We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not this one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Niort Marais Poitevin
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Niort
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have stayed at Mercure hotels before and always found them very pleasant and welcoming but the rooms in this hotel did nothing for me. We had dinner in the restaurant as it was a sunday night and thought all the restaurant in town would be closed so eat there and would of been better off not having anything.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P2SBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne-Marie C, Directeur général at Mercure Niort Marais Poitevin, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We thank you for having taken time to express your opinion on our establishment on Tripadvisor. Know that your remarks and suggestions are very important and help us to improve the quality of our services.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our establishment,

Best regards,

Anne-Marie CLAVREUL,
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 429 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

The good things about the hotel is that is has good parking, is close to the centre of Niort and was relatively easy to find. Rooms are spacious and clean. I reckon it's geared for business users, Monday to Friday 9 - 5 and for conferences. We arrived on a Saturday evening to find the restaurant closed, despite what it said on the web site. A very polite staff member told us that if we had checked directly with the hotel we would have been told that the restaurant did not open on Saturdays until after 1 June. This was said with a straight face as we read a notice in French on top of the reception desk that told us that the restaurant would be open on Saturdays after "Paques" - i.e. Easter! So on a chilly and damp night after a long drive we walked into Niort and ate there. We might as well have stayed at a B & B. We are used to restaurants in France not opening on Sunday nights, but this was a new one on us, especially at such a well known hotel chain.

Room Tip: Try for a room that is not near a lift and above the 1st floor. We experienced noise in the early ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarB524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne-Marie C, Directeur général at Mercure Niort Marais Poitevin, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Margaret,
We thank you for having taken time to express your opinion on our establishment on Tripadvisor. Know that your remarks and suggestions are very important and help us to improve the quality of our services.

Concerning the problem of opening of the restaurant on Saturdays evenings, know that we are really sorry for this inconvenience.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our establishment,

Best regards,

Anne-Marie CLAVREUL,
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in July 2013. The hotel was centrally located, yet at the same time incredibly peaceful. The room was comfortable and clean, bed was great, the pool was wonderful and the staff was courteous and helpful. Would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nordick12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We didn't explore the town of Niort but arrived at the Hotel mid afternoon. So good we stayed put.
Sauna to relax in, fitness Centre if you are so inclined. (Outdoor Pool) Pleasant garden to sit & enjoy a glass.
Gorgeous room. Excellent restaurant. All the staff were extremely pleasant.

Room Tip: Junior Suite, spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reprendre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for a second time after a six year gap. It is well placed with good parking, and is generally comfortable, including the beds - most important. Good breakfast.

But service is poor. Soon after arrival we asked at reception for a few more hangers, but it took a second request a couple of hours later before we got them.

There is a kettle etc in the room, but single sachets of teas, coffees etc so if a couple each wanted an ordinary cup of tea, you were unlucky. When we wanted another drink later, only two cardboard cups had been provided so we had to re-use them. This is taking cost control too far, particularly for a hotel that is not at the budget end of the market.

Finally finished meal trays left outside rooms in the evening were still there in the morning, even after the rooms had been serviced. Very unattractive, a bit smelly and unnecessary.

This is basically a good hotel let down by poor attention to detail.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nolabola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nicely situated close to the city centre. Would be nice if all access points to the premises would be unlocked!
In mid June on a nice sunday the pool was closed. The breakfast buffet was poorly maintained and my superior room looked like a standard room. No reaction on complaint although i am an a--member and booked via the accor site

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PotvisNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Mercure Hotel in Niort lives up to what You will expect from a four star hotel. Nice, clean, good restaurant and helpful personal. All thou it is situated in the center of the city, it is a quiet stay. I will recommend this hotel for others!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 111,261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niort hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De La Breche
2.0 mi away
Qualys Hotel Lagrange
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Niort Centre Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kyriad Niort
Kyriad Niort
#3 of 20 in Niort
192 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Solana Inter Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Particulier La Chamoiserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Niort Marais Poitevin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Niort Marais Poitevin

Address: 27 rue de la Terraudiere | 80 bis avenue de Paris, 79000, Niort, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Deux-Sevres > Niort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Niort
Price Range: $73 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Niort Marais Poitevin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Niort Marais Poitevin, in the centre of town and close to the historic quarter, welcomes you in the shade of large trees in its garden. Offers quiet, spacious and comfortable rooms with their own bathroom, WC, flatscreen TV with international channels, broadband Internet and minibar. Our La Veranda du Dauzac restaurant with its refined, contemporary decor, will enlighten you with an inventive and flavoursome cuisine in tune with the seasons. Shady terrace, pool and secure private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Niort Marais Poitevin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing