We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Ardoise

L'Ardoise
Ranked #5 of 102 Restaurants in Bandol
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxford
Level Contributor
232 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our best meal in Bandol, which is a place the restored our faith in French restaurants. We had no disappointing meals in the town but the set meal here was exquisite: the dishes were beautiful and excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank OxfordCorben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    111
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
138 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A favourite in Bandol”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice and informal bistro serving excellent French food.
My starter, a slice Foie Gras was as nice as expected.
Main was a delicious duck in filo pastry.
Dessert was red berries with ice cream, simple and fresh.
Overall high standard with a good price. The service was very friendly but when we arrived we had to wait 5 minutes until we where server.
L'Ardoise has a nice ambience with a relaxing high end feeling (and very comfortable chairs).
This is one of our favourites in Bandol.
Booking in advance is essential.

CKscore
Food (1-20): 15
Service (1-5): 3

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christer_KitchenChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were staying in Bandol for a week and tiring of seafood ( although excellent) and nautically themed restaurants. While walking along a backstreet behind the main beach road, we discovered L'Ardoise. It was lunch and it was packed except for one table which we eagerly took after reading the daily menu published outside. Once inside, we knew why! A local clientele dining on well prepared and presented food. It was more than we expected and an excellent value for the price point. The rose wine from Bandol, of course, is an added plus. Service was attentive without being overbearing and very friendly. If you are in the area, take advantage of this excellent small restaurant. You will not be disappointed for sure!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
825 reviews
499 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,126 helpful votes
“best of three restaurants in that row”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

ardoise is within doors of Chez Swan and of Esperance. on their showing this year, Ardoise was the winner and Esperance much lower after losing its zip factor. i had seared tuna, duck in filo pastry and a nice fruit salad. though the restaurant has changed hands since last year, standards certainly maintained

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Menu du Midi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had the set Menu du Midi here and were very surprised with the excellent standard. You would really struggle to have a poor meal in France and the set lunch time menus of 10 to 15 euros are always very good value for money but the L'Ardois offered a little more than usual. Two courses plus a glass of wine each. For E14.90 - plat du jour was pork loin 'en croute' with creamy risotto, beautifully cooked and presented. The wine was a glass of rosé (red and white also offered) - but not the normal vin de pays but a delicious aOC Bandol from Domain Ray Jane. There was a choice of 2 desserts to follow. An excellent little find in the back streets of Bandol!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckhmold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ardoise also viewed

Bandol, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Bandol, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Bandol, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Bandol, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to L'Ardoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing