We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bandol and Riviera Wine Tours

Bandol and Riviera Wine Tours
Ranked #1 of 2 Food & Drink in Bandol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From the very best Rose wines in the world to fabulous Red wines using the exclusive Mourvedre grape, and some bright refreshing White wines, the vineyards of the AOC Bandol have so much to offer both the newcomer to the world of wine and the serious connoisseur. We will be delighted to show you these and our particular part of Paradise here in the South of France with Bandol Wine Tours, picking you up straight from your Hotel or your Cruise ship. Riviera Wine Tours offer the same with the AOC Provence around the glamorous St Tropez, and the grand AOC of Bellet near Nice. We also offer guided tours of the entire region, showing the lovely and stylish Monaco, Antibes and Cannes etc to your order.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We contacted Richard for a tour of local wineries during our day in port in Provence. We couldn't have had a better guide or a more enjoyable day. The wineries ranged from very small and authentic to larger and more modern. The wines were excellent -- needless to say the rose was the star but the whites and reds were also impressive. Richard's knowledge of the area and its wines and warm relationships with the winemakers ensured that we were very well taken care of at every stop. Add a delicious lunch at a restaurant with an unmatched view and you have the makings of the perfect day onshore -- private, personal and perfect for anyone who loves wine and the south of France. Wish we could do it all over again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lesleeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bandol Wine Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Our Wine tour was fantastic! Richard opened our minds and hearts to the beauty and magic of Bandol. The picnic was delicious, overlooking the region and right next to the vines. The tour can be designed in many ways but this one was made special by Richards wonderful personality, humor and great knowledge of wine and Bandol.

Best Regards and Thank You!

Frank & Cheri

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank renfro123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Excellent group tours by Bandol Wine Tours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I can say nothing but great things about Bandol Wine Tours! The State Bar of Texas takes an international trip each year and Nice, France was the destination this year. My husband and I hosted the trip and we chose Bandol Wine Tours to our organize tours over a 4 day period for a group of 70 people. We could not have been happier with the outcome and hard work that was put into the tours from owners Richard and Karine. Their prices were very reasonable, the tours were on time and organized and Richard was great in communicating as I was setting up the tours from Texas.

The tours included a Nice city tour, tour of Eze/Monaco, tour of Antibes/Cannes/St.Paul-de-Vence and then a half day visit of two Chateaus. The tour buses Bandol used were clean and comfortable, the guides were knowledgeable of all areas we visited and the locations selected were beautiful. The full day tours included a delicious 3 course lunch in a scenic setting in Monaco and the next day Cannes. The Chateau tour included two chateaus, each with their own unique setting in the French countryside, and a generous sampling of wines at each. The tours were relaxed where we had plenty of time to explore each town on our own, but also very organized and on time. Bandol Wine Tours made the trip a success for our group and we greatly appreciate Richard and Karine's efforts!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rmegan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“To understand what makes Bandol you need expert advise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Bandol is a very special and unique wine region with quirky characteristics unlike any other and we where fortunate to have Richard de Vahl Rubin [an Englisman in France] of Bandol Wine Tours as our guide. Richard has an unassuming casual style about him, but he has spent years studying the Bandol appellation. We visited 3 very different vineyards and in 2, of these, spoke with the owners about their craft for making wonderful Rose and Red wine from the mercurial Mourvedre grape and keeping within the AOC requirements. We sampled some stunning wines and nothing was off limit. Clearly Richard is well liked and appreciated by the Bandol wine community he serves.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent day out, wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Richard and his Bandolaise wife have been living in Toulon for 2 years and started up Bandol Wine Tours in early 2013. They offer day long and half day tours at reasonable prices; day long tours including what looked to be an amazing lunch in a wonderful setting. As we were only in Toulon for a short time we opted for the half day tour, which lasts around 3.5 hours, taking in visits and tastings at two domaines. After a friendly greeting we set off, and he began to give us an introduction to the Bandol region and its wines.

Our first stop was at Domaine Bunan, one of largest Bandol producers. Domaine Bunan was started by two brothers Paul and Pierre Bunan who had to evacuate Algeria as the "pieds noir" when Algeria was given independence. At the tender age of 15 they arrived in Bandol and started up the vineyards producing Chateau de la Rouviere and Moulin des Costes (one for each brother) - quite an achievement. They have around 5000 vines per hectare, producing one bottle of wine per vine.

After a look around the winery (and a taste of some of the delicious freshly pressed grape juice) we got to the tasting. Bunan's wines are all organic and have won dozens of medals and awards. We tasted the red, white and rosé from both vineyard sites, the Chateau de la Rouviere just edging it for us in terms of our preferred style and flavour.

Our second visit of the afternoon was to Domaine de Terrebrune which is located at the east-most point of the Bandol appellation. Similarly to Bunan they age their wines for eighteen months in oak barrels, and they then spend a minimum of two years in bottle. Owner Reynald Delille also keeps his own hoard of wine in the cellar - and it really is a huge stash, with wall upon wall of bottles dating back to the 1970's.

Following a tour of the winery and a look at Reynald's private stash we got to the tasting. The reds were some great examples of how good wine from Bandol can be, and the three vintages we tried gave us a good demonstration of how age can affect the taste of these wines.

We can highly recommend Bandol wine tours, Richard is a entertaining and knowledgeable host who knows the best places to go in Bandol.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank twinkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandol and Riviera Wine Tours also viewed

Bandol, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Bandol, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Bandol, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Bandol, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Bandol and Riviera Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing