We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet seaside hotel.”
Review of Hotel d'Orbigny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel d'Orbigny
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to this hotel very much. The staff were without exception very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, bed extremely comfortable, shower and seperate toilet excellent, glimpse of the sea from our window. We also had the 26 Euros menu, and it was delicious, and beautifully presented - probably ranks amongst the best food we have ever had. We also used the pool which was lovely. The optional secure car park at the back was useful for us as we needed to leave some of our luggage and valuables in the car. We didn't go into the town as we are birdwatchers, and headed north to the polders for fantastic views of blue throats and storks (among many other birds). Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grizzly3941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 88 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was selected as we were enroute from Spain back to Paris. It was all we expected in a quiet seaside town, just out of the Main Street so private and secure. We had a room with ensuite and everything was clean and tidy and functional. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueO_RonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Heading for Ile de Ré from the south of France we overnighted at Chatelaillon-Plage and had the good fortune to find Hotel d'Orbigny. There we received a warrm welcome, a comfortable room, a superb shower facility and good breakfast at a very affordable price. Parking across the road was very convenient. The hotel is oniy a short walk from the magnificent beach.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lynchda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We happened on this newly renovated hotel quite by accident. The rooms are nicely decorated with separate toilet and shower room. The reception was friendly and helpful. Wifi was free. Parking was on the pavement in front of the hotel. The whole hotel, as far as we could see, was newly decorated in a modern minimalist style. We did not experience the breakfasts or the swimming pool, but the evening meal in the restaurant was an amazing experience. We had no choice of menu....but for 26 Euros we had a four course meal of VERY high standard. The young chef even came to speak to us during our meal to ensure that everything was to our liking. It went way beyond our expectations! Although not on the sea front itself, we could just see the sea from our room. A very short walk takes you to the esplanade and a selection of restaurants. The centre of the town is a short walk away. La Rochelle and the Isle de Re are a short drive away. I would recommend this hotel both for staying and/or eating in!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Pretty standard 2* French hotel. No complaints, the staff were pleasant and helpful, the room and whole hotel were spotless and the breakfast was ok for the price. Decor a bit dated but that's not going to spoil your stay. We took a three bed room as we can't stand the French idea of a double bed (140cm, that's only for one and a half people!). There's a bike rack for cyclists in the parking area and it is all locked up at night. Didn't use the pool but it looked good. Chatelaillon-plage is a good stop on the Velodyssee cycle route.

Room Tip: See comments on beds above. Our room faced the main street(set back from the road a bit) but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medlar41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinnevb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatelaillon-Plage hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Rivage
Le Rivage
#7 of 9 in Chatelaillon-Plage
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Les Flots
Clarion Collection Hotel Les Flo...
#1 of 9 in Chatelaillon-Plage
142 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles La Rochelle Thalasso Chatelaillon
Ibis Styles La Rochelle Thalasso...
#5 of 9 in Chatelaillon-Plage
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Goelands
Hotel Les Goelands
#6 of 9 in Chatelaillon-Plage
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel Majestic
Inter-Hotel Majestic
#8 of 9 in Chatelaillon-Plage
177 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Grande Terrasse hotel & Spa La Rochelle Mgallery By Sofitel
La Grande Terrasse hotel & Spa L...
#2 of 9 in Chatelaillon-Plage
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Orbigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Orbigny

Address: 47 boulevard de la Republique, 17340 Chatelaillon-Plage, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Chatelaillon-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chatelaillon-Plage
Price Range: $76 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Orbigny 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel d'Orbigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing