We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, Excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Cesar

Chez Cesar
Ranked #72 of 108 Restaurants in Cassis
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
146 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Their food was excellent! We order the menu for 24 euros each. For starter we had the fish soup which was very nice! For main courses we got one grilled fish with fennel which was excellent and well cooked and the loup dish with the shrimps sauce which was excellent also! We got one bottle of rose wine from Provence for only 16 euros and this wine had gold metal! The service was perfect all time. They even show you your cooked fish and ask you if you want them to open it and take out the bones! In the menu they had a big selection of desserts also! They even have sugar free desserts like the fruit salad and white cheese with cream! If you are in Cassis this place is totally recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JNB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    159
    82
    71
    96
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Soup de Poisson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

It is incomprehensible to me that Chez Cesar does not rank near the top of the restaurants in Cassis. My wife and I have been returning to Chez Cesar each June and September when we vacation in Provence for the most fantastic soup de poisson (Marmit de Fruits de Mer on the Menu) since we first discovered this amazing dish in 1999. We have eaten variations of soup de poisson, including bouillabaisse in Marsailles, and have never found one as good as the Marmit at Chez Cesar. The dish is more than enough for two to share. Once you try it, you will come back for it again and again. And as a bonus, the staff at Chez Cesar has always been friendly and attentive despite the hectic pace of the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dtlaw67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“To be avoided”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The restaurant has a beautiful location on the edge of the port. But the quality of the food and service do not match. The fish, which should have been excellent in view of the location, was poor and was accompanied by very tired sauces. The impression was of a kitchen where everything had pre-prepared and had not improved with the keeping. The mood of the staff did not help and feedback on the main course produced a shrug. Indifferent in every way.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DUN01170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, b.c.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Great meal, great ambiance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We arrived in Cassis late in the afternoon and wanted lunch but were leery of the tourist restaurants around the port. However, we wanted the view so we chose the restaurant that had the most people and lucked out. We had their menu. I must say that the fish soup was one of the best I have had; it was more like a bisque and served properly with house made croutons, roux, and cheese. It was also very large and could easily be shared by two people or serve as a meal for one. The grilled sea bream was excellent and the house made tarte tatin was the perfect ending to a very big lunch. Would definitely return!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Should be higher up the Cassis ranking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Like other chose the 'Fanny' menu for 19.50 euros for either a starter and main or main and pudding. Food was as good as any of the brasserie options and bill for two with a bottle of very nice Corsican sparkling water and two glasses of rose came to 52.10 which is not bad value at all, especially on the Port. Service was speedy and the waiting was attentive. Great location and good food, should be much higher up the list than languishing at 60th in the trip-advisor Cassis ratings. Recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbd119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Cesar also viewed

Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Chez Cesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing