We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good staff, budget price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Liautaud

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cassis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Liautaud
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, good staff, budget price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

It is right in front of the pier and "beach" along with all restaurants. Good room, but a bit outdated. Noisy at night. A/C is pre-set and does not chill too well. Internet works in reception only. Overall worth the price and good economic option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    83
    48
    24
    19
See reviews for
30
103
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I spent two nights in this hotel in July. My room was reserved some months earlier which was good because the hotel was full during my visit. It was warm during the time of my visit and the A/C in the room did a good job in keeping the room cool. The room was basic, but clean and seemed fairly up to date. The location is excellent, setting at the corner of the port, with shops and restaurants within steps. 2 of the 3 people I spoke with at the reception spoke English. Parking was a small issue since the hotel parking was full. I had to park in a village parking garage 3-4 blocks away, but with a decent 3 day rate with in-out privileges. The hotel's port location makes it difficult to drive too, especially for visitors not familiar with Cassis or small French villages in general. The only true negative I can review is the internet access. Access is not available in the rooms, but only in the lobby and the lounge/dining room. Even in the lounge, I had trouble getting a good reliable connection at times.

But overall, for the price I paid, the hotel was a good place to rest and was right in the middle of where most people want to be in Cassis.

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms are not facing the park, port, and beach areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan_in_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallemort, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were neat and clean. The furnishings were like stepping back into the 50's or something, quite fun actually. The hotel was ideally situated between the beach on the left and the restaurants and entertainment on the right. Same owners since my husband was a child... Only 2 star so don't expect anything luxury. Take your own soap as the soap supplied is tiny and thin, so in the first use it breaks in two, impossible to use.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharmaineJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Hotel Liautaud is located in the heart of Cassis just a few meters away from shops, the market, and the water. It is very easy to find from the bus stop. The only downside to the location is that, because it is in the "downtown" area, there is a good bit of night-life which kept us awake until 3 a.m. The second night we drew the shutters over the window, which blocked out some of the noise, but ear plugs would not be a bad idea.

The hotel's facade is nice, but the rooms need renovation. The mattress and bedding were worse for wear, but they were clean. Our balcony looked onto the street, yet we were still able to see the beautiful port of Cassis from it. The bathroom was spacious and had a bathtub and a shower. For the price and the location, it was a great deal (We paid 30 euro per person per night). Breakfast was offered for 8 euro, but we went elsewhere to eat.

The receptionists were very friendly and communicated perfectly in French and English. (I believe they also speak German and Italian.) They provided us with maps and gave us directions to several different spots. They expect you to leave the key at the front desk when you go out and pick it up when you come back. Make time to walk Les Calanques, and bring lots of water when you do. If you are willing to accept that this is not a five star hotel, I don't think you will mind staying here, and you will not regret your visit to Cassis!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the harbor and not the side streets, and bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Now4voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I highly recommend Cassis as a holiday destination and highly recommend you stay at this hotel. It is not 5 star, it is a little old but it's clean, the rooms are airconditioned and not too small. But most importantly you WILL NOT get a better location for enjoying Cassis,you will be engulfed by wonderful atmosphere,scenery and true French charm.The view from your balcony (balcony rooms were just 7 euros more, at time of our stay) will stay with you forever. This by my reckoning, is the most central building in Cassis, right on the marina,the closest to the beach and wonderfully looked over by the Castle. Only drawbacks for us were no onsite parking and poor wifi reception.

Room Tip: Balcony room is a must,not much more expensive but will double your pleasure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferryman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

My friends and I stayed at Hotel Liautaud for two nights in May 2012. The location of this hotel is perfect. Right on the harbor, this hotel is central to all the hustle and bustle of this little port town. If it wasn't for the location I would have only rated this hotel as average.

The room itself was a normal size and the beds were a little flat and saggy. Most of the rooms have small balconies which are nice. The bathroom was nice and clean with good water pressure in the shower. The staff is also very friendly and easy going.

The breakfast is not included and we opted to get breakfast on our own. Be aware there is noise at night from bars around the port, and each morning we were there, there was construction work and noise. However, the shutters did shut out some of the noise.

Overall a very good stay, and an amazing location for the price. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget visiting the beautiful costal town of Cassis.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank My-Adventure-Book
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Well, of corse this isn't the Ritz, and I DO like 5 Star, but I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel in Cassis. It is slap bang in the centre of this charming harbour side town. The views are sensational and if you keep your gaze firmly on the view at breakfast you can pretend it has the 5 stars. For €90 it was exceptional value. Our room 328 looked out to the castle which is magically lit at night, we were lucky enough to see a full moon rise up over the castle this week. OK, the room is basic, but we had a small balcony and the bed was comfy enough. For some reason, perhaps being on the go all day, I slept soundly, despite the funny little pillow. The staff on the desk were most helpful and the morning tea was delivered each morning to our room with a cheery smile. For the money and the location it was a winner. If you want fancy and you'd like more than one tiny bar of soap and some shampoo, this is not for you. But why not spend what you save on shopping, great local food and wine. Cassis is a delight and all the better for staying right in town. Ah, bliss!

Room Tip: If you want a room at the front overlooking the harbour you'd best book early. We booked in Apri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinkyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Rade
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cassitel
Hotel Cassitel
#14 of 16 in Cassis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Golfe
Hotel Le Golfe
#12 of 16 in Cassis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Liautaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Liautaud

Property: Hotel Le Liautaud
Address: 2, rue Victor Hugo, 13260 Cassis, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Le Liautaud Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing