We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Beautiful View”
Review of Calanques

Calanques
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.98*
and up
Half-Day Small-Group Cassis Tour - Cliff and Calanques from Aix-en-Provence
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Cassis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Highland Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful View”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Not many americans know of Cassis and the Calanques. It is one of the most beautiful spots in France as well as the world. The walk from Marseille to Cassis is only for the very fit. Some nice boat tours of the Calanques from Cassis. I lived in Marseille for a year and miss the many day tyrips to Cassis that we did while living their. A tourist spot for French and British but not many from U S. Worth going out of your way to visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,939
    559
    84
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking !”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place is absolutly fantastic. I was lucky enough to trek there thanks to some french friends of mine and it remain so far my favorite place in France. Every creek and canyon is as beautiful as the next, and if you are still in the area when the sunset over the islands, it's just magical. A place not to be missed if you're in the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Boat Tour of the Calanques”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We took the 1-hour boat tour of the Calanques and it was one of my favorite memories of our trip to Cassis. Although they do start looking very similar, I loved being out on the water and wished we had stayed out longer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank melinyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
333 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“A must do”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

we did the 5 calanques boat tour. definitley a must- do, stunning. I would love to go back and hike it

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Doby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have been 10 times to Cassis and it is always with joy that I found the Calanques...
They have been more and more tourists and the city has tried to reduce that by blocking the access in certain wind conditions...
It is a great place to go after few hours walk, (You'll feel you deserve a swim)
Not ideal for kids/elderly since the walk on the the rocks can be a bit slippery.
My favorite in Envau, try it on google!!. The path is not well signed and require a bit better physical condition, but with a map and some other tourists help, you will find your way!
Make sure you have enough water and enjoy

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Geo009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calanques also viewed

Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Calanques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing