We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Vieille Auberge

La Vieille Auberge
Ranked #18 of 108 Restaurants in Cassis
Price range: $11 - $109
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Paso Robles
Level Contributor
167 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had dinner here because it was recommended by an acquaintance, but our meal was mediocre in comparison to other restaurants you'll find in Cassis. My grilled sea bass was OK, not spectacular. My husband's monkfish in a saffron sauce was overcooked and not memorable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbyPasoRobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    160
    75
    43
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cassis, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great fish good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Fish, view, service, all very good! The waiters were helpful and friendly, the fish was very good, sauce was excellent! Extra v2tries were brought out with the meal, no extra charge.Scenic view!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank FreewheelingBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Attractive, good restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, good traditional Provencal food, cooked with care. Great service and beautiful view.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cassismeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious and plentiful platters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Quite delicious! we happened upon this place and when we went in there were no tables. It looked to pretty and cosy and smelt good we decided to wait a petit 10 minutes for one to free up. We waited outside in the cold but the table was ready quickly. The food was completely delicious. We chose the 24 Euro menu not expecting very much. Both had a fish starter - I chose the mixed seafood salad and it was really yummy with an excellent dressing. We both had the daube (traditional beef stew) for the main dish. For a more fishy based restaurant we really didn't expect much but it was utterly delicious and an enormous helping. The wine was also surpirsingly good. Only fault I could give was the classic "we dont know you" french waiting service. Not unfriendly but strictly practical with no strings attached - no matter, just no real tip. However, in general has a good ambiance with the kind of patron who goes and chats with his regluars during their meal and a local feel. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed, the food was nothing special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This had been recommended to us, but we didn´t find anything to rave about. My fish came cold and rather rubbery, so I wouldn´t recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank linaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vieille Auberge also viewed

Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Vieille Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing