We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment, expected much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Porte Rouge - The Red Door Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Saintes B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a disappointment, expected much better”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very disappointing. When we finally found the place (very difficult) we were rather taken aback by the front entrance - a red door with an expletive carved onto it. Inside, the hallway was dark, gloomy and strewed with bags and clutter. My husband peered into the small garden which apparently you can 'sit and relax amongst the herbs' but all he could see were weeds. Did not bother to see the rooms, or unload our bags - decided to go elsewhere. Owner seemed friendly though and she may be an excellent cook but as the standards of the entrance hall was so poor I started to worry about the kitchen.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 60stravellers1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We spent two nights at La Porte Rouge at the end of June.Great welcome from our hosts Monique and Jim with the added benefit of perfect english from both. Our fault, I know but always grateful when I don't have to use my schoolboy french! Beautiful old house right in the old city centre but very quiet.No parking true, but Monique puts her card on your windscreen when parked outside the front door and as long as you move by 09.00hrs no problem. Nevertheless there is good free street parking after 17.30hrs and until 10.30hrs. less than 3 minutes away beside the cathedral.

Beatiful rooms elegantly but simply decorated keeping the Charente style, with absolutely bang up to date showers etc. Excelent bed linen and very comfortable beds.We saw the room that 52lapis did not like, again this was beautiful and if the glass screen is not your thing O.K. I've seen the same in a number of 'design hotels' elsewhere.You are welcome to eat with the family in the evening. Wonderful cooking from Monique and a bargain. The great conversation is free!
We would thouroughly recomend 'La Porte Rouge' there is a great warmth about the place.
T and T Reading U.K.

Room Tip: There are only four? at present ask to see all the free ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerraMaestricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Although the photos show a gorgeous room...(and it was very well decorated and renovated) the photos dont show that there was clutter strewn up the stairs, no parking and no way of locking the door to your room and also in the room that we had, there was no bathroom/toilet wall or door..just a glass screen with gaps all around it so if you like sitting on the toilet with virtually no privacy this is the place for you. No tv or coffee making facilities in the room and breakfast/polite chit chat had to be shared with another couple on the only table.

Disappointing and overpriced...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helene t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

If you like shiny, plastic wipe-clean hotels, or places with room service and a receptionist, obviously it isn't for you! But I think it's kind of fantastic at what it does - atmosphere, charm, the feeling like when you wake up you could be in the 17th century. It's a family home and it feels like one - pet bird in the hall, the smell of supper cooking, books on every surface. Monique and Jimmy, who own it, fill the house with beautiful things (they're both history lovers, and she trained as artist), and they're amusing, friendly company (though maybe a little more quiet than the average b&b owners), and he's American so they both speak perfect English. It's right in the pedestrianized centre of Saintes - sound of church bells, 3 minutes from most restaurants etc. Other people have said in their reviews that, for the price, all the rooms should be en suite (one isn't), which I agree with, but actually they mentioned to me and my friend that they're planning to put another bathroom in this year so I guess that won't be a problem in the future. Overall I think it's a really special place, one you won't forget.

Room Tip: Double-check you have your own bathroom when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nso2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

My sister and I just spent one night at La Porte Rouge and wished we had a week or more! We loved our sunny room after a day lugging our packs around Saintes' many interesting sites. The sun streamed in through the windows in our pristine and beautifully made up room with original artworks. This b and b is in an original and historical French family home of some hundreds of years old with antique furniture and interesting objet d'art and wonderful library. The family is also very welcoming and very knowledgeable about French cooking, history and culture and you can pay euro 25 or so for a wonderful home cooked french dinner with wine if you book one day in advance (at the time of writing). Which is great value!! The breakfast was lovely in a beautiful dining room - home made jams, great coffee and breads! And there was the wonderful herb garden. And in a great location in the old part of the city. All in all a total delight for us! Loved our stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annalovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

A hidden gem, ideal for overnight stays en route through France or as a base to explore this region.
The American/French hosts James and Monique, are charming and welcoming to their 16th Centrury home which is still being restored. The house is located in the pedestrian area of Saintes and is quite difficult to find with Satnav, so ask for directions. All the rooms are different and have been thoughtfully and artistically restored. The bed, pillows and pillows were all excellent. Our room overlooked the walled and ancient garden, where breakfast is served in summer. It was blissfully quiet. The wetroom shower was excellent. The wc. was like being in church as it has a stained glass door.! Lighting is good for bedtime reading. House has interesting history. Parking is nearby in the open square, or in a locked up garage some distance from the house, so bags have to be unloaded first at the house. Breakfast included deliciious home preserves. A lovely change from stereotypical hotel accommodation, if a little pricey.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeannieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saintes hotels
0.1 mi away
Citotel des Messageries
Citotel des Messageries
#1 of 19 in Saintes
311 reviews
1.4 mi away
Relais du Bois Saint Georges
0.4 mi away
Les chambres de l'Abbaye aux Dames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel O'Nice
Inter-Hotel O'Nice
#3 of 19 in Saintes
157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Souvenirs de Familles
Souvenirs de Familles
#5 of 19 in Saintes
69 reviews
5.6 mi away
Domaine des Chais de Thenac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Porte Rouge - The Red Door Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Porte Rouge - The Red Door Inn

Property: La Porte Rouge - The Red Door Inn
Address: 15 rue des Jacobins, 17100 Saintes, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Saintes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saintes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcome in a quiet town house from the sixteen century renovated with love and care, keeping the charm of the past with a contemporary twist. Aromatic herb garden with cathedral view is the setting for breakfast weather permitting. Salon library with over 500 cookbooks to inspire our table. we are situated on a pedestrian street two steps away from the farmers market, possible guided tour. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your La Porte Rouge - The Red Door Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing