We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Grand Building” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in La Croix-Valmer
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very Grand Building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

During our recent trip to Europe we were celebrating our 9th anniversay so were looking for something a bit special for this one night.

We paid quite a lot for a stay at this hotel and whilst not perfect (particularly for the money) overall, it was very nice.

I can understand some of the complaints in the other reviews, but if you know what to expect then you can't be disappointed.

Lovely building and pool. Our room was very nice and very appropriate for an anniversary. The bed had a lovely net draped over it and two heart shaped pillows on it. Unfortunately we did not have a sea view but the room made up for the lack of view.

The night we were there the restaurant was closed so we drove down to the local beach and found a fantastic restaurant. Unfortunately I can't remember what it was called but the food (French) was fantastic and it was set right on the beach. Lovely!

You defintely need a car to stay at this hotel. Even with a Tom Tom, we had to stop and ask directions as it wouldn't pick it up.

Breakfast was very nice outside by the pool.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooks1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    93
    42
    14
    16
See reviews for
44
186
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

As the reviews below show - this is a bit of a "love it or hate it" hotel, and from the website it tough to tell until you arrive (thus showing the great thing about Trip Advisor!).

The bottom line is that I think you should think about this hotel as little more than a restaurant with amazing rooms and a pool. As previous reviewers have said it is missing many things you would expect in a top class (or even standard class) hotel, but then you aren't paying top hotel prices but are getting an amazing room.

So if you are fairly self-sufficient and just looking for a great room to base a holiday around St Tropez from, then I think it's ideal - we really enjoyed our stay. But if you are looking for a 'full service' hotel experience then probably best to look elsewhere as the lack of bar / room service / minibar etc etc will frustrate.

  • Liked — Style, size and quality of room
  • Disliked — Lack of atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnPn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

We stayed here for a short honeymoon. I spent a long time looking for a really indulgent hotel and this seemed to be an ideal choice with a lot of character and not too many rooms. I am not a fussy person so we still really enjoyed our holiday but being honest you would expect more at 300 euros a night which is what we paid for the top room and their other rooms in August still start from 200 euros a night! I just feel disappointed because I would love to own a hotel like this and I could do so much more with this beautiful building in a great location.

Good points:

Great location in the hills away from the crazy crowds in St. Tropez and further east.

Great place to explore more of the relaxed areas west of St. Tropez (Cavalaire, Lavandou etc) and of course close to hot spots such as Ramatuelle and Pampelonne Beach.

Feels like you are staying in someone’s grand home, not like a normal chain hotel.

Fantastic breakfast

Bad points:

At 300 euros a night you would expect the following:

Mini bar
Shower holder (we had to hold it above our heads - quirky but slightly annoying!)
Air conditioning in the room
Perhaps a free shuttle to the beach
A welcome drink
Mineral water in the room
Accurate and willing advice on great local places to go, drink and eat.

This hotel could be fantastic but at this price and with aspirations of excellence it needs to pay attention to every little detail:

The reception we were given when we arrived was not that warm, it wouldn't have been difficult to know who was coming that day and greet them personally.

Could have offered us a nice drink in the reception area while someone took our bags to the room. No drink and no one to take the bags.

The room was not ready at 3pm and was still being cleaned; they should have known this and told us. A nice touch would have been to give us a drink in reception while we waited

The lift is dangerous, doors open 2 inches below the step leaving a prominent edge, my wife stubbed her toe on this and it could hurt someone quite badly.

The pool is missing quite a few small mosiac tiles, small issue but obvious!

There weren't enough sunchairs by the pool and only on the third day did a guy decide to put some out. If you know you have 40 guests then put out 40 sunloungers!

As the review below said the gardens should be better tended.

Some of the communal areas are quite drab and have clearly not been cleaned properly.

The areas you can see at the side of the building are very untidy and for some reason there were loads of nice old radiators lined up against the wall, it just doesn’t give a good impression.

I would love for this hotel to take this advice in the constructive way it is given and to make the changes this hotel needs to fulfil all it’s potential.

  • Liked — Location and the beautiful building
  • Disliked — Lack of service, personal touches and attention to detail
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EIMB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

This Hotel is a very basic for the prices they charged

On arrival the place looked very unkept

Weeds all over the driveway,no manicuring of the lawns,no one to carry our bags up the 19 steps to reception or to the rooms

Very sparse furnishings both in the Hotel and the bedrooms .


When we arrived there was no bar open or dining room

"Chef is off"

There was no laundry service available on Fri "its the weekend"
A mini fridge in the bedroom would have been great asset
There was late night rumpus in the pool which kept us awake and when we mentioned it next morning the receptionist knew nothing but did know that wine bottles were found at the pool.

We were offered no explanation

Overall we were not happy with the Hotel

The staff were pleasant but for an extra few euro we could have stayed in luxury ten minutes away in a hotel on the beach

The Hotel needs investment immediately with management and senior staff playing a more active role .Customer service is not a priority

We could not at this stage recommend the hotel to any of our friends

Sorry that this review is not more positive but this is our experience.

  • Liked — proximity to town and sea
  • Disliked — very unpersonal and hospital/convent atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digiexcess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

This hotel competes against the great hotels of the world in its classic views of the vineyards to the sea.

The bedrooms are beautiful and brand new with wonderful bathrooms. The Management is highly professional with very helpful and enthusiastic staff. The Housekeeping was first class. The young and talented Chef prepared a personalised gourmet dinner for us.

This hotel feels like stepping back in time the world imagined idyllic holidays in the South of France of years ago. From the moment we were charmingly welcomed by the receptionist who stayed late to greet us well after midnight, due to our delayed flight, this Hotel was Stunning!

  • Liked — location and views - welcome by staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank martyricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2007

This is a gem of a hotel near St. Tropez. It is located in a large mansion that used to be a school for girls in the past. All rooms are large and spacious. The fournishings are simple. There was no TV in our room but it was not necessary for us. Breakfast was included in the price and was served in a lovely garden. The hotel was so quite that we thought for a while we were the only guests. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful and provided us with good tips on the area. It is a very good alternative to staying in St Tropez.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank akolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Croix-Valmer
1.5 mi away
La Pinede Plage
La Pinede Plage
#2 of 12 in La Croix-Valmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau de Valmer
Chateau de Valmer
#1 of 12 in La Croix-Valmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau de Mei Lese
Chateau de Mei Lese
#6 of 12 in La Croix-Valmer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Bienvenue
La Bienvenue
#4 of 12 in La Croix-Valmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel la Rotonde
Hotel la Rotonde
#5 of 12 in La Croix-Valmer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Residence Beach
Hotel Restaurant Residence Beach
#3 of 9 in Cavalaire-Sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel

Property: L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel
Address: route de Ramatuelle | 545, Bd Georges Selliez - BP 33, 83420 La Croix-Valmer, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > La Croix-Valmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in La Croix-Valmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel l’Orangeraie is ideally situated in La Croix-Valmer in the Gulf of Saint-Tropez , between the Maures Hills and the most beautiful sandy beaches of the Côte d’Azur.From the long ago convent to the just born Orangeraie, this majestic 1900’s mansion did not loose anything of its former charm. Nestled in a magnificent park of secular palm trees, this hotel of legend offers a wide panorama on the sea, from Cap Lardier to Les Îles d’Or : Le Levant and Port Cros.31 sunny and spacious bedrooms and suites recently renovated, faced south for most of them, offer a breathtaking view on the sea and the islands ; heated swimming-pool under the palm trees, long ago convent beautiful Chapel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Travelocity and Fastbooking so you can book your L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Orangeraie Parc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing