We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and value for Cassis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Royal Cottage
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Location and value for Cassis”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Only visited Cassis for 3 nights.... great Location and ideal if you have a car. free parking and 5 minutes walk from the beach/Port. Restaurants are very close to the hotel and the hotel has a very nice pool, however the time i visited was mid season therefore the pool was empty. During high season i can imagine the pool to be a little too small and not enough beds to go around. I would look forward to visit again for a long weekend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalCottage13, Propriétaire at Hotel Royal Cottage, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your comment, don't worry everybody has a place in high season and enjoy the pool
( reserved only at the customers of theRoyal Cottage ). Hope to see you soon Brigitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    161
    57
    15
    7
See reviews for
57
202
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We (2 adults, 2 children aged 13 and 10) stayed in a family room at Royal Cottage for 3 nights. This was essentially a hotel room with an adjoining room containing a set of bunk beds, and a terrace. It worked well for us, better than a hotel room with 2 queen beds as this was more spacious and the children (and us) could have some privacy if we wanted given the 2 room setup.
Cassis is a wonderful spot and Royal Cottage is well located, a 5-10 minute walk to the port.
The swimming room at Royal Cottage was beautiful and seemed very clean. There were plenty of shaded pool chairs.
The staff were friendly and helpful. There is free in-room WIFI.
The room service breakfast easily fed 2 of us - it cost 12 euro and contained 2 small baguettes, 2 croissants, 2 chocolate croissants, an orange juice, coffee, a compote of fruit and a yoghurt. We explained to the front desk staff that we were sharing 1 breakfast between 2 adults and they arranged for us to have a large pot of coffee with 2 cups.
In response to recent reviews suggesting it needs an update - this is not the most recently constructed hotel in the area, but it is far from rundown. I believe that the price adequately reflected the age of the hotel and the quality of accommodation provided. You get what you pay for!
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeahSydney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigitteCassis, Gérant at Hotel Royal Cottage, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
All the Royal Cottage team thanks you for your comment and we hope to see you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We recently stayed for two nights at the Hotel Royal Cottage in Cassis having stayed there previously in 2012. The hotel is small, very comfortable, very clean, great swimming pool and you are attended to by lovely staff. It's great value with a nice homely feel and just a few minutes walk to the port and all the amenities. We were looked after very well and one lady in particular, Cyrille, was very helpful and made a special effort as she listened to our French. We like to speak French wherever possible and she really went the extra mile to converse with us. Highly recommend this terrific hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaughn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigitteCassis, Gérant at Hotel Royal Cottage, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks a lot for your comment, it's a pleasure for all the team to receive tourists in our wonderful village : Cassis . We hope to see you soon ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel, which is well located in a cute small port town near Marseille and attractive enough from the outside, was the worst we stayed in on a two week trip to the area, which included stays in hotels generally in the same price range. The young women at the desk were friendly and helpful, but the manager who was standing outside talking on a cell phone when we arrived and were obviously having trouble trying to negotiate getting into the parking lot past a barrier gate with a small intercom next to it, simply ignored us. Our room was uncomfortable and poorly designed and furnished; its only nice feature was a balcony overlooking a camphor tree next to the entrance to the parking lot. The toilet was in a small closet-like space; the separate wash room had a narrow tub in a dark space, with a hand-held sprayer for showering; the towels were thin, the liquid soap dispenser inoperable, and the small amenities consisted of disposable plastic cups, two tiny circles of cheap soap and two "vanity packs" that contained a couple of q-tip and a small cotton pad; the floor was covered in a kind of plastic woven stuff that was uncomfortable to walk on. The sheets were clean, but the blanket and pillows were only adequate. Our sense was that every economy was taken (there weren't even plastic bags lining the small trash bins in the washroom and toilet closet). The do-it-yourself breakfast (including coffee from a dispenser that offers various alternatives, but produces a mediocre cup of whatever type of coffee you select) was poor for the price - the worst selection on our two week trip; the alternative would have been to walk into town. There is a kind of all purpose room, with a couple of exercise machines, an ironing board, a computer, and a couple of tables, which also serves as the place to store luggage if you arrive before the room is ready. We did not visit the pool area, in part because they required a 12 euro deposit for a towel; but the smell of chlorine permeated the hall outside our room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esser-fresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigitteCassis, Propriétaire at Hotel Royal Cottage, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
We need to put the facts in context, : the manager was surprised to see you parked in the private way of the Hotel and changing of clothes , he told you that it is not allowed to park the car on this way and changing of clothes outside ( we have parking and cloakroom for our guests ) .
Then you decided to book a room.

The toilets are not so large but are separated from the bathroom.

The floor is a new comfortable coating and especially much more hygienic than our old fitted carpet !

We choose to use trash bins without plastic bags because of our civic responsibility …

Thank you very much for your comments concerning our kind and helpfull staff, our excellent location, and our beautiful terraces

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

3 night stay here ,enjoy and so happy,
hotel location near the Cassis seeside & shopping area just walk 7~8 mins, very conveience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurawang1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandvaux, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

For this price, you could stay 2 days in Premiere Classe Hotel and it would be a worst experience. No product in soap dispenser in Bathtub, not confortable bed, freezing and no additional blanket in closet, trucks and carts in the parking lot as of 7.00 am so you wake up and cherry on the cake: someone came in the room at night, officially to check if we were in the room... Scary and hard to sleep after that. It was the night guard, we found out the next morning. We were offered to stay one more night to compensate. A joke I guess!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CathGrandvaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrigitteCassis, Propriétaire at Hotel Royal Cottage, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Mr Grandvaux, all the staff remenbers your stay and we are all really sorry …
- No product in soap dispenser it’s true it’s a mistake ( you would have asked to the Reception )
- You didn’t find the additional blanquet ( you would have asked to the Reception )
- All the diagrid and mattress have been changed this year
- The night watcher came by error in your room ( I asked him why, he said it was a mistake … ) it is very regrettable
- You were very angry, we understand and moreover the deliveryman of linen made much noise at 7am we told him …
Confused when the personnel informed me of your dissatisfaction, you were gone, I called you to apologize, unfortunatly, nothing, no offers, could erase your dissatisfaction
We are very sorry and hope you will forgive us and come back again to Cassis our beautiful village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We arrived and shown to our room. It was good value for money, with an outdoor area where you could sit and enjoy the fresh air, it was clean, and served our purpose. We stayed only one night as we were driving to Monaco. The location of the hotel was fantastic, with only a short stroll down to the beach, where there are many restaurants. The Hotel staff were accomodating, and breakfast (basic) is available (extra cost) for those who prefer. We decided to stroll down to the beach and enjoyed what the locals had to offer. Cassis is a beautful pretty place - I want to live there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
0.3 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
0.7 mi away
Jardin d'Emile
Jardin d'Emile
#2 of 16 in Cassis
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cassitel
Hotel Cassitel
#11 of 16 in Cassis
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Cottage

Property: Hotel Royal Cottage
Address: 6, avenue du 11 Novembre, 13260 Cassis, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Royal Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cottage Cassis
Royal Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing