We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road stop on the way south”
Review of La Gourmandine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Gourmandine
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chatellerault
Ipswich
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Road stop on the way south”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hadn't booked and so it was a pot luck road stop. Very happy with our stay. Excellent comfortable room in the mansard, safeish parking and good breakfast. The breakfast room itself is beautiful. All good value too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWine39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    36
    18
    13
    0
See reviews for
16
53
3
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were driving back to the UK from Dordogne, and were looking on spec for a hotel to spend the night. This is a pretty grotty part of France, surprisingly, and we'd just been very disappointed with what was on offer in nearly Poitiers. An attractive hotel, and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. They have traditional rooms in the main hotel, and a few funky, modern rooms in the garden which we opted for and were very happy with. Dinner was excellent with an extensive and reasonably priced wine list. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missvanwyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked a table for 4 adults and three children easily by email for a midday stop. Superb food, varied menu with some stunning top end dishes. Lovely garden - very child friendly, great service with good attention to detail. Although we didn't stay in the hotel it looked lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WillGSSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Anton am Arlberg, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked this as a stopover on a long car trip and wanted just a bed to sleep in, but were astonished to find such a charming team ready to make our stay special. The food was excellent, the rooms clean and the price very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jverney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here for a night on our way south and were really delighted by the experience. Our room was quirky but beautifully furnished and had a real Wow factor when you open the door. The lady who I presume to be the owner was very friendly as were all the staff we met. The restaurant was a little cool given the unseasonal weather, but the food was of a very high standard, and the drinks recommendations were spot on. Great value too. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here many times. Some rooms don't have a shower so make sure you book right. It's an ideal place for a romantic night away as the rooms are very feminine and each one unique though I find them overly fussy for when staying alone on business. Service is good and the restaurant offers a real dining experience if you fancy a treat. Rooms on the first floor are larger, rooms on the second floor are quirkier. I'm yet to stay in the new annexe but will try to do so next time. Breakfast is basic for what it costs and boiling your own egg can be tricky here compared to at home.
They have some fantastic liqueurs and spirits behind the bar including local plum brandies and good Normandie calvados.
Some things about this place that I really don't like are the tiny pieces of slimy rolled up ham that they put out for breakfast and the dreadful ambient music CDs that are played constantly other than that, it's a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Thanks to the Brittany Ferries recent strike we found the Amazing 'La Gourmandine' in Chatellerault by pure chance. We were made very welcome. Our room was in the annex, very comfortable and had a bathroom second to none.The meal in the restaurant was fantastic, every course beautifully presented and delicious. Our room had a small deck area with its own 'hot tub' which we unfortunately didn't have time to try out! We will hopefully return one day for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Annex have fantastic bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatellerault
2.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Chatellerault
Ibis Budget Chatellerault
#3 of 10 in Chatellerault
165 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Chatellerault
Ibis Chatellerault
#5 of 10 in Chatellerault
209 reviews
4.1 mi away
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
#1 of 1 in Availles-en-Chatellerault
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Chatellerault
B&B Hotel Chatellerault
#2 of 10 in Chatellerault
57 reviews
20.4 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
499 reviews
13.8 mi away
Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudiere
Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudi...
#7 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gourmandine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gourmandine

Property: La Gourmandine
Address: 22 avenue du President Wilson, 86100 Chatellerault, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Chatellerault
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chatellerault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gourmandine 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Gourmandine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing