We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small beach-front hotel in idyllic setting”
Review of Hotel Mediterranee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mediterranee
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I have spent 3-4 nights in May at the Hotel Med each year for the last six years, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We're just back from the 2013 stay (our 27th anniversary). We absolutely love the setting which could hardly be nearer the beach of St. Clair, a small commune 10 minutes walk from the larger town of Le Lavandou. St. Clair has a handful of restaurants, a couple more hotels (not as nice or as well-situated as this one) and a couple of stores. But the Med is such a brilliant discovery. Mary and Gérald look after their guests very well. Breakfasts on the terrace are substantial and good valule. Although we choose to go out for our dinner, simply because we like exploring, the hotel dining room is often very busy. It's extraordinary that this is only officially a 2* hotel - as it is so much more comfortable than you might expect, with cable & satellite TV, free wifi, aircon etc. in the rooms. We just love the hotel Med and we're booking again for May 2014!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor, facing the sea have a view to die for (see my photos).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dbossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 79 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on the recommendation of my parents. Yes, I listened to my parents for once and it turns out that they're not wrong!

Our room was on the 1st floor with a balcony and a view of the sea - perfect! The rooms have obviously been updated quite recently and ours was very clean. All members of staff were incredibly friendly and didn't mind us trying our poor French on them, although Mary speaks English perfectly (being from the UK!). It seemed that some of the guests had been returning for many years and we could see why.

There was a half-board option, but we just took the room only option in order to give us more flexibility when dining out at night. Having said that, we ate breakfast at the hotel every morning and ate in the hotel's restaurant (29 Euros for 3 courses, per person) on two of the four nights. Hotel Mediterranee also has a small bar area, which was perfect for the day when it was lashing it down outside! No doubt it's extended outside on better days...

The beach is just across the small beach road, so ideal for people wanting a relaxing beach holiday. It's a 2km walk to the main town, but the situation of the hotel is far preferable to being in the town. Were we glad we'd listened to my parents? Yes! Will we return again? Definitely!

Room Tip: Go for a sea facing room. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Teacher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have stayed in this excellent hotel and also used the restaurant a number of times. The rooms are well furnished and always very well maintained. There is no lift however. Many of the rooms have a wonderful sea view and some have balconies. The sea is just across the beach road, (the main road by-passes the lovely St Clair Bay).
The owners are very welcoming and Mary, being Irish, speaks English.
The restaurant caters for guests very well on a half board basis, a salad lunch is available if required.
The evening menu, for non-residents, at €28 (2012) offers a large choice of dishes for all 3 courses. We have yet to be disappointed!
The outside dining area under lovely plain trees overlooks the beach, it doesn't get much better than this! There is parking off street for residents.

Room Tip: Get a front room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fixitfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at this great little hotel for a week or more at a time for several years now. It's worth far more than its two star rating because it not only has all of the really necessary conveniences, it also has a unique charm, a fabulous location, great food, hospitable owners and a true family atmosphere. During our stays in September, we've met many of the same folks we've met on previous visits. Like us, they just keep going back.

Room Tip: Rooms are all beautifully maintained and seem well soundproofed. Use A/C if noise from nearby restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pktiberius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed for a week at this small family run hotel, virtually on the beach at Saint Clair near Le Lavandou. We had a small but pleasant first floor room looking over the plane tree shaded and hydrangea flowering dining terrace & the beach & sea. The hotel has been refurbished and tastefully furnished. No lift but only two floors. Service was impeccable & nothing too much trouble. Difficult to find fault and surprising the lack of reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popbrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent_Burt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryboyle, Gérant at Hotel Mediterranee, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Lavandou hotels
0.3 mi away
Roc Hotel
Roc Hotel
#8 of 38 in Le Lavandou
100 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#14 of 38 in Le Lavandou
183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beau Soleil
Beau Soleil
#3 of 38 in Le Lavandou
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge de la Calanque
Auberge de la Calanque
#9 of 38 in Le Lavandou
140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#2 of 38 in Le Lavandou
252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Espadon
Hotel Espadon
#18 of 38 in Le Lavandou
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterranee

Address: Vallon de Saint Clair, 83980, Le Lavandou, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Le Lavandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Price Range: $105 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 20 entirely renovated and air conditioned rooms offer every comfort such as as bathroom or shower and WC, hair dryer , flat screen TVs with European stations, free WIFI access, private safe and all enjoy a sea view balcony ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mediterranee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing