We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Whether it is sunny or rainy the ocean view can hardly be more impressive. And the receptionist was nice. But apart from these two positive elements, everything went wrong. We were staying at the hotel during a cold and stormy night, and we did not get much sleep due to the constant noice from a vibrating woodden shield on our balcony. At midnight we had quite a shock as someone entered our room with an electronic key identical to ours. Fortunately we had put on the security chain - it broke, but both we and the intruder were indeed alerted. In the morning we got out of bed to find no electricity, no heating and no hot water in our room. Finally there was quite a draft in the breakfast room. Conclusion: Do not go to this hotel in the winter time. They are not prepared for it.

Room Tip: It would be a mistake to stay in a room without seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMSilfverberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 407 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Located on a small, quiet beach with clear, calm waters, the simple cafe underneath this hotel serves first class cafe food and wine, no better place to sit. The hotel itself is functional with a good breakfast, a sea view raises the bar incomparably.

Stayed: May 2012
Thank Staggered G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Mahogany is directly opposite a small beach about 10 minutes easy walk from the centre of Cassis. Unfortunately we were not to use the pebbly beach during our 3 night stay as the weather was causing rough seas (boats to the Calanques were not running). The upside is that in the sea view rooms (with a balcony) you can sleep to the sound of the crashing waves. As it is only a 3 star property, it is no great value at the full price but is certainly worth thinking about if you can get a cheaper web deal. As others have commented, service is cursory.

Room Tip: Take a sea view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank aussietony_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We rode the bus from Marseille to Cassis last weekend and stayed at the Mahogany. We found the hotel to be the perfect location, comfortable room, very helpful service staff, and an easy walk from our bus stop, all down hill. The Sunday brunch was very nice. We had one of the "garden" view rooms which was very quiet and the morning sun didn't awaken us too early. You can always enjoy the sea view from the front terrace. The best thing was that all we had to do was walk across the street to the plage for our swim and it was an easy walk to the port.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meiling N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We booked a double comfort room and stayed 2 nights in Sept. The room decor would be best described as clean "modern rustic" air conditiond with terrace and amazing sea views .Was quite disappointed but the views sort of made up for the shortfall and thought this was all the hotel had to offer

On the other hand I really liked the hotel decor, relaxed modern edgy,beachy not glitzy Our friends arrived next day for 1 night and had all the luck as they were upgraded to lovely newly decorated and tiled white rooms, sheer curtains gorgeous drapes, seaviews and terraced.

It was then I realised ours didnt even have tea/coffee facilities and was nowhere near the standard of what it could be. After complaining to really nice guy on reception he explained that unlike our friends, the hotel had been full on our arrival so was unable to upgrade our room, after complaining that I couldnt even make a cup of tea/coffee he had tea delivered to our room.

As we were leaving next day there was no point in pursuing a better outcome. So my advise is BOOK A BETTER GRADE OF ROOM THAN STANDARD.
In every other aspect it was fabulous,swimmimg across the road on a stoney beach so wear aqua shoes, seems to be the only beach with normal access and not leaping into the sea from boulders.

A short easy stroll to the gorgeous village of Cassis with a choice of clothes, icecream, food shops with stunning resturants and bistros. Boat trips to the Callanques from the beautiful harbour

Breakfast outside on the spacious terrace or inside, and a really great breakfast, fresh fruit, toast, cereals, pastries, tea/coffe, juice, water etc .. all help yourself and also boil your own egg with egg timer supplied. So easy to overeat and far far better than many hotels in
England and Europe offer. The seaside setting made it very memorable

No problem with staff attitude and communication, the great guy who cooks breakfast is attentive and extra helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Seaview and book a better room than standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyfs4travLn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in August at this hotel. The room was very small, but light and airy and had a balcony and a fabulous view of Cap Canaile. However, we found the difficulties around parking very stressful. We tried to reserve hotel parking when we first booked, but were unable to do so, we rang the night before our arrival and were unable to do so. I actually wonder whether the hotel parking actually exists, as I did not meet any other guest who had been successful in obtaining a spot. We were directed to the public parking which had to be meter fed. Surely, the hotel could negotiate some way of actually booking and paying for this in advance. On our arrival at the public parking, the attendant said if we could confirmation from the hotel, we could stay for free. We asked the hotel about this, but were told this was not the case and they were not prepared to give us anything. You had to be up before 9 am and have all the right coins to put in the meter, which was a real headache. On the first morning realised I didn't have the right
money, and asked someone at Reception for change. With a look of total indifference, I was told she had no change and couldn't tell me where I could get any. At breakfast, there was no-one to greet us or offer tea or coffee, it was totally self service, expect that half the stuff wasn't there. I had to ask for milk for tea, but was told they only had hot milk - what in a hotel kitchen there was no cold milk? I had to ask for a plate and there was nowhere set up to sit on the terrace. Very poor show. The next morning, we went down earlier and it was a bit better. At no time did anyone wish us a nice stay, offer any information about anything, or show the remotest interest in us as paying customers. We had just come from a guest house in Aix-en-Provence which was warm, friendly and personal and the contrast could not have been greater. I am not sure whether to recommend this place or not. It is in an excellent location, a short walk in to town, it was quiet when we were there, but I believe is a lot noisier during the height of the season. However, we loved Cassis, and you have to stay somewhere!

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebony1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have been in Cassis for the first week end of august and we spent 3 night at the hotel la plage.
It was quite expensive since we booked at the very last minute and there was no much availability left, but a part from that, (that was our fault!!!) we have been pretty happy for the accomodation.
The room was spacious with a big confortable bad, a big flat screen tv, functioning air conditioned (a bit noisy), big bathroom and good bath products.
We were just not sure if the towels were always clean since we forgot to trow them on the ground once.
The room has a nice balcony, with 2 beach chairs, with the amazing view of a rocky bay.
The breakfast is included in the price and it is served on a nice terrace. it is very good: A mix between typical french breakfast and continental one: fruits, yogurt, boiled eggs (not scrambled), ham, croissants and various marmelades.

The only drowbacks were:
- even if every day we found in the room an offered bottle of water,there is no fridge!!!no minibar at all, so even if you buy your own things to go to the beach it is not practical not having a fridge.
- on the website they say they have a parking. However, it is a public one, not at all reserved to the hotel. It is pretty difficult to find a parking lot especially during the day so If you want to be sure to have a place you need to book it by telling them at the moment of the reservation.
- there were some group of ants in the corner of the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Black_Mamb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
361 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Jardin d'Emile
Jardin d'Emile
#3 of 16 in Cassis
296 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel du joli bois
Hotel du joli bois
#7 of 16 in Cassis
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Clos Des Aromes
Le Clos Des Aromes
#6 of 16 in Cassis
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Plage Mahogany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Plage Mahogany

Address: 19 avenue de l Amiral Ganteaume | Plage du Bestouan, 13260 Cassis, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range: $169 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Plage Mahogany 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de la Plage Mahogany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahogany Hotel Cassis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing