We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Baptistin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Baptistin
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel and our room was quiet and had a great view over the harbour and towards the beach. Room design was contemporary with no particularly outstanding features. There are two sliding, double glazed doors leading out onto a small deck/verandah and when these were closed there was no noise to be heard from the street or bistros/bars directly across the road. The bathroom was a good size with a large shower rose over a shower enclave. An easy stroll takes you to the ferry terminal, bars, restaurants and shops/stores. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. Breakfasts are adequate and tasty. The only issue we had was a pronounced drain smell in our room after being locked up for a day. Very unpleasant, although it did dissipate after opening the doors to the deck. There is obviously some maintenance issues that need attending to. The friends we were with had no problems. This hotel would suit those who prefer location and an accommodation style that is 'universal', rather than 'Provencal'. My rating was partly based on the odour issue in our room. Had this not been present I would have rated the hotel at 3.5 to 4.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    63
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
23
91
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london , england
Level Contributor
187 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is a small modern boutique hotel, 200m to the beautiful beach at Le Lavandou and just a couple of minutes gentle stroll from the main restaurants and shops.

On arrival all the free parking spaces were taken so we opted for the €10 per night pay parking, the receptionist was polite, friendly and welcoming and assisted with this.

Our room was on the 3rd floor (the lift only goes as far as the 2nd, so you may need to consider this when booking) but not a problem for us.
The bed and bathroom were contemporary and colourful, clean and well appointed, we also had a side sea view balcony with furniture - all to our taste although the room itself was not huge it was big enough for us.
Bed and pillows good, A/C quiet, in room safe and fabulous large walk in shower (no bath) however the towels were a little rough and need replacing.

Breakfast was fairly pricey at €12 each but very good quality with tea, coffee, bread, jam, pastries, yoghurt and freshly squeezed orange juice.

The hotel is just across the road from a couple of cocktail bars, so front facing sea view rooms may experience noise late at night although patio doors are double glazed.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short 2 night stay, location is perfect for the town, beach and ferries to Les Iles d'Or and we would love to return. The staff are great and the hotel lovely although it does come at a price!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMC_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Le Lavandou is a charming little town, the capital of the district of Var, and a delightful interlude between Marseille and St. Tropez. We spent two nights in the suite (the biggest room in the hotel) and although the elevator only goes to the second floor and we were on the third, aside from the very small difficulty of muscling my large bag up the curved staircase, the room and privacy was well worth being on the top floor. Nice sized bathroom, with the only drawback being the hand held shower which squirted out of the tub since the glass shield was only a third of the length of the tub and there was no caulking on the bottom of the glass. I suspect that mostly Englishmen stop here and prefer baths ( I read that the hit song of 1939, "A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square," was composed at a local bar. Goodly sized veranda, about 50 or 60 square feet, free WiFi, and convenient parking. Lovely heated towel bars which made quick work of drying hand washing.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view -- well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pancho_cisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Clean and fresh rooms sirectly at the beach at a VERY attractive price
We did not have breakfast at the hotel, much better alternatives aling the beach
We enjoyed an air condition well in order and clean bathroom.
Me and my wife would be happy to return next summer
The village is quite with no heavy traffic, reasonably cheap restaurants nearby

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janlennart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our second visit to The Baptistin and it was just how we remembered,When booking we requested a sea facing room with balcony for our 5 night stay to facilitate this Amelie arranged for us to spend our 1st night in the Suite,this is not actually a suite as we know it but a very large room No33 on the 3rd floor with a large bathroom and 2 balconies for the same price has an ordinary sea facing room,we were also offered to keep this room for 2 extra nights has it was not booked out which i thought was really nice.We declined however has there was no shower but a bath.The Baptistin is renowned for it's large walk in showers.We therefore moved next door into No32 a much smaller room but with a vast shower and equal sized balcony.The hotel is located at the end of the strip opposite the Port where is can be very noisy at night has all the clubs are located there.But who ever installed the Double glazing and Balcony doors did so with this in mind it is literally double double glazing with 2 doors that slide shut leaving you in the serenity of your room.The Air conditioning is good but sleeping with the doors open is not an option due to the noise.We did not take breakfast has with all hotels it can be double the cost of the local bars which are located 300yds away all serving Le Petit dejeuner.Great Hotel,Friendly English speaking staff,and spotlessly clean,Parking also available at 12euros.

Room Tip: Sea facing with large balcony are a delight even if your room is small you have a large outside spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shooter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Hotel Baptistin is a great little Hotel in a nice little town. It is located at the end of the promenade and is in walking distance of everything. The hotel is small and has three floors of rooms that are a standard European size. There was cable TV with one or two English channels. The Air-conditioning work well in our room (August 2012)
I stayed in room 11 on the second floor with a nice big patio in front of the hotel.
I paid for reserve parking, and it was WELL worth it. Like most towns in Europe, parking is a Premium
Overall I really enjoyed this hotel and will visit again. I found it modern and charming, with a wonderful staff that were VERY friendly. I think it was well worth the I paid in the high season.

Here is a summary of my REVIEW.
=================================
The Facts (Stuff that's detail the experience)...
=================================
- 1 KING BDRM STE (King One Bedroom)
- ROOM 11
- One Night Stay


=================================
The Praise (Stuff that's good)...
=================================
- Great Location
- Close to shopping and Dining options
- Friendly Staff
- Room size/Layout (For a European hotel in a small town)
- Free internet, nice 36in wall mounted HD TV and COLD Aircon
- Friendly Staff, willing to help and make recommendations
- Quite hotel (no room to room noise and door banging)
=================================
The Raze (Stuff that's bad)...
=================================
- No ice machines (typical in France) But They did give me all the ice I wanted when I asked
- Your parking spot can be grabbed by someone (There is a lock to prevent this, but you have to get someone to lock/unlock when you come and go
- Can get a tad noisy in the evenings (Outside noise) But honestly if you stay near the action your going to hear some noise. And this really only occurred when we had the sliders open to get ocean air


=================================
The Haze (Stuff to consider)...
=================================

- Proximity to the major highway (Le Lavendou is in the STICKS)
- Not on the beach (But no hotels are really on the beach in this town)
- There are better Beaches about 10Km away (Good Hotel to make your base for Exploring the area)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotographyBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here in mid-January, and the hotel was everything we wanted. Location is excellent - very close to the town centre, shops, restaurants, beach, etc.
The room (also no. 26) wasn't large, although the terrace was - very sunny but a little cold in January! View over the harbour good, and no noise (very good double glazing but again it was January.) The bed was large and comfortable, and everywhere very clean.
Breakfast was good, plenty of fresh bread, pastries, etc (and free this time of year if you stay two nights). Staff very helpful and friendly. Parking was easy (January), but can see how it could be difficult in summer.

Room Tip: 26 was good - higher floors better view, but cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chau98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Lavandou hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge de la Calanque
Auberge de la Calanque
#25 of 38 in Le Lavandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Espadon
Hotel Espadon
#9 of 38 in Le Lavandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astria Beach La Falaise
Astria Beach La Falaise
#26 of 38 in Le Lavandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#16 of 38 in Le Lavandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Rabelais
Le Rabelais
#19 of 38 in Le Lavandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Orangeraie
L'Orangeraie
#15 of 38 in Le Lavandou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baptistin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baptistin

Property: Hotel Baptistin
Address: quai Baptistin Pins | Paca, 83980, Le Lavandou, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Le Lavandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baptistin 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-Star hotel in the contemporary design, situated in the center of the sea resort of Lavandou,front of the sea. Open all year long. 14 Rooms and Suites nicely colored with terrace or balcony, sea view or garden view. Service B&B with the possibility of savoring a breakfast in room. The situation is ideal to go in the city center and to fine sand beaches to feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Baptistin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing