We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small Zoo!”

Zoo des Sables d'Olonne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature lovers, the Sables d'Olonne zoo is expecting you within walking distance from the ocean! Wild flora and fauna have found here their island dedicated to biodiversity research and conservation. Alongside 100-year old trees and lush vegetation, 350 rare animals inhabit this oasis: Atlas lions, Kordofan giraffes, Amur leopards, monkeys, maned wolves, red pandas, giant anteaters, armadillos and other birds will have you discover a fascinating world.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great small Zoo!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The relatively compact scale make this zoo a 'must do' for young families. It's become a staple on our trips to the region. With friendly staff and decent rates (don't forget to buy some popcorn for the ducks!) the zoo provides a wide range of animals in natural, shady enclosures. Ideal for a sunny day to get away from the beach and the promenade, and follow up your couple of hours exploration with a cold drink and a snack at the zoo cafe. Definitely recommended and the perfect morning out with the kids!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank smccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    465
    169
    52
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited June 2013 with out 3 year old and 18 month old, I was sceptable as we have been to lots of zoos on England and thought once you have see one you have seen them all. I was wrong this one was amazing by the far best experience zoo-wise I have ever had and like I said we have visited most of t hem in England.

It is less of a zoo and more of a walk through a forest with lots of animals to look at. The food was good and reasonably priced, the toilet and changing facilities were plenty and clean. Would definatly recomend to anyone wanting a day off the beach.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annabel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We visited here in June 2013 with my 2 year old son, when on holiday in the Vendee area of France. My wife and I had been before around 4 years ago so knew what to expect.

The Zoo has improved a lot since our last visit, with seemingly a greater mix of animals. All Animals have plenty of space in their enclosures and appear to be very well looked after. The actual walk around the zoo is very much like a walk through a forest, and is pushchair friendly.

The whole Zoo is well laid out, clean, and we visited on a June weekday so was very quiet for us which was great!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank the-small-cheese-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful surroundings, nice people”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A wonderful small zoo, with animals well looked after. My one year old daughter was most impressed. Don't forget to purchase nectar and pop corn to feed the animals with.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cefiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

A really lovely small zoo that is like a forest walk. The enclosures are very naturalistic and lots of healthy and happy looking animals to see. I'm sure the lions would like a bit more space but they seemed quite happy to chill out in the sun, even if they were a bit close to the petting zoo! :-) We had a lovely relaxing afternoon wandering around.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo des Sables d'Olonne also viewed

Les Sables-d'Olonne, Vendee
Les Sables-d'Olonne, Vendee
 
Les Sables-d'Olonne, Vendee
Les Sables-d'Olonne, Vendee
 

Been to Zoo des Sables d'Olonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing