We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in paradise”
Review of L'Avila Cassis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cassis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Avila Cassis
Ranked #5 of 21 Cassis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A week in paradise”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We just returned from France and spent 7 days at L'Avila. Coco and Humberto were delightful and very helpful. They helped us arrange transportation to return our rental car and to get to the Marseille airport very early. They were always available and gave me tea one day when I was ill, and wine glasses when we were relaxing in the yard. The wifi is fine and their attention to detail for all of their guests is remarkable. The rooms are spacious; our room overlooked the pool and the yard and had a nice terrace with two chairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxgilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
95
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I chose to stay at L'Avila Cassis after seeing the reviews here. I wasn't disappointed one bit. I think I have made the perfect choice.

Location: It is very easy to find with satnav from your car. It is about maybe 10 minutes walk to the village of Cassis. It is located on a hill so going back to L'Avila will be a bit up hill. They have around 5 private parking spots on preminse so it is very convenient and safe.

Room: We stayed in the room MOKA. It doesn't have a balcony but I believe all their rooms have air conditioning. It is a very big room with an open bath room with a separate WC. Beautiful view towards the sea and hill with big floor to ceiling windows. There are also 2 lounge chairs right by the windows so you can enjoy the view. It is absolutely fantastic.

Service: It is a B&B so expect everything from a B&B. The hosts, Corrine and Humberto are fantastic. Corrine attended to us very well and she gave great recommendations to us as to where to eat and what to do. Our primary reason for staying in Cassis is to visit the Calanques and she gave us the exact directions as to where to rent the kayaks. They do not live there so they won't be there in the evenings if you need them. However, there is another gentlemen that looks after the property but I forgot his name. We arrived much later than scheduled and understandably Corrine could not wait for us. This gentlemen showed us to our room and property and was very nice.

Cassis: Of all the towns and villages we have visited on the Cote D'Azur, Cassis is one of our favorite. It is absolutely lovely. We wish we could stay another night or 2 in Cassis.

We will visit Cassis again just for the town, the Calanques and L'Avila. Check out the reviews of the Calanques here on tripadvisor. It gives some good recommendations or how to visit them or ask Corrine!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World_Traveler_Log
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I just came back from a 10 day trip in France, 4 night of which were spent in Cassis at L'Avila and we LOVED it!

The house is in an ideal location, almost at the top of a hill. We stayed in the room called “Orki” that had a large terrace with two lounge chairs. Two out of four nights we picked up food and wine and ate it out there, and everyday we enjoyed the sunset. I would definitely recommend staying in this room, or the one next door, which also has a terrace named “Silvergine”.

The property is well maintained and clean. If you like a more quaint B&B feel, then this is the place for you. We managed to get some time in at the pool everyday. We found the owners friendly and lovely. Humberto is Cuban and Corrine is French, but she's better at Spanish and so are we, so we actually spoke to her in Spanish.

Good things to know:
- Bathtub has a shower head, but it does not hang on the wall. It has an extension
and you can pick it up and wash your body, but when shampooing/conditioning you need to put it down and pick it up again.
- They only offer shampoo and body soap so bring your own conditioner if you need it.
- If you want a boiled egg for breakfast, they are more than happy to make you one, but you need to ask for it.
- The property is situated on top of a hill so there is a lot of incline walking involved.
- It's a short 5-10 minute walk from town/marina
- If you want to explore the calanques by kayak, just ask the owners how to get there and if you visit in prime season be sure to reserve 24 hrs in advance.
- The tap water is fine to drink

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here as a birthday treat - it’s about twice as expensive as most of the other places we stayed on our trip. As others have said, the place is stunning, with large, modern rooms, magnificent views from the top floor terraces and a gorgeous looking pool (too cold to try it out unfortunately).

However, for €200 a night, there a few simple things that could have made our stay even better.
- Ban smoking in the rooms - our room smelled of stale cigarette smoke for our entire stay.
- Install a fitting so guests can take a proper shower - the bathtub was huge but we struggled with the shower hose.
- Install another router so guests can have wifi in the rooms. We knew about this before our arrival, but surely it can’t cost too much to fix this. Good wifi is a given in all of the other B&Bs we stayed in.
- Improve the breakfast by providing fresh juice and fruit - we had these in many cheaper places.
- Less important was that there was a big flat screen TV with about 20 channels, all in French. Given that during our stay, none of the other guests were French, this seemed a bit strange. Also, no credit cards accepted.

We did enjoy our stay, but given the price of the room and other TripAdvisor reviews, I guess we were expecting perfection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiekpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We loved staying at L'Avila Cassis, however, with the great reports on this website I must say our expectations were brought up. Here's what we experienced:

The grounds are perfectly kept and the pool area very peaceful. Corinne and Humberto keep a fridge full of sodas etc near the pool for free taking - very nice. Though the L'Avila is situated to be quiet and private - be sure - the road traffic is audible inside the eastern rooms and the pool area.

Corinne was kind enough to supply me with a boiled egg each morning as i let her know I have a sensitivity to gluten and cannot eat all that I would like of fine french breads. Truly nice of her.

I would not say that Corinne and Humberto are as available as others say - both the day of our arrival and of our departure, they were absent for a large part of the early afternoons. This meant on the first day we could not check in until 5pm and on the departing day, we could not make up the time.

I would not care too much about unavailability if they were around in the evenings to fix the wifi - But No. Most importantly -- the wifi in their building is terrible and this prevented us from getting certain kinds of work done that would make our visit more stress-free and productive.

The home is beautifully decorated and the rooms are huge. What a plus - this could be a great value for someone staying for a long visit (much storage).

However, the bathroom of our room (upstairs, east facing) has notable issues - the tub had a hand-shower piece which was hung low so one had to do a shower seated... however the tub was not wide enough to allow one to turn around w/o getting up. And in this tub - it was hard to get out. Not a good deal.

The bath also lacked sufficient hooks for hanging wet things. There was a heated hanging rack, but this was not very convenient (tight in all ways and not large enough to handle beach and bath towels along with other wet things). The room also needed a full length mirror.

Our room and the entry hallway had only ONE key, so my husband and I had to coordinate our comings and goings, and good for us he could knock on our window from the veranda to alert me that he needed to get in.

What we liked greatly was the chance to use L'Avila as we liked - bought some wine, fruit and cheese and ate it on their western deck at 6pm... brought a tiny wireless music speaker to add ambience - and voila! We also enjoyed Cassis as a whole - so much to be seen by walking out and paddling out to the calanques -- and the walk uphill to L'Avila in the evenings was fine and allowed up to have an extra bit of wine or bread with dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just returned from a short break in Cassis and were so lucky to have stayed at L'Avila, Corrine and Humberto were lovely hosts and provided us with a free taxi service to and from the train station for which we were very grateful. Breakfasts were very good and always served with a cheerful smile. The room was lovely with views over the pool and the sea, and had a very nice balcony. The walk into town took us about 10 minutes but 15 coming back up the hill, still it was a good stroll after dinner. Corrine recommended restaurants to us and our favourite was Le Chaudron.
Cassis was a very pretty place and we hope to return one day and will definitely stay at L'Avila.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJD30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Corrine really knows how to welcome her guests to her beautiful b and b. From the moment we arrived until we left, she was such a gracious host. The room we stayed in far surpassed any hotel room we stayed in during our honeymoon in Spain and France. The double vanity sinks and beautiful view of the sea made it absolutely perfect. Sure, it is a bit of a hike back up the hill but it made us feel less guilty about the yummy treats she served at breakfast. This is a gem in Cassis and we would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOCATS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
0.7 mi away
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
0.7 mi away
Jardin d'Emile
Jardin d'Emile
#3 of 16 in Cassis
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Avila Cassis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Avila Cassis

Property: L'Avila Cassis
Address: 15 avenue Joseph Liautaud, 13260 Cassis, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cassis
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing