We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Value for Money”
Review of Hotel Le Golfe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Golfe
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Friedly and helpfull hostess. Best view you can imagine, whilst lying on your bed you have this great view across the harbour.
Based on the previous reviews we were concerned about the size of the room and balcony and bathroom. We had a sea facing room on the second floor with a double and single bed as well as a desk in the room. The shower was very nice with good water pressure. We had no problem with the room or bathroom. If possible make sure you get a seafacing room on the second floor.
There is a public parking garage just behind the hotel which is very convenient as parking is a problem in Cassis.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacoCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Golfe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 291 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is the best view in Cassis by the port. Reasonably priced, not extravagant, but a great value. The room was adequate size and we managed to squeeze two chairs on the balcony and view the night life. The staff was very helpful. A great place to go to the beach and hike Les Calanques.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I think I should give an excellent rating, as the port view rooms with the sun entering in the morning is one of the most beautiful and relaxing. Where do you find for € 100 per night such a view on the Cote d'Azur.

The rooms and bathrooms are finally "upgraded" but still very small. I understand their decision, but living without Wifi is even for me difficult.

Room Tip: Take the PORT VIEW only!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. I picked this hotel because really there wasn't much left at Cassis for the period and I wanted to stay there for the calanque boat trips and proximity to the Marseille airport.

I had read quite unimpressed opinions about the hotel and was prepared, so indeed the room was so small that only one bedside table could be accomodate and the bathroom was very small, with a strange hole in the ceiling opening the view to the attic (I guess?)

Having said that, the hotel is facing the port and is very convenient for every activity you may want to have in Cassis, starting with the boat trips and finishing with an afternoon on the beach. If you are looking to settle down for a 2 weeks holiday I would avoid the place, otherwise it's a good, cost effective compromise

Moreover, cassis is an old port town, it's very charming in a very French way, but I would not expect any of the hotels in the centre (on the port) to have large and airy rooms

Cassis beach: there are 2 beaches, the closest to the hotel is behind the other side of the port, as most (if not all) French beaches is not particularly clean and the sand is quite rough, mixed with rocks and shells. There are only 2 bars on the beach, both renting out umbrellas. An umbrella with 2 beds cost ca 35€ at the end of June

Room Tip: ask for one of the rooms with view on the port, the others have windows on the (not particularly noi...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silviaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We recently stayed at Hotel Le Golfe for 1 night, needing two rooms at relatively short notice. What we quickly realised was that rooms go fast in Cassis, so it was a case of taking what we could get. Hotel Le Golfe is a bit basic in many regards and compared with places we were staying in other towns, a bit more expensive. Buy hey, this is Cassis and it is a gorgeous and obviously popular spot. While our rooms were a bit spartan, and one tended to trip over oneself a bit, this was made up for by the location - overlooking the harbour, looking across to the former chateau (now a private hotel) on the opposite hill. A shame our little balcony could only fit one person!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on the first floor if you want a waterfront view, they seemed to have larg...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a room with a great view of the harbour. The room had a very small balcony with only one chair but it's almost possible to also fit the plastic chair from the room on the balcony.

The hotel doesn't have an elevator and, at least when we checked in, there is nobody offering to carry any luggage up the stairs. I helped the old couple that checked in after us to get their luggage up the stairs.

Since the shower in our room didn't have any shower curtain it was impossible to keep water from getting on the floor.

But overall the hotel is decent and might be the best value for your money in Cassis since it is a very popular and quite expensive place.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the harbour.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is the smallest room I have ever seen. The balcony had a beautiful view over the harbor and only 1 small chair fit on it. The bed took up most of the room and was obviously place sideways because the bed lights were on the side. The bathroom had a distinct smell of sewage coming from the shower, but it didn't build up in the bathroom because the door would not close. Then there was the small issue of the sloping floor which was covered with a cheap planking with no rugs or area carpeting. There is no elevator and no rooms on the ground floor. The service people are very nice, working with what they have to offer.
If you want to stay in Cassis, you cannot beat the price and location, just be prepared to endure a few eccentricities.

Room Tip: Get the view. There are 2 parking spots, so if you have a car, let them know.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cassitel
Hotel Cassitel
#11 of 16 in Cassis
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Golfe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Golfe

Address: 3 Place du grand Carnot, 13260 Cassis, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range: $113 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Golfe 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Golfe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Golfe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing