We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent evening meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Gourmandine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Gourmandine
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chatellerault
Certificate of Excellence
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent evening meal”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I tried to book this hotel for myself and two colleagues whilst in Chatellerault for business, but unfortunately it was fully booked. We made do with having our evening meal there instead, and we were amazed at the exquisite interior and fantastic atmosphere. The dining room is not too large, but not crowded, and the adjacent lounge area is extremely stylish and comfortable. Service was excellent, and the staff were very friendly and helpful, and explained anything we didn't understand on the menu.

We were all absolutely delighted with our meals. They were cooked to perfection, delicious and well-presented. The portions were not huge, but with an amuse-bouche and an appetiser before the mains and desert, we left full.

The building itself was apparently a former arms warehouse, but today looks stunning as this boutique hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_71_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    34
    16
    13
    0
See reviews for
16
51
2
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed on a Sunday night and the restaurant was closed - and so was almost everywhere else in the town and we ended up eating Japanese food.\but is was a good place to stay; comfortable and welcoming with a very good breakfast. Not cheap but comfortable and quiet. We will go again - preferably when the restaurant is open.
Great garden with singing frogs and ducks and things!

Room Tip: we had a room in the new annexe - on the first floor with an outdoor space - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p47rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful weekend. Relaxing and charming with amazing food and an unbelievably warm welcome. The perfect place to Recharge one's batteries.Colorfully and tastefully decorated with touches everywhere. Attention to detail. A big thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed one night at the hotel and had dinner that evening.
We had the warmest of welcomes, a beautiful quiet garden room with all the facilities.
The restaurant was very pleasant and the food excellent.
Plenty of parking right in front of the hotel, and yet the town centre is nearby.
We hope that we shall have the chance to stay here again sometime.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank richard_woods1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

La Gourmandine exceeded my expectations, accustomed as I have become to more simple establishments on this walking holiday. Entering from Avenue du President Wilson through huge wrought iron gates to a gravelled courtyard, La Gourmandine immediately impresses with its rather grand facade and portal. It is something of a boutique hotel that seems to specialise in fine dining, certainly on sunday afternoons when we arrived. Our quarters were in the modern annex in the beautiful gardens at the rear. I lucked out, getting what must be the honeymoon suite upstairs. The bedroom was very large and furnished with a sofa, desk, various chairs and side tables, and a stand for my luggage. The separate toilet and shower open off a large bathroom. The high tech shower will challenge and delight! There is a heated towel rail as well as air-conditioning. Some may quibble with the decor of both this room and indeed the old establishment, but it does have a certain style. Luncheon in the formal dining room was good if somewhat pretentious, but the breakfast could not be faulted.

Room Tip: Ask for the large room upstairs in the garden Annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Bambou this time and I think it's my favourite if the quirky rooms, definitely more suited to men as it's not quite as feminine as the others. I liked the glass sink and I slept well, the bed was really comfy. My first choice in Châtellerault.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank seanfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Shown into a modest size room which was crammed with overstuffed furniture yet had no cupboard space and a wardrobe only one foot wide. Toilet so small it's difficult to sit down and close the door.
The town isn't very attractive and seems to be suffering badly from the recession.
My advice is to go to another nearby town and use a better value hotel. This one is much too expensive for what it offers.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MichelinTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatellerault
2.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Chatellerault
Ibis Budget Chatellerault
#3 of 10 in Chatellerault
157 reviews
4.1 mi away
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
#1 of 1 in Availles-en-Chatellerault
224 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Chatellerault
B&B Hotel Chatellerault
#2 of 10 in Chatellerault
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Univers
Hotel L'Univers
#5 of 10 in Chatellerault
38 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Chatellerault
Ibis Chatellerault
#4 of 10 in Chatellerault
197 reviews
12.9 mi away
Les Loges du Parc
Les Loges du Parc
#1 of 8 in La Roche-Posay
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gourmandine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gourmandine

Property: La Gourmandine
Address: 22 avenue du President Wilson, 86100 Chatellerault, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Chatellerault
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chatellerault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gourmandine 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Gourmandine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing