We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maison 9 - A smile from heaven”
Review of Maison 9

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cassis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison 9
Ranked #9 of 21 Cassis B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maison 9 - A smile from heaven”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Six nights spent at Maison 9, Cassis, felt like being in paradise, starting from the very first moment. Having travelled around the world, staying at many gorgeous places, Maison 9 was the best I ever experienced and surpassed all expectations!!

The rooms were absolutely charming and spectacular . They were decorated by Cynthia Kayser-Maus, the owner, who is a highly acknowledged interior designer with an outstanding taste for beauty and a perfect sense for details, natural material, forms, interplay of light and soft colours. The rooms were quiet, very comfortably furnished, immaculately clean and spacious. They had a beautiful view to the vinyards and created an atmosphere like living in your private luxurous villa in the Provence, in the true sense of “my home is my castle”!

On a cosy terrace or under old trees in the green landscaped garden, surrounded by stunning mountains and vinyards, delicious breakfast was served with best fresh products from the local market. Alltogether the lady-trio of Cynthia Kayser-Maus, Christel and Manuela were a perfect team providing excellent, warmhearted and attentive service that couldn’t have been more friendly, accomodating and helpful!

A spacious, magnificent swimming pool area with a breathtaking view on the surrounding panorama and the amazing, well-kept garden landscape with many quiet sitting areas invited for pure relaxation and gave me a happy, peaceful mind.

Cassis is a romantic place within walking distance, where I loved to stroll around on the lively market with special products from the Provence, visit good restaurants, go to the beach…but I almost didn’t want to leave Maison 9. Thank you for unforgettable days – I am already looking forward to return soon!

I very highly and wholeheartedly recommend a stay at Maison 9 to anyone seeking an exquisite treat!!! It’s a smile from heaven

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vision011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    4
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
85
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manly, Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Words cannot describe how good Cassis 9 is.
You have obviously read the great reviews. All I can say is "GO"
It is that good. We are from Australia so the large pool was certainly welcome as was the yummy breakfasts. Not only is it within easy walking distance of Cassis, on our return we will be making this home away from home our base to explore Provence.
Since we stayed here, we stayed at the Le Meridien's in both Nice and Monte Carlo. While both these hotels were ok, they were a big let down from Cassis 9.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RESCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I'd rather stay here than in a five star hotel. Impeccable service, each suite is like a villa within the villa. You have your own private terrace, only 6-8 guests at a time, sharing the entire place. Huge swimming pool, no problem getting a sun lounge. Delightful breakfast overlooking the vineyards to the mountain ranges. You feel like you are in the countryside yet it's a 15 minute flat walk into Cassis. Pristine rooms with equally matching pristine finishes. Thank you Christel and Cynthia for such a delightful stay, we will be back.

Room Tip: try room 4 if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simla10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

There are not enough superlatives to describe the beauty of Maison 9. This has clearly been a labor of love on the part of the owner who has created an exquisite, yet relaxed and comfortable, ambiance with attention to the smallest detail. The rooms are tastefully furnished in a muted and soothing palette and the various seating areas around the property are tranquil and charming. The owner and staff, who see to your every need, make you feel like an honored guest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deena_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
134 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Seven nights is starting to seem all too short. We only have 2 to go and are trying to bottle up each and every moment. Maison 9 is perfect in every single way.

The Maison is set within Cassis wine region and a 15 minute flat walk into the centre ville. The building has been beautifully restored with four guest rooms all located in different areas and in fact ends out feeling like one's own villa. The forth duplex room is often left empty at the owners discretion in order to create a more intimate experience therefore generally allowing for a maximum of 6 guests. I admire this philosophy from an owner that is clearly completely in tune with the guest experience and proud of the product - rightfully so too as Maison 9 is utterly faultless.

As each new day dawns there is no noise, just the gentle hum of a bee in the background, the birds, the sky, the grounds, the vineyards and you.

Breakfasts are tasteful and quiet affairs, quality produce and breads, beautiful setting and tableware, graceful attentive service.

The rooms are equipt with a kitchen area for food preparation and we have surprised ourselves and taken advantage of this every day - evening meals of figs, cheeses, cured hams, breads, salad, wine from the local markets and stores have been the perfect low key end to the perfect low key day. With numerous options of where to sit in the grounds there is simply no restaurant that vaguely competes with this incredible setting. This is the ultimate luxury for us. No noise, just pure contentment flowing through the body.

Cassis itself is a stunner. We have walked and walked and it still leaves us breathless with wonderment. The natural beauty is everywhere. Surrounded by cliffs on each side, the waters azure, the rocks and cliffs from reds and golds to pure white vertical from the sea, the beaches small and intimate, the calanques worth more than one day treck if you have time and fitness as they are too beautiful to do once only.

We are at that point of complete saturation - it simply cannot get better than this. Physically happy from good exercise and fresh air, satiated with the glorious food and wine, content with the immaculate surrounds and exquisite attention to detail of the Maison. I'll leave it at that as further words seem redundant.

Thank you Madame Kayser-Maus, Christal, Martine and house and ground staff for making our holiday truly special.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MataiDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The hotel was lovely, the staff wonderful- I only have great things to say about this hotel. It is quaint, the rooms and grounds are beautiful and the surroundings gorgeous. I wish we had spent more than 2 nights there. A great hotel if you want something quiet, relaxing and charming.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 12354NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at Maison 9 in Cassis, Provence France. This is an absolutely beautiful retreat. Only 6 guests at a time with three beautiful spaces. Each room has a small refrigerator, coffee maker and sink. Our villa had a gorgeous bedroom, beautiful bath, great sitting area and only steps from the fabulous outdoor pool and breath taking views. Breakfast every morning was fresh fruit, bread, juice, coffee and eggs made to order. Highly and delightfully recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pm7274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cassis hotels
0.4 mi away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
510 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
352 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#3 of 16 in Cassis
316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jardin d'Emile
Jardin d'Emile
#2 of 16 in Cassis
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison 9

Property: Maison 9
Address: 9 avenue du Docteur Yves Bourdes, 13260 Cassis, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cassis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:1 star — Maison 9 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison°9 is a charming B&B perfectly located in Cassis. We offer 4 suites including one duplex with all the facilities you will need. Maison°9 makes time stop due to its rustic and provencal decoration and its surroundings breathtaking landscape. Maison°9 is at a 10 minutes walk from the Mediterranean Sea and the well-known port of Cassis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison 9 Hotel Cassis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing