We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming Gite in Bucolic Provencal Setting”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Fontvieille, Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
kec48
Marlboro, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Gite in Bucolic Provencal Setting”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Charming and comfortable rural gite, part of a former shepherd's agricultural compound (i.e. Lou Pastre), in a delightfully bucolic setting of sheep-filled meadows and olive groves and white limestone hills of the Alpilles. Excellent setting for those wishing to relax and get away from urban stress, but also a centrally located anchor for avid travelers. Day trips are very feasible for visiting ancient Roman, medieval Christian, and traditional Provencal sites of Arles, Nimes, Avignon, the Camargue, the Baux, Montpellier, Aix, and many picturesque villages of Provence and Languedoc. The gite's handsome interior is constructed of white-hued limestone blocks and offers a lovely fireplace, attractive Provencal furnishings, comfortable beds, modern bathroom, and up-to-date kitchen -- for those who wish to go to the local outdoor markets and local village shops to seek local products and prepare their own Provencal meals. The host Laurent speaks English very well and has traveled extensively, and therefore has a keen sense of how to warmly welcome guests and help them navigate local sites and discover interesting restaurants. Very highly recommended for those who wish to appreciate first-hand la Provence intime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the Provencal cachet of the entire property, inside and out.
Liked least: a bit tricky to navigate the country roads
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocbutto...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Attractive rural base for visiting western Provence”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Attractive, typically French, spacious accommodation (very comfortable bed!) in a peaceful rural setting. Great base for visiting lots of local towns and cities and also all the Roman sites in western Provence. Host pleasant and helpful. Would definitely recommend. (We’ll return!)

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful - lovely hosts, great gite and an ideal location”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

I stayed here for a week towards the end of August with my three teenage girls and we were all absolutely delighted with the property. Laurent, Pierre and Elisabeth are very nice hosts who were helpful but not intrusive and have obviously taken great care to make the gite welcoming and comfortable. I couldn't fault it. As well as being lovely inside, with a well-equipped kitchen, spacious bedrooms, lounge and shower, and everything you could need really, it has a beautiful surrounding garden with fig, olive and pomegranate trees, rosemary and lavender bushes and plenty of tables and chairs for outside dining.

A 5/10-minute drive from Fontvieille, with a market on Monday and Friday mornings, it made an ideal base for exploring the surrounding area: St Remy de Provence, Les Baux de Provence, Avignon, Arles (where there is a E. Leclerc hypermarket, athough there is also a small Spar and an Intermarche in Fontvieille itself), Les Saintes Maries de la Mer and Le Pont du Gard, where you can swim in the not-too-deep river (right bank) in sight of the splendid bridge itself, were all within easy/reasonable driving distance.

I could say lots more about how much we loved our week and how we would have liked to stay longer to soak up more of the peaceful atmosphere of the gite and savour the delights of beautiful Provence, but we will definitely come back if we are in the area again. There is so much more to discover and enjoy .....

A big thank you to our lovely hosts for providing such a wonderful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness, setting and location of the property. The attention to detail of the hosts. Everything really.
Liked least: We found nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plauline
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“superb garden, well equipped house, lovely environment”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a very pleasant stay of two weeks in the lou pastre gite with our two children of 1 and 3 years old. Especially the large garden (to crawl around and play soccer), the kitchen with all equipment for serious cooking and the big amount of books/information for tourists, were our favorite. All details are taking care of in the house, so it really feels like home. Don't forget to visit the bakery and butchery in Paradou, very good quality (2 km from gite). Bring a bike to explore the wonderful surroundings (cycling map available in the gite), and above all: just relax and enjoy the sound of the cigale and the wind...

Traveling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
Thank you, Pauline, for your kind comments. We all hope to see you again, sometime, with your lovely family.
Pierre
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David I
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming gite in a beautiful setting - an excellent stay”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We received a very warm welcome from Pierre and his family and really enjoyed our stay here. The two bedrooms are spacious and easily accommodated our family of four. The girls loved playing in the garden - indeed this is a lovely feature of the gite, which is located next to an olive grove in beautiful countryside. The gite is very well maintained and although it is part of an authentic Provençal farmhouse, the shower and kitchen are modern and well equipped. The gites is conveniently located near two local villages with a great array of restaurants. Our girls enjoyed the local pony club. Thank you Pierre and Laurent - we had a lovely time!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva H
New York
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Perfect location and lovely house and grounds!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We just loved this property. Although we were just two people the house could easily accommodate a family or two couples. The two bedrooms are large with plenty of storage and comfortable beds. The kitchen and dining area are well equipped for cooking meals and there is plenty of outdoor dining space. The bathroom is roomy with a large shower that had great water pressure and plenty of hot water. The grounds and views from the property are lush and tranquil. We enjoyed wine and our market purchases every evening on the lounge chairs listening to the birds. We were sorry we didn't book two weeks. The photos and description on TA are accurate so don't hesitate to book Lou Pastre. We would definitely come back if we return to Provence.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything...location, comfort, grounds
Liked least: Nothing even slightly negative to say.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Reviewed May 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing