We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison des Tournesols
Ranked #10 of 16 Niort B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming place”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great little B&B were I stayed 1 night with 2 other friends. Confortable and clean. Very nice and helpful owners. Gret breakfast in the garden , in the sun with delicious homemade jams. A charming place next to the marais poitevins, and on our way to Royan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathilde236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Finally! a lovely place we can stay whilst visiting our sister in laws family! we have been trying to find a reasonably priced, clean and fairly modern home from home for some time now, and this is now firmly on our map. Chris and Jill were lovely hosts, we took over all of the B&B rooms for a couple of nights, and had a ball.

Lovely evening meal on the first night, happy to store some small fridge bits (not too much though! its a B&B! unless you have the gite of course). Breakfasts were plenty and filling and lovely typically French.

Bedrooms clean and each one with an en-suite and fairly modern. The swimming pool was lovely and very clean.

Nice area - you can hear a pin drop at night. You will need a sat nav to find it though if coming from La Rochelle or from Nantes as we did. Enjoy. You wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: The double room at the front of the house is lovely and the family room is a great size - it slept f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foreverfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 days, during early July at La Maison des Tournesols. The accommodation was fantastic, our upstairs room, facing onto the pool was bright, airy and very clean. lovely to come back too after the scorching heat of the day. Temps were touching 40 C for our entire stay. We had a lovely breakfast each morning, under the gazebo to the rear of the property, Authentic French breakfast, everything you could wish for. We also had dinner with Chris and Gill on 3 of the 5 nights we stayed. Simple, well cooked, English fare. What wonderful and charming hosts they both were. Their knowledge and insight of the region adding enormously to the enjoyment of our holiday. Vallans is a small community, very peaceful and quiet, about 35 miles from La Rochelle. We were sorry when the time came to move on. We would highly recommend La Maison des Tournesols to others and would definitely return ourselves in the future. Once again, our thanks to Chris and Gill for their outstanding hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have just spent 10 days at La Maison des Tournasols. We stayed in the small gite which was ample size for the 2 of us. We were the only people staying at the time so it was very peaceful and quiet.
Location was central to go to all areas of interest but it was so nice we spent a lot of the time resting at the gite. There are not many restaurants in the near vicinity but that did not cause us a problem. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a totally restful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyandrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

A very relaxing and enjoyable family holiday last week at La Maison Des Tournesols. We stayed in the family gite (Fleurs de Soleil), which was very well equipped with everything that we requred for our holiday. The swimming pool was exceptionally well maintained by the owners and was used frequently during our stay. The pool and poolside was secure, spacious and clean and made it ideal for our two children and ourselves to enjoy.
The family gite offers a courtyard area to the rear complete with 'brick' BBQ, we used this in the evenings throughout our stay.
The location (Les Touches) is ideal for trips to La Rochelle, Royan, Saintes and Cognac (to name a few) - all of which are well worth a visit.
The owners, Chris and Gill, are both extremely welcoming and have a good knowledge of the local and wider area.
We would highly recommend La Maison Des Tournesols to others and would not hesitate to return ourselves in the future.
Our thanks again to Chris and Gill Eady.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have just returned from our holiday having spent two weeks in the family Gite. Everything it promised and more! The accommodation was fantastic, clean, views beautiful and everything we needed and a lovely private walled courtyard at the back for BBQ's and relaxing night drinks! Chris and Gill the owners are so wonderful making the holiday relaxing and friendly. The pool was clean and checked during the day with ample seating around it for all guests. We ate with them on 3 occasions and what a wonderful experience! The food and company were superb and Chris knows how to seat guests so that no matter what language you speak( and one night there were 19 of us!!) you are all comfortable. We would definitely highly recommend this holiday to anyone with a family or wanting overnight stays in the B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maureen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here twice now, and we found both times thoroughly enjoyable. The first time we stayed (last June) we had self catering accommodation. However on the third night we decided to sample the owner's home cooking... and we didn't look back. I don't think we cooked another meal for ourselves after that, as we ate in the main house every night!
We returned for a long weekend this Easter, and this time we decided to stay Bed & Breakfast. The owners make great hosts and we'll definitely be coming back again at some point.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niort hotels
2.4 mi away
Qualys Hotel Lagrange
2.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Niort Marais Poitevin
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Moulin
Hotel du Moulin
#2 of 20 in Niort
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Particulier La Chamoiserie
0.5 mi away
Mercure Niort Marais Poitevin
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De La Breche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison des Tournesols? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison des Tournesols

Property: La Maison des Tournesols
Address: 25 Rue de L'Huilerie | Vallans, 79270, Niort, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Deux-Sevres > Niort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Niort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison des Tournesols offers bed and breakfast and Gite accommodation in the beautiful Poitou-Charentes region of central western France. It is situated in the relaxed hamlet of Les Touches on the edge of Marais-Poitevin, also known as Green Venice. With its tranquil waterways, this area of outstanding natural beauty is ideal for walkers and cyclists. Historic La Rochelle and the sandy beaches of the Ile de Re are also close by. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing