheese but we did not realize that this was not included in the breakfast (think about a room rate of more than EUR 500 per night pre-season...). The real shock came during check-out. Their eggs must be the best on the world: EUR 8.00 for one boiled egg! This is embarrassing. After my remark during check-out the eggs were credited (in fact I used this credit for a tip). As a last note, both the owner and the manager were present during check-out but did not come around to say good bye... that was poor and for us that is a reason not to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Me and my girlfriend just came back from a weekend in Saint Tropez where we stayed in the Muse Hotel. I usually do not write reviews, but our stay has been such a wonderful all-round experience that I felt compelled to write.

The location is just a few minutes from downtown Saint Tropez, but still far enough to be immersed in nature in full tranquillity and privacy. The hotel itself is truly beautiful, the rooms, the swimming pool, the garden...and so much more are all incredible. The attention to details and the subtle taste can be clearly seen in every part of this hotel. The shuttle service (free of charge) is worth mentioning, given that it allows you to completely forget about driving around. And also the restaurant even for a simple lunch pool side is worth trying, we ended up eating there both times.

The staff was very kind, efficient and never intrusive in taking care of us with a nice smile all day long. There are probably many things we are forgetting, but the main point is we can't wait to again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matteo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Muse is a beautiful hotel! It is intimate, charming, romantic and picturesque. We attended a wedding there in September and it was a wonderful venue for such a special event. Great service, delicious food and a heavenly wedding cake. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyHadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We attended a wedding at the Muse Hotel and had the time of our lives. The wedding was spectacular; everything was perfect, one we will never forget. The hotel is an oasis and made the perfect setting for a wedding and a great get away for the guests. We would definitely go back and thanks to the incredible staff for a perfect wedding weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon- Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Muse hotel for a friend's wedding. The hotel is small but it is Intimate and was absolutely perfect for this wedding. Everything was perfect, the food, the flowers arrangement, the cakes. IT was the best wedding we attended so far! thanks to the organization of the talented mrs Celia.
The hotel is like heaven on earth. Everything is new, the service is amazing, the view from the pool is amazing. WE had our best French food in the restaurant!
It is just minutes away from st tropez but it is very quiet and far from the crowd. the hotel shuttle can drop and pick you up anytime to sT tropez.
We really enjoyed this hotel and are already considering having our own wedding next year !

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramatuelle
4.1 mi away
La Reserve Ramatuelle
La Reserve Ramatuelle
#3 of 25 in Ramatuelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
#2 of 13 in Gassin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#2 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chateau De La Messardiere
Chateau De La Messardiere
#3 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Ferme d'Augustin
La Ferme d'Augustin
#2 of 25 in Ramatuelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
#4 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muse Hotel

Property: Muse Hotel
Address: Route des Marres 364 Chemin de Val de Rian, 83350 Ramatuelle, Saint-Tropez, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez > Ramatuelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ramatuelle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ramatuelle
#3 Spa Hotel in Ramatuelle
#5 Family Hotel in Ramatuelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Muse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muse Hotel Ramatuelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing