We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couple days in La Ciotat... really nice !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Vieux Port
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in La Ciotat
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Couple days in La Ciotat... really nice !”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was our first time in La Ciotat, and we are really happy we picked the Best Western.
Hotel location is perfect, right on the promenade of the port. Cross the street in front of the hotel and there are the fishing and sail boats !
Due to an error (from our side), we had booked in July instead of August. We only found out when looking at our credit card statement. The hotel reservation team was very kind to book us back in August, in a similar room, at only a slightly higher rate, and even refunded the no-show !
Hotel staff was very nice and friendly.
We got a room on the 3rd floor, overlooking the harbour, with a nice little balcony. Room was well furnished, clean and comfortable. Same applies for the bathroom, that is fitted with a big glass panel allowing to watch the sea while taking a shower (through the room).
We cannot comment on breakfast, as we are usually out early to dive. We did have dinner in the hotel restaurant one night. Food and location (terrasse) were nice, but waiters (mostly summer interns) were not as nice as the rest of the hotel staff.
There are a pool and a jacuzzi on the rooftop, with a stunning view of the bay.
We tried a couple restaurants in the area, and we can recommend Bene and Le Vin 7, next to the hotel. For Bene make sure you book at 04 42 08 06 25.
There is also a very nice restaurant overlooking the Calanque de Figuerolles (http://figuerolles.free.fr). The food and scenery are excellent, so plan a visit, as it's only a 10-minutes' walk form the hotel.
If you are a diver, there are a couple dive centers in La Ciotat offering dives in the area, especially on the Ile Verte and the calanques. We tried contacting the dive center next to the hotel, but they never answered (they were closed most days while we were there). We decided to dive with Plongee Passion (http://www.plongeepassion-laciotat.fr), who are located at the other end of the old port (a 10 mins walk from the hotel). They have 2 boats, and are well equipped and friendly. The morning dives were nice, but the afternoon ones were rather crowded (probably because of the time of the year).
As a final note, if you have a car, the drive from La Ciotat to Cassis via the Route des Cretes offers stunning views.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZinnekeReiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    311
    60
    24
    18
See reviews for
85
419
20
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

nice hotel in a nice location, just in front of the port
very easy to visit the city and the port
the hotel is good and the staff is warm
the bad point is the room : too classic, too sad and the bath room had some troubles (recently made but already old), mini bar with 'nothing' inside.
the pool on the roof is very nice but there is too many wind..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alberto g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Remo, Italia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The rooms are cleaned to perfection. We had a junior suite facing the port, actually for being a suite i found it very basic, not a suite at all, but it was ok. Too expensive, 210 euro x night but let's say July it's absolutely high season. Superb breakfast but it's not included, you need to pay an extra 13 euro per person if you want to have it, but it's worth it. Free WI-FI, nice roof top pool, extremely gentle staff. The hotel is just in front of the port so i believe you will not find a better place to stay while in La Ciotat.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the port (hence the street) can be bothersome because of the noise , but that'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delirusvitae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel was clean, the room was spacious and really comfortable. Parking in the garage under the hotel. Nice service, the hotel was a bit unpersonal. The room had a bad smell ( from the toilet). Nice situated at the harbour in La CIotat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibbi1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The location and awards won by the hotel led to extremely high expectations of the hotel and room. Although a little hard to find the parking, I had read that on other reviews and was somewhat prepared for it. As it was the evening before Bastille Day, the roads were packed with people flocking to the marina area for celebration. This meant that finding a spot to stop temporarily to get our room and instructions on parking was impossible which led to some difficulty getting out of the underground parking, which is shared by a neighboring hotel (there is a very small sign in the garage we didnt notice).

Check-in was good and prompt. after a very long day of driving (more than 900kms and a few sightseeing spots) we were exhausted. The room was quite nice. Llarge, modern, and clean. Separate toilet from the shower which is oddly situated. Clean washroom with a glass enclosure meaning the person in the main part of the hotel room can see into the shower and washroom (but not toilet).

The balcony was also nice. A nice view of the marina and the crowd celebrating the evening and waiting for fireworks to start.

This is where our great experience ended, unfortunately.

After the long day we were ready for a meal and relax, watch the fireworks and go to sleep. Being very busy most of the restaurants were quite full. The first place we stopped, 7Vin, had a table, but the server let us know that we might have to wait 30 minutes. They were very kind and professional and I would go there again, but we didnt want to wait for 30 minutes. The hotel had recommended Les Scales but their service was so terrible we didnt consider. I wouldnt go back there if it were empty and I had a free coupon. This wasnt the worse experience however.

Finally we looked at the hotel restaurant which was quite full. We decided that we could enjoy room service on our balcony above the loudness and have a great view of the fireworks. I called down and they finally found someone who could speak English and was told that it would be an hour. I told them I would call back in a couple of minutes with our order. When I called back a couple of minutes later I was told very abruptly (in French) that room service was over. The menu in the room said it was available until 10:30 with no mention of special days, etc., so I asked to speak to the English-speaking staff. He then got on the phone, yelled "NO!", and hung up. Worst...Service....Ever!

We then hit the street again and were warmly greeted and had a very, very enjoyable meal and experience at O'Paloma (see review elsewhere, but recommended!), very close to the hotel.

After speaking to the hotel staff we were told there was nothing they could do as this was not their restaurant (though it is advertised in their elevator and rooms). The next day I asked to speak to the Manager but no one was on duty. I was told that I should fill out the comment card, which I did but haven't received any response from anyone from the hotel. Though the restaurant may not be managed by the hotel, it is their partner and the hotel is recommending and advertising it to their guests. The hotel staff have been well-trained to be attentive to guest concerns, but they apparently have no authority to solve issues or to consider alternatives.

This was extremely disappointing and definitely the low point of our 10-day honeymoon in France. There was an opportunity for a magical night, but instead the experience was ruined, tainting my experience at the hotel and the La Ciotat area. The room was qiute good, the service fine, and the area was okay for a 1 or 2 night stay (probably not longer). But the extremely poor experience with the restaurant and unsatisfying response from the staff and lack of response afterward from the hotel (more than 2 weeks at time of writing) make me believe you can find something with an overall better experience elsewhere on the coast.

Room Tip: If you can stand the noise, the balcony room had a nice view, but super hot in the sun. if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Right on the harbour, we had a sea view room on the 4th floor. nice balcony, with great view over the old port. We stayed for 2 nights and the room was large and very comfortable. Didn't eat at the hotel, but there are loads of restaurants within a few steps of the hotel. Car parking a little pricey at 12 euros for 24 hours, but very secure underground. Hotel rooms though are good value for such a high standard. Great location too, if you want to do any walking/hiking to the calanques. Saturday night and the town was buzzing, with hundreds of people in the bars and restaurants and busy market all around the old port. Only downside to this was that it was quite noisy late on & into the early hours, but having had a good meal and bottle of wine, it didn't disturb me too much! I'd definitely stay here again. Only small complaint, is that the wi-fi didn't work in the room. had to go out into the lobby to get good enough signal.

Room Tip: If you're worried about noise on saturday night, don't get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I am always amazed at the difference in quality of the Best Western brands- this one is on the better side. To be honest, I wouldnt actually give the hotel 5 stars in the grand sceme of things however when it comes to this area in La Ciotat, I do think this is the nicest hotel and I have stayed at a few over the years. Everything is like new and very modern. This hotel is right on the quay and is super convenient. The rooms are large with confortable bedding and the bathroom is really nice. The kitchenette does not include a real fridge or microwave or stove so no cooking here. Park and Suites next door is nice if you want to save a few dollars and prepare your own meals. That being said, I ate at Quai Sud (attached to hotel) and it was very good and we also ate at L' Escalet - also very good and I would recomend both.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandsjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Ciotat
2.3 mi away
Ibis La Ciotat
Ibis La Ciotat
#4 of 14 in La Ciotat
356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Appart'City Confort La Ciotat Cote Port
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rose The
Hotel Rose The
#2 of 14 in La Ciotat
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Plage St Jean
Hotel Plage St Jean
#12 of 14 in La Ciotat
261 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
3.3 mi away
Hotel Corniche du Liouquet
Hotel Corniche du Liouquet
#3 of 14 in La Ciotat
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Vieux Port

Property: Best Western Premier Vieux Port
Address: 252 Quai Francois Mitterrand, 13600 La Ciotat, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > La Ciotat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in La Ciotat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Vieux Port Hotel La Ciotat
Best Western La Ciotat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing