We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cassis honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Demeure Insoupconnee
Ranked #1 of 21 Cassis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cassis honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Natur'Elle et Lui is a beautiful room, immaculately decorated. Julie & Jean-Claude are excellent hosts, responsive and engaging.

We loved the location for its views and sense of isolation but it might not suit those who wish to spend a lot of time in the town; it's a fair walk to the port, so be prepared to designate a driver in bad weather.

Cassis itself is very pretty and characterful, though some of the port-side restaurants are best avoided. The local wine is well worth exploring - distinctive whites, classic Provençal rosés.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewrat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
188
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Nice people, extraordinary rooms, splendid view! Hearty welcome, lots of information how to spend the days, recommendation for restaurants prooved to be reliable. We enjoyed our stay and honestly recommend this little hotel if you like a quiet, friendly place over the bay of Cassis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Dagmar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of five girls who stayed with Julie Kopp in September. We had our own private terrace and two really cool rooms, brand new ones, I think. The view from our terrace and from the breakfast table by the pool was absolutely stunning. We also enjoyed the garden with its diversity and beautiful little arrangements. Can really recommend this place and I hope I can visit them again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel has fantastic views, the rooms have very nice design, is located in a quite place, ideal for relaxation. The owners are very friendly and provide all necessary information for your great entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katalin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent 8 days at La Demeure Insoupconnee in September with our baby daughter, on our first family holiday, and we had a very comfortable and relaxing stay. The rooms and pool are very pretty and clean and beautifully situated, with an incredible view over Cap Canaille. We spent 2 nights in Ivresse des sens and 2 nights in Cap Canaille. The first room is a big suite, the second much smaller, but perfectly ample for the 3 of us, and with a very useful separate kitchen and a lovely big terrace (shared with another room). This is not a hotel, but you might be forgiven for thinking it is. We had a very comfortable stay and enjoyed the delicious breakfasts.

The house is a very steep (seriously!) 15 minute walk back from the village, up a set of steps, so we couldn't use our buggy and had to rely on carrying our baby in a sling. Plan to arrive with food, water, toiletries etc, as this is not a hotel and only the basics are provided. Also, you must pay in cash or arrange a transfer. We had problems paying with an English cheque.

Julie and Jean-Claude were so kind to us throughout our stay, offering recommendations, ferrying us back and forth between the station (we didn't have a car), and even packing a delicious take away breakfast for our very early departure on the final day. Their friendliness made our holiday, although some command of French is essential! They deserve every success.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for three fantastic nights on our honeymoon.
The Room - As a treat we stayed in Natur'Elle et Lui (the room with the bath). The room was spotlessly clean, bright fresh and inviting. It has all the facilities you could wish for including TV, Air con, tea and coffee facilities, free wifi, comfortable beds, and a mood lighting set up with more lights than we have in our whole house! At first we couldn't get the jacuzzi bath to work properly, it wouldnt bubble, but Julie the owner showed us again and it worked on the second attempt, you just have to be patient! There is info in English and French in the room about what to do in the local area. There is a great view of cap Cap Canaille and the vineyards below from the room, which also has a little terrace by the pool.
The pool area is also very clean and quiet and peaceful despite there being a regular turnover of new guests.
Breakfast was served outdoors on the terrace, and was an ample assortment of croissants, bread, cheese, meats, jams, fruit and yoghurt.
Julie was very kind to drive us back to the station at the end of our stay to save us a repeat of our scramble down the hill.
Location: We arrived in Cassis by train and decided to walk to the accommodation from the station, we walk a lot and it wasn't very far, however it is up on a hill and the route we used via an extremely steep gravel travel (via Chemin de Saint Jean) we would not recommend! dragging our heavy suitcases up this was an interesting experience! Luckily on arrival Julie showed us the quick way into town via the back gate. It's still very steep but the view is worth it, the walk to town is about 15 minutes.
Cassis - Cassis is a charming picture postcard town, though still very busy with tourists, school coach parties and so on. We spent a day just wandering around, visiting the market, doing a bit of people watching and shopping. It's not a cheap place though! we did found some good value restaurants in the streets away from the seafront, and a cheaper well stocked supermarket about half a mile out of town. We also visited the Calanques, well worth the walk though choose sensible shoes as it's a bit of a scramble in parts. Most people only seem to get as far as Calanque de Port Pin so if you carry on after that the crowds thin out and you have the place to yourself.

Room Tip: We didnt see any of the other rooms but would certainly recommend Natur'Elle et Lui
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyPashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm not sure I want to write too much about Cassis or La Demeure because the town seems relatively undiscovered by foreign tourists, which is one of the reasons it is so great. (Plan on speaking French.) We stayed for four nights in July but could have easily stayed for a week, Cassis would be a good base to explore the local region but the town, its beaches, restaurants and vineyards are so nice that we never ventured further afield. La Demeure has beautiful views over the vineyards and sea, and its lovely garden, rooms and terrace breakfasts made me feel like I was staying in a boutique hotel. I really can't think of anything I'd add to the experience, other than perhaps having some goggles or snorkels for guests to borrow (or pointing them in direction of the shop that sells them) because the waters are so clear in the Calanques, you will want a pair! The only hitch for foreign tourists is that you have to pay bank fees in both France and your home country when transferring the deposit (they don't take credit cards) which in my case came to about 40 euros - consider using a direct foreign transfer service like OzForex to minimise the cost of the transfer. But La Demeure is worth it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Rade
0.3 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
0.9 mi away
Jardin d'Emile
Jardin d'Emile
#3 of 16 in Cassis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Demeure Insoupconnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Demeure Insoupconnee

Property: La Demeure Insoupconnee
Address: 21 Montee de la Chapelle, 13260 Cassis, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cassis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Because the notion of charm is an individual one, Julie and Jean-Claude are happy to welcome you to their guest rooms in the Demeure Insoupçonnée in Cassis, where wellbeing and refinement go hand in hand, just 10 min walk from the coast. Nestling between the Massif des Calanques and the no-less-famous Cap Canaille, the small fishing port of Cassis enjoys an exceptional natural environment, ideal for walking, rock-climbing and diving enthusiasts. Let yourself fall under the magic of this place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Demeure Insoupconnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing