We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an amazing place to be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La suite Cassis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cassis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La suite Cassis
Ranked #18 of 21 Cassis B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Just an amazing place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is just an amazing place, well located, across from the bay. Well kept. Modern, attention to details, privacy when it is needed. Great breakfast included, if you wish to swim in the ocea just cross the street, if you wish to swim in the swimming pool, you have it at the premises. At night time after dinner, you can have a drink at your place just looking at the bay in front of you. In summary a place to enjoy and relax.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MidnightinParis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

The unattrctive train ride fro Marseilles to Cassis gives no hint of the beauty to come. English speaking owner Herbert kindly transports guests from and to the station. The views over the bay of Cassis from La Suite are breathtaking. The multilevel structure of three luxury suites, owner's home and expansive shared lap pool terrace, sits in beautifully landscaped gardens. each suite has private sun terraces and self catering facilities and Herbert's background as a fashion stylist is everywhere in the creative and eclectic decor of the airy apartments. You can choose to remain within your own independent spaces or use the pool and large terraces, you socialize by choice and this sophisticated host is respectful of a desire for privacy. You can totally self cater or enjoy Herbert's breakfast; we were needing to retreat so chose not to have daily service and instead took the short walk to the village bakery for fresh pastries or baguette each morning, some time after watching the rose-colored sunrise over the bay from bed. We dined on local seafood, good local rosé and tasty french fare in the warm sunshine each day at one of the portside restaurants or ate goats cheese salad from the village supermarket at our suite with the best view in town. Cassis doesn't have the impossible crowds in Dec-Jan and the atmosphere was very relaxed and relaxing. La Suite is near to the beginning of the walk around the calanques and we had a great morning exploring the unique habitats. Mostly we spent our six memorable days revelling in the calm, luxurious comfort and extraordinary views from Herbert's special piece of paradise; the ever changing hues of sea, sky and rock, the small fishing boats in the cool mornings, the lulling sound of the waves on the small pebble beach below La Suite, warm sun on winter skin and cozy nights. Super fast Wifi, TV in French or German or a read of the numerous art books or mags about the local area/decor and design to entertain you. An extraordinary stay in an extraordinary place.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank twofromLonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

The place is a little hard to find but when you walk onto the terrace the view will blow you away.

Stylish accommodation beautiful breakfast on the terrace and the Oh so cool Hubert Hufnagel to look after you.

The harbour is 5 minutes walk and it's everything you could wish for.

Just sit at a table with a beer and watch the boats.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Francophile44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

One again we were able to kick-start the summer season at the Suite Cassis. And once again it was a wonderful stay at this wonderful Chambre d'Hôtes. Herbert is a great host who does everything to make the stay of his guests a great experience. It is as good as it gets. We are looking forward to our next stay at this great place to be.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mihca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

My husband and I just returned from an incredible week in Cassis, France. We stayed at La Suite Cassis, a recently renovated B&B, on the Mediterranean. Owned by designer Herbert Hufnagel, La Suite offers 3 spacious suites that are uniquely decorated with furnishings and works of art collected by Herbert during his travels to India, Africa, Indonesia and other global destinations; the B&B has recently been featured in several European design magazines. While we also appreciated the modern kitchen with its dishwasher and clothes washer, the room's flat-screen TV and WI-FI access, by far the best feature was our large, private stone terrace overlooking Bestouan beach, the Mediterranean, and dramatic Cap Canaille in the distance. Breathtaking.

Bountiful breakfasts including fresh fruit and juice, yogurt, baskets of mini-baguettes, croissants, brioche, sweet butter and jams, eggs, and a pot of coffee or tea, are prepared and served by Herbert on the upstairs terrace beside the lap pool.

Herbert takes exceptional care of the building (he lives upstairs) as he does his guests. Our arrival in France from Toronto was hectic -- we almost missed our connecting flight to Marseilles, got lost on the highway on the way to Cassis, scraped our rental car -- but once at the inn, Herbert graciously took us up to the pool, poured some local rose wine, provided nibbles, and proceeded to fill us in on where to eat and what to see and do and around town.

Cassis offers a charming blend of Provence and the Mediterranean Sea. It is an historic fishing-port village, population 8,000. There's a marina and yacht club at the port, which is a 5-10 minute walk from La Suite. There's also a large beach there. Outdoor cafes and seafood (and other) restaurants line the bustling waterfront. On the winding, narrow, hilly side streets that fan out from the port are more restaurants, clothing stores, gelato shops, and delightful public squares. At the square adjacent to the port you'll find residents playing intense afternoon games of Boules. At another square called Place Baragnon, there's a large public market on Wednesday and Friday mornings where you can stock up on Provencal cheeses, breads, fruits and vegetables, honeys and jams, and also find jewellry and clothes.

If you visit Cassis during the last week of June, as we did, you'll enjoy bands playing music on the port and elsewhere on June 21, which is the France-wide Fete de la Musique. Then on June 24 there's the Fete de la St. Jean -- a short procession by costumed locals through the streets followed by traditional Provencal singing and dancing in one of the squares.

If you walk several minutes past the port you'll come upon vineyards -- there are 12 adjacent to Cassis and they provide the town with it's popular white and rose wines as well as the blackcurrant liqueur that is used in the popular drink Kir. Some vineyards are open for wine tastings and tours. On the other side of town (again a few minutes walk from La Suite) is the entrance to the Calanques. You can hike in and around these beautiful white chalk cliffs and gaze down at the fijords below, or you can take a boat cruise in-and-out of them from the port.(We did both.) You can also hire crafts for sailing, kayaking, sea-canoeing, diving and fishing.

If you want to see Cassis from high up, drive up the winding, circuitous Route des Cretes and stop at various car parks to look down upon Cassis, the Calanques, and the islands of Marseilles.

Eating in Cassis is a pleasure for anyone who loves fresh fish and seafood, but there's also Italian, French, and even Sushi in the village. Olives, baguettes, tapenade, and the drinks Kir and Pastis seem to be ever-present on the tables. As I noted earlier, Herbert recommended several restaurants to us. Two of those became our favourites: Les Garcons, only steps from La Suite, has a prix-fixe menu that changes nightly and includes fabulous fresh food and attentive service; and La Poissennerie on the port is one of Cassis's oldest restaurants and serves an incredible mussels dish called "Moules Poulette."

To sum up, there is a fitting old Provencal motto that translated says: "Those who have seen Paris but not Cassis, have seen nothing."

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pumpkinpatch_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

I have stayed in many hotels and bed and breakfasts in Cassis over the years, and the best of all is without doubt La Suite.
First of all the location is absolutely beautiful ; the house oversees the sea, the calanques are right in front of you...
Then, the decoration is a dream ; modern, sophisticated, and in total balance with the surounding nature. Everything around you makes you feel calm, relaxed. It is the perfect place to enjoy an afternoon in the sun, either around the pool or in your private terrace, right in front of the mediterranien sea.
Then, of course there is the service that La Suite offers! After having breakfast there, you wish you'd have breakfast there for the rest of your life. The owner, Herbert is very kind and does everything to make your holiday the best.

I only described a few aspects of La Suite, but, if I had to describe in one sentence it would be : Amazing place, both in the room and outside, great service, and, class and luxus.
And, let's not forget that waking up with the sound of waves in the morning is priceless!

Thank you, and,for sure, see you very soon!

Kind regards from London

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KateE1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Rade
0.1 mi away
Jardin d'Emile
Jardin d'Emile
#3 of 16 in Cassis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La suite Cassis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La suite Cassis

Property: La suite Cassis
Address: 18 avenue de l Amiral Ganteaume, 13260 Cassis, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cassis
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
La Suite Cassis Hotel Cassis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing