We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Cassis! Delicious!”
Review of Le Bonaparte

Le Bonaparte
Ranked #7 of 114 Restaurants in Cassis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $29
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The freshiest of local fish, very reasonably priced, a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, priced very well and do remember to make a reservation!
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Place in Cassis! Delicious!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This was the best meal I've had in 2 weeks in France - delicious! My wife and I dined here last night. My wife started with the fish soup while I had crevettes and mayonnaise. For mains I had the grilled duck (magret de canard); my wife had sea bass (loup de mer). Everything we ate was beautifully prepared. It was absolutely delicious! Service was great; atmosphere pleasant. It was a lovely evening. We highly recommend this restaurant!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MapleLeafPondHoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    303
    70
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food in Cassis”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

On our short stop in Cassis during a wine tour, we decided to seek out Le Boneparte after reading all of the good reviews and seeing the recommendation from Rick Steves. Let me tell you, the restaurant does not disappoint. We chose the Menu 20 Euros that consisted of a starter, main course and a dessert or cheese. We had the mussels (very delicious), salade aux lardons, the sea bass, steak au poivre, strawberry sorbet and the goat cheese. Every single bite was delicious and we couldn't have asked for a better lunch in Cassis.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherbgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only one cheese”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our visit, on 14 June, was disappointing given the very favourable reviews below. It's a very formulaic place. I chose the cheese course, but it consisted of two small discs of goat's cheese, which I detest. I asked for some different cheese. They didn't have any.

A French restaurant with only one cheese?! They cannot be serious.

The moules mariniere were disappointing, too - a very small amount of not very interesting sauce/juice at the bottom. Go for the moules gratinee instead.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RTheRower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The one and only place to eat in Cassis”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent two days in Cassis and tried three different restaurants: the first one was so bad we sent our food back and left, the second one was only marginally better (i.e. a little bit less bad) but then we discovered "Le Bonaparte". Absolutely charming service, wonderful food - they sure know how to cook their fish and seafood! The whole experience was just as a restaurant visit is supposed to be but what you find less and less in the South of France. "Au Bonaparte" as it is actually called is a restaurant that we cannot recommend highly enough and were will will go back asap.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank platine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic French fishing town top cuisine”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Do not miss the moules gratinee and say yes to whatever is the fresh fish of the day. Ask for the local white wine to pair w fish. Do lot miss the tartin de pomme too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bootdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bonaparte also viewed

Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cassis, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing