We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only use for stopover.”
Review of Campanile Saintes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Saintes
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Saintes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

If you pay £40 a night for 2 b&b don't expect too much. No surprises here. Location very close to autoroute so need to drive into Saintes. That said not much there so dined in hotel. Food ok and wine not expensive so did job after long driving day. Ok for stopover but should have stayed in La Rochelle.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILIPPE M, Gérant at Campanile Saintes, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for giving us feedback regarding your stay. Being in a process of constant improvement, our customers are welcome. Your remarks have attracted my attention.

Waiting to see you again

sincerely
¨
Director Philippe M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Campanile Saintes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 303 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We drove from Spain to the UK and back this month. Our first stop was at the Campanile Hotel in Saintes. Easy to find from motorway, quiet and comfortable room, enjoyable dinner. Next stop the same hotel but in Calais. Again quiet and comfortable room, excellent dinner. On our return we stopped at the Campanile in Poitiers south (there is one in north Poitiers also. Excellent. The first 2 were booked through Booking.com cost 44 euros a room. On our return we did not book, it cost 75 euros a room. It therefore pays to plan your journey and pre-book your hotels on line.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILIPPE M, Gérant at Campanile Saintes, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014
Google Translation

Cher client,

Je vous remercie de nous avoir fait un retour concernant votre séjour. Etant dans une démarche d'amélioration constante, les avis de nos clients sont les bienvenus. Vos remarques ont attiré toute mon attention.

Dans l'attente de vous revoir

Bien cordialement
¨
Philippe M. Directeur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

All the Campaniles are of the same basis standard, but little things like the friendliness of the staff go to make a difference.
The staff here were very friendly. The rooms were clean and had TWO chairs. The shower was hot and powerful. The meal was good, with an amuse bouche to begin with and bread rolls as little extras. When asked it I could have a little more parmesan with my pasta, I was brought another small dish - served with a smile.
Well done staff - keep up your high standards.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We've stayed in Campaniles on many occasions and this one rates among the best. Easy to locate, warm welcome at reception, parking close to room, which was clean with ample storage for a short stay. All the usual - welcome tray, kettle and television and toiletries. Not luxurious, but comfortable and we slept well. We ate in the restaurant: had buffet duo: savoury and sweet. All fresh, nicely presented including labellling and very tasty. Several desserts in mini portions which meant we managed several! Waitress cheerful and pleasant. Breakfast had a good range as well.
Altogether very glad we chose to stay there and would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Booked this place because of the air condition only to find it has been turned off for the winter, when complained we were told we could only have the heating on. It is 30c outside at the moment. Have used campanile a few times before but will not be using them again. Restaurant over priced but they always are so try to go into the town.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loraine98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Used this as an overnight stop on a return trip from Madrid to the UK. It's aCampanile, good value, clean (well one beetle / cockroach thingy in the bathroom) and a nice airconditioned room with TV / kettle / etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

It´s situation in Saintes was certainly not attractive but if you´re not concerned being in a retail park, it´s OK. Our room was small and adequate but it´s situation on the second level made our departure difficult. We were attending a wedding and as there was no secure garage parking we thought it safer to remove valuables and clothing which meant the necessity of various trips up the narrow, circular staircase which was inconvenient during the day but hazardous the following morning with only dim security lighting.

We used the hotel restaurant and whilst the staff were pleasant & friendly, the food choice was limited and catered for buffet style eating. On the a la carte menú there was suposedly 3 choices of steak but only 2 available, as transpired when we ordered the fillet steak and only the rump steak was available. We were recommended the wine which was fine but very overpriced as the total cost of two steak meals and a bottle of wine came to 69.20 euros.

All in all, with drinks, the meal & the overnight stay a total cost of 167.12 I think is overpriced for the quality and unfortunately I would not, based on the stay, seek out another Campanile.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty in stairs, request a lower level room. The stairs are narrow, curved and poor...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saintes hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Saintes
Ibis Saintes
#6 of 19 in Saintes
394 reviews
0.0 mi away
P'tit Dej-Hotel Saintes Recouvrance
0.1 mi away
Inter-Hotel O'Nice
Inter-Hotel O'Nice
#3 of 19 in Saintes
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel balladins Saintes
Hotel balladins Saintes
#18 of 19 in Saintes
112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kyriad Saintes
Kyriad Saintes
#15 of 19 in Saintes
121 reviews
1.3 mi away
Citotel des Messageries
Citotel des Messageries
#1 of 19 in Saintes
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Saintes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Saintes

Address: 1 boulevard de Recouvrance, 17100 Saintes, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Saintes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Saintes
Price Range: $47 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Saintes 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Campanile Saintes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing