We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Le Golfe
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
47
114
62
40
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
114
62
40
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe sea view roomsshort breakstar hotelshuttle bussimple hotelfantastic locationbuffet breakfastrooms are smallshower curtainoverlooking the harbourwithin easy walking distancetop floorthree nightscharming hotelparkingportcalanques
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 304 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is the smallest room I have ever seen. The balcony had a beautiful view over the harbor and only 1 small chair fit on it. The bed took up most of the room and was obviously place sideways because the bed lights were on the side. The bathroom had a distinct smell of sewage coming from the shower, but it didn't build up in the bathroom because the door would not close. Then there was the small issue of the sloping floor which was covered with a cheap planking with no rugs or area carpeting. There is no elevator and no rooms on the ground floor. The service people are very nice, working with what they have to offer.
If you want to stay in Cassis, you cannot beat the price and location, just be prepared to endure a few eccentricities.

Room Tip: Get the view. There are 2 parking spots, so if you have a car, let them know.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Hotels book up quickly in Cassis sur Mer, even in the still-cool days of April so we were happy to find a room at Le Golfe. The hotel is right in the center of town and the rooms on the port side have wonderful views of the harbor, cliffs and blue blue Mediterranean. The beds in Le Golfe are comfortable, the bathroom spic and span and the front desk staff friendly and helpful. We paid 118 euros for a room with two beds but skipped the 9 euros breakfast in favor of less pricey coffee and tartines down the quai at a cafe full of bright red tables and chairs in full sun.

One note that has nothing to do with the hotel, Cassis is an especially bad place for theft. For 30 years, tourists have been warned not to leave valuables in their cars when they're walking on Les Calanques or elsewhere. We were careless and the result was that we had the passenger window of our rent car entirely smashed in, our purses that we thought were hidden stolen and an overnight bag taken as well. The rest of our afternoon was spent at the gendarmerie filing a complaint -- where we watched four other couples arrive within one hour with the same problem -- and returning our damaged rental car. Cassis law enforcement is mostly interested in ticketing illegally parked cars and they don't seem to do much to patrol the areas where tourists park in Cassis, so just make sure you leave absolutely not one thing in the car that you care to keep. And if you're staying at Le Golfe, you can just leave your belongings in your centrally located room!

Room Tip: Room 38 has two beds and overlooks the port. Make sure to ask for a portside room -- well worth the money.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Truthtraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Our second floor room required some stair climbing. Our room was quite large with two full sized beds and a tiny balcony with a great view of the harbor and waterfront promenade. The bathroom was decent sized but the shower was not enclosed and water was all over the bathroom floor even after a careful shower. We slept with the window open at night and there was no noise. A mid-summer weekend might be more noisy. Metered street parking close by IF you can find a spot, which we luckily did. Loaner hair-dryer available at the front desk.

Room Tip: Our room faced the harbor and was beautiful, but some noisy construction work did begin between 7 and 8AM on the waterfront. We were awake, but the noise would have otherwise woken us. Street side would probably have been pretty quiet at night.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed-Idaho-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Sept. 22/11
Just spent 3 nights in Cassis, France at Hotel le Golfe. We paid E110 for a room with a balcony and it was worth every Euro. Our room was on the 2nd floor (3rd floor to a North American), had 2 double beds, an adequate bathroom with shower, very good aircon, and a fantastic view over the harbour. The hotel is at the end of the harbour and is bright yellow with blue trim.
We had morning sun and afternoon shade, which was blessing. The hotel reception people, particularly Michelle, were great.
Breakfast is E9 per person and well worth it, as it included breads, coissants, coffee, juice, yoghurt, ham, cheese and jam.
We went of the boat trip to see 5 callanques (like fijords) for E18 each. It takes one hour round trip and is very enjoyable.
The gelato and fresh bread took most of our discretionary spending. The passion fruit gelato was particularly delicious (see shop, brown paint with cupid, on the main street for the best). Three doors up from it was our favourite bakery -- delicious olive bread sticks.
The hiking is good too. We hiked to the first callanque. Take water and snacks as the land is very arrid. Amazing views down to the water.
We took the train down to Cassis from Avignon. There is a bus that takes you from the train station to town. It costs less than 1Euro (driver gives change). We walked into town, not knowing better. Googlemaps says it is 0.8km. That is not true. It took us a very hot 30 minutes, luckily all downhill. On good advice we took the bus back up to the train station - get it just in front of the Casino - Ask for times at the hotel.
Cassis is very beautiful, and is a fishing village. Fish is featured on all the menus.
We enjoyed our stay, but 3 days was enough.
Off on a bike ride around Provence South now.... after a great "rest up" first

Room Tip: worth the premium to have room facing the water! (& you get a tiny balcony)
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobandTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed in this two star hotel on Thursday 30 June 2011 for one night only. We did not book this hotel in advance, only drove to Cassis, and looked for a place to stay. Most of the hotels were quite fully booked. We are a family of four, two adults and two teens. This hotel was neat, bathroom was acceptable and clean and not to old. Room was bit on the small side, but we only stayed for one night, so it did not bother us to much. There is one double bed and two single beds in the room with good aircon. Reception was friendly, spoke English, and check in went quick. We paid Euro 120 per night for the four of us, breakfast was not included in the price. We did not have breakfast at the hotel. We stayed in a street facing room, sea facing rooms were fully booked. This was not really a problem, but I am sure if you stay longer than one night, a see facing room will be nice. Linen on the beds were nice and clean - but the blankets and beadspreads are a little dated. The hotel is situated on a great spot, very close to Cassis harbour, and lots of restaurants. There is also a supermarket within walking distance. This was a comfortable hotel to stay in for our purpose, will reccomend it, and will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank blackspaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews