We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay”
Review of Villa Richelieu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Richelieu
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Staid one night as we where invited to a wedding party in the neighbour commune. Had a room in the first house on the right , top floor. Nice room, ok decoration. Bathroom was very small, only shower , no bath. What disturbed us very much is the fact that the bathroom (and so the toilet to ) had no door , so can not be closed off...
Very nice staff, choice to get breakfast at hour desired and breakfast was French stile, but very good quality.
Very quiet room, and good quality of bed & matress.
Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
20
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

On arrival, my heart sank when I saw it from the outside, as it looked very bleak, cold, right on the roadside of a side road, area not fantastic. However, once you go through the secure gates, it is beautiful inside. Garden, trees and beautiful buildings. Very tastefully decorated with devine smells that made me want to sit and chill (I dont usually chill)!

We were given a warm welcome from the owner, who has her own separate house, and 2 children. Her house is what you see from the road, and is a beautiful building. On the other side of the courtyard, is the main guest villa, traditional style. We had the top floor family room in the attic which is not on the roadside, and where breakfast is served. Huge room with 2 double beds, wooden panels on walls, and spotless. It was a climb up 2 flights of wooden stairs, which was ok for us and we had only overnight bags with us to carry up, staying 2 nights.

There is also a more modern building, which is on the roadside (the other side of the main security gate)

The place is always busy, and used by business people as well as people on holiday. On our attic floor there is a meeting room, with tables/chairs/sofas. Hence it is all of a high standard. The first morning, the owner had warned us there would be a meeting in this room at 9am - 5pm. We headed down for breakfast at 9.20h, having to walk through the meeting room to get to the stairs. We did feel we had to keep the kids quiet whilst we finished getting ready. However, on the plus side, in the evenings we sat in this room round the table and played cards and the kids drew. So the advantages outweighed the disadvantages. Gave us even more space.

Breakfast was very nice, homemade jams, pastries, cereal etc. The first morning we had the table to ourself, which we appreciated with the kids in tow (aged 6 & 9). The second morning, the table was full, but we were offered breakfast in the garden, which was great and better for us too.

After a day of sightseeing, we sat round the pool for a few hours and the kids had great fun. There is a kid's swing/slide. however this is in the gated area with the owners dog. (Guests are not allowed pets though) You have free access to this area, but as my kids are scared of dogs, they wouldnt go in the area. The owner did say if the kids wanted a go and play, she would move the dog, but didnt feel I wanted to bother her when they wanted to use the swing. It would be better to have the fenced off area after the swings, which is feasible. Felt this was a real shame, and the only aspect that had not been thought out very well.

We were not very impressed with the area/town itself, but dont let that put you off staying here. It is a great base for visiting some stunning towns only 15 mins drive away. The house is very secure with a gate entry system, and you park your car inside. Its 15 min walk to the town centre, and the usual french streets with dog poo everywhere. We went there at night and had a lovely meal in a resto the owner recommended. The river is beautiful with stunning bridges. Police cars patrolling the streets frequently, but not a place I would like to walk around on my own late at night.

Overall, we enjoyed our chilled stay there. We would go back. 2 nights max though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Lovely swimming pool, beautiful property, coffee making facilities but the design of our room wasn't practical. There was a metal spiral staircase leading up to our room which was very noisy, the shower head socket didn't hold the shower up and the shower wasn't tiled hence paint was peeling off in the bottom of the cubicle. I may be fussy but I do like a door on the toilet when I am sharing a room! The loo was situated in a recess with no door, hence no privacy re sound or smell. Sadly, I've rated this hotel poor in spite of it's gorgeous pool as the lack of a toilet door really spoilt the visit for us. We did ask to be moved as some of the rooms had a screen but were told this wasn't possible and were also told that there was no alternative toilet available on the premises which we could use. At 90 euros a night, we were extremely disappointed. There are some things that even after 37 years of marriage we do not wish to share.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Such a nice relaxed place to stay. Beautifully stylish rooms. Big, comfortable beds. Trendy bathrooms. Kitchen facilities to make your own drinks and meals. Coffee and teas and biscuits available all day. Lovely pool. If only it had been sunny and hot when we were here! We sat in the conservatory and ate a picnic and swam in the rain!
Two separate buildings with rooms - unfortunately we were in a different one to our kids which wasnt a real problem but not ideal if they had been younger. The 4 cheaper rooms are in a building very close to the road so a bit noisy if windows open.
Very friendly, nice patron
Chatellerault itself not particularly charming.

Room Tip: The superior rooms in the villa away from the road are bigger and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srich22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatellerault
0.6 mi away
La Gourmandine
La Gourmandine
#1 of 10 in Chatellerault
121 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
#1 of 1 in Availles-en-Chatellerault
242 reviews
1.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Chatellerault
B&B Hotel Chatellerault
#2 of 10 in Chatellerault
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Univers
Hotel L'Univers
#4 of 10 in Chatellerault
44 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Chatellerault
Ibis Budget Chatellerault
#3 of 10 in Chatellerault
165 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chateau de la Motte
Chateau de la Motte
#1 of 1 in Usseau
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Richelieu

Property: Villa Richelieu
Address: 61 avenue de Richelieu, 86100 Chatellerault, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Chatellerault
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chatellerault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the same site, our 2 hosts' houses Villa 61 and Villa 63 are exclusively dedicated to the hosts. Whatever is the chamber or the house, it is with ... the same pleasure, the comfort, the equipment ... the same availability, the discretion ... and the same quality hotel services as we receive you in the year. An atmosphere which allows to live its stay in the overnight stay with more heat, in a sober, contemporary and authentic frame. Hosts' houses of the Villa Richelieu can also be privatized on request as we rent a holiday cottage, for a weekend or longer: it is the opportunity to live a little of magic thanks to the atmosphere and to the decoration of living spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing