We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host and wonderful B&B”
Review of La Bastidaine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Bastidaine
Ranked #2 of 21 Cassis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great host and wonderful B&B”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights at this wonderful B&B. The host Maud was very gracious. She picked me up from the train station and dropped me off while giving a tour of Cassis on the way back. I didn't have a car or any mode of transport however, the 1.5 mile walk to the the town center is a great way to get your daily exercise. In any case I stayed at the cabin which is detached from the main building and provides privacy. There is a kitchen if you feel like cooking one of the days.
Overall I highly recommend staying at La Bastidaine!
Milind

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilindR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    45
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
198
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Clean, comfortable, charming rooms, a scenic, hilly vineyard location, an excellent breakfast, and friendly, helpful hosts. Highly recommended, probably best to take a car/hire a bike to make the most of surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at La Bastidaine while visiting Cassis for a wedding. We received a warm welcome, an incredibly comfortable bed, and breakfast with homemade jams. Maud gave us excellent recommendations on what to see during our short time in the area. We couldn't ask for a more comfortable, relaxed place to stay.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank redradioflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Beautiful location, beautiful accommodation, lovely people and great fresh breakfasts. Not much else I can say. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to visit Cassis.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlasdairGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Maud is a consummate host: she will provide excellent day trip recommendations, make delicious breakfasts, answer all of your questions, and accommodate your requests. The grounds are pretty amazing: picturesque vineyards in the front, a private backyard (section of a small mountain/large hill with enough space to go for a nice run), and a charming outdoor dining section. The room was clean and decent but it served it's purpose. Cassis and southern France is pretty amazing and we would definitely go back in the off season.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooklyn11215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We spent five nights at La Bastidaine in mid September. Our stay was based solely on reviews from Tripadvisor. Maud our host was excellent right from the start. When we arrived, she showed us to our room and then met us upstairs in her home. She was prepared with maps and information for our trip planning. The info we received from Maud caused us to change some of our touring plans which resulted in seeing some unexpected jewels of the Provence area. Maud was very knowledgeable about; area markets, local restaurants, area sightseeing adventures, and transportation.
Breakfasts at the main table were always excellent with Maud changing it up each morning and encouraging conversation among the guests. The group that we met included two Belgians, two German couples, and a Danish couple that we have been in contact with since we returned home.
The rooms vary in size, and I would suggest that you book early to get a larger room. Our room was fairly small in the French tradition. With the weather being spectacular, not much time was spent in the room, so it was not much of an issue.
I would sugggest that if you have a rental car and are planning a connection with the TGV, that you return the car to Avignon TGV station which is simple to get to. We returned our car to the St Charles station in downtown Marseille. This was not a relaxing adventure. The trip in that morning reminded me of any major North American city's gridlock.
So I would also like to thank Maud's son whose expertise, helped us to get our car out of the ditch, in what was a very frustrating moment of our trip.
From all of our travel adventures, I would highly recommend, a visit to Cassis and while there a definite stay at La Bastidaine. For more information email ( davidinbc@gmail.com).

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We went to the Bastidaine in August 2011.
We were welcomed with a glass of wine, many tips, places to eat and a good mood typical of the South.
The place is beautiful, quiet location in the heart of the vineyards, not far from the center.
Maud makes delicious breakfasts, varied and always homemade, delicious!
If you want a relaxing holiday in a magical, do not hesitate and book now!
The only thing we regret is having had to leave ... But we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duchène C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.4 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
530 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
1.3 mi away
Jardin d'Emile
Jardin d'Emile
#3 of 16 in Cassis
280 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel du joli bois
Hotel du joli bois
#7 of 16 in Cassis
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastidaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastidaine

Property: La Bastidaine
Address: 6 Bis Avenue des Albizzi, 13260 Cassis, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cassis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Bastidaine, our home, welcome guest from spring to automn.Four confortable rooms , two large and two other smaller with each private bathroom. Swimming pool and long chairs under pins .Parking for the car and free wifi access. Maud will inform you aabout our village, activities, markets, calanques sports... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Bastidaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing