We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy & Friendly near Saint Tropez”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel la Rotonde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel la Rotonde
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in La Croix-Valmer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy & Friendly near Saint Tropez”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Spent 2 nights for work near Saint Tropez and discovered this wonderful family run hotel in Croix Valmer. Staff super available, comfortable bed, really good breakfast, stylish decor. So satisfying when you stumble upon a hotel that is affordable yet friendly and service oriented...
Thank you Marie and David for your warm welcome at la Rotonde. I can't wait to come back with family in tow for our summer hols next year in Saint Tropez !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrietta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaRotonde, Propriétaire at Hotel la Rotonde, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Many thanks for your warm comments.
Hope to see you back in La Croix-Valmer.
Best regards

Marie & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    44
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
11
46
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

i had make a reservation through Booking.com @ la Rotonde (31/1-1/2-2013) writing them i'll be there at 11pm.
i received the confirmation through Booking.com and at 11pm i was to the reception BUT, surprise...for 20 times i press the button of the door bellring (without any answer) so, i call to the telephone nr for at least 5 times ( the first time they put me on busy and for the other times they do not answer at all...)...thinking the receptionist has a collapse i also call the Toulon Gendarmerie (never happen in 20 years of travelling such a strange situation...!!!
Finally i was obliged to take my car and go to knock to the doors of all the hotel of the region cause it's not high season...finally i find a place at 3 am , 4 hours later!!!
I ask to be refund for the delta in price room and the additional night and fees for the time i was obliged to find a new places.
Surprise again! The Hotel wrote to the Booking.com that i never been there and they never received a fax confirmation...of course they are liars in the wide sense of the word.
Travelling for work is hard, people need to have rests not additional stress due to the lazyness of the owner of Hotel. If they are not in the condition to run a business eventualy they can close the door definetively, not a such drama to loose an hotel with doors closed.
This was my experience, that i can proof at any times.


If you pass through La Croix Valmer in this season, if you are interested to be not crazy and sleep in a secure bed, avoid this place, it's the worse experience you can practice to drive for other 3-4 hours to found a new place...

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 299francoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel L, General Manager at Hotel la Rotonde, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear sir, thank your for your opinion. We would have prefered to be in touch with you before you react.... For your information :

1/ Booking never sent us your fax confirmation and we are clear with Booking on this point. We are very sorry but you were not expected at our hotel. We are a faithfull partner of Booking and we are used to the reservation process with them.

2/ We have never received any call from you at your arrival. We have check and recheck our call list wich is saved on our computer and there's no call registered after 9:35 PM.

We are used to assume our responsability when it's engaged and we don't think Tripadvisor is the place to discuss about this kind of claim.

We are still very sorry about what happened to you which is the consequences of inexplicable factors. You are a client and we believe what you express and that's why we would have been pleased to be abble to be in touch with you directly to try to understand what happened exactly.

Best regards

David Pohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Croix-Valmer hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Paris, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Everything was more or less good but a bit too expensive for a two star hotel in La Croix Valmer. The publicity (booking.com) says that your stay is in the heart of Saint-Tropez (séjour au coeur de Saint-Tropez) but if they’re talking about the village of Saint-Tropez, you’ll have to do a good 10kms drive to get there. The hotel is in a region called the Peninsula or Gulf of Saint-Tropez, but no where near the village of Saint-Tropez. Maybe what somebody is trying to say in a poetic way is that Saint-Tropez has a big heart (coeur) of about 10kms in size ???. The room met with our needs with quality beds (twin room) and a good system of quilts completely enveloped in cotton covers/sheets. Much more hygienic than the traditional sheets and blanket system in most French hotels. The bathroom had a nice “trendy” look but the sombre atmosphere and colour of the tiles left doubt to the level of cleanliness. It didn’t present a crispy, clean look. The modern concrete bench top was varnished but didn’t look clean because of bad signs of usage; there was a piece broken off that hadn’t been repaired. The towels, of average quality, had a slight musty smell to them which suggested that they’d been left too long after washing before they’d been dried. Maybe they could take this matter up with their commercial laundry service. Parking was outside in the street but free. We didn’t stay for breakfast and maybe it is generous and gives good value, but we are unable to comment. For less than the price they were asking, we had a good breakfast in the open air and on a terrace in Gassin (the next village towards Saint-Tropez) with a view over the valley. At their full season rates (plus the price of two breakfasts plus tax, it would have been about €150,00), we wouldn’t stay again at the hotel during their full season (start of June until the end of September) unless we had no other choice and desperately needed a place to sleep. We noted that their off season rates are much cheaper and in line with a two star hotel in this region.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deadeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

La Rotonde is a simple, honest little hotel. The price is right for what it is: a simple room, with an OK bed and free WiFi.
Don't expect breakfast, a pool or SPA or a minibar. And most of the time there is nobody at reception (they give you the entrance code to the hotel).

But do you need that? No! You want to be outside during the day hanging out at the nearby beach or trailing the cost.

This hotel is a great place in the expensive area it is in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorVroeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
223 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

We have stayed at the great little hotel in the past when it was owned by the locally 'famous' Serge...we loved it then....we love it now with the new owners of 6 months.

Unfortnately on this trip we only used the bar and the restaurant...it was memorable for all the right reasons....the high quality of the food and the superb staff.

They obviously have got it right as the restaurant was busy on both of the week nights that we went...(Saturday and Sunday) we got friendly with some of the other diners who included several people who had come especially from St Tropez.

It could also be the fact that La Croix Valmer was a ghost town with nowhere else to eat at night .....they must all be richer than me to close down for months end !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

When we got there, quite late in the evening, we (two couples) had no place to stay. The man in the reception spoke good english and helped us all to find a hotel for the night. Me and my boyfriend had the luck on our side and got a room in this familiary and friendly hotel. The staff, and I mean all of them, was really charming and friendly. The kind people you want to get to know. As a guest I felt like I belonged. I have never experienced a hospitalty like this, still they were polite and not "to much". We decided to have dinner in the hotel and if the hotel and rooms where average (clean and tidy) the food qualified for a star in guide Michelin. Totally amazing. In summary the food and the staff of this hotel is a reason why I surely will return and visit again. One more thing - the bathroom is funny :)
Keep up the good work Hotel la Rotonde! Hope I will visit you soon again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaO52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Croix-Valmer
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Cigale
Hotel La Cigale
#11 of 12 in La Croix-Valmer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.6 mi away
L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel
L 'Orangeraie Parc Hotel
#4 of 12 in La Croix-Valmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Bienvenue
La Bienvenue
#3 of 12 in La Croix-Valmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Pinede Plage
La Pinede Plage
#2 of 12 in La Croix-Valmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.2 mi away
L'Ecurie du Castellas
L'Ecurie du Castellas
#21 of 25 in Ramatuelle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau de Mei Lese
Chateau de Mei Lese
#8 of 12 in La Croix-Valmer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Rotonde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Rotonde

Property: Hotel la Rotonde
Address: rue Frederic Mistral, 83420 La Croix-Valmer, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > La Croix-Valmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in La Croix-Valmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Rotonde 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rotonde is located at the entrance of the village, near the beaches and Saint Tropez. Our south facing hotel welcomes you in a warm atmosphere all year long.It has recently been renovated and includes all of the amenities neededfor optimal hotel services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel la Rotonde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing