We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveler rating
314
103
33
13
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
314
103
33
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews m gallery junior suite main beach beautiful hotel sea view teething problems pierre gagnaire the sofa bed shuttle service staff were excellent rooms are small great spot couple of nights stayed for nights in advance la rochelle last year
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 477 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Having searched this year for a hotel with pool & spa to use as a regular get away with my busy husband in May we stayed at Sofitel in Biarritz. It was wonderful but a longish drive.

Last Thursday however after a comfortable drive we arrived at this 5* luxury hotel and the moment we arrived were spellbound!

The staff were excellent, professional & discreet. Nothing was too much trouble and in reception Letitia & Mellisa were angels to deal with.

We had a terrific room with terrace leading to the garden and sea view and as we sat watching the most amazing sunset on our first evening my husband turned & said "Do you know Maria, this is our special little place in paradise."

The pool & spa are light & clean, the restaurant & food suits all tastes & one evening we had room service on our terrace for a change.

No one could have done more to make Our stay perfect & we were so impressed we booked another weekend on December & a longer break in February for St Valentine's weekend!

I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough & Sofitel really are a brand to choose.

Accor loyalty points help too for regular stays & we are already looking forward to our next stay here.

Anyone wanting the perfect escape from stress can relax here & my husband's daughter said he looked 10 years younger upon our return.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank marialouisewarne2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Our party of three was split in rooms #6 and #113, and we spent two nights on a bed and breakfast rate. Staff were great: kind, welcoming, ready to help. The location was perfect, the rooms spotless, and the property was refurbished recently, the old Mercure becoming a new M Gallery.
Anyhow rooms' size does not seem to have increased since Mercure times and are much too small for an M Gallery. Although beautiful, these rooms are not well designed, too tiny, and do not offer the comfort expected. For instance, only one armchair is provided to seat in a double room. Impossible to write at a desk. Another issue comes from the bathrooms that lack privacy as they are entered through a door which has large clear glass windows with no shades (to let the natural light in?). As a result, the person in the bathroom has no intimacy, all the more annoying when toilets are not separated (room #006). Who wants to seat on the toilets and be seen through the bathroom's door? When we complained, staff seemed surprised but tinkered with the door and managed to temporarily shade the glass. Note that the bathroom door is a sliding door, instead of a traditional door (probably to save room?), and is not easy to open from inside as there is no handle there. Another proof of bad design.
More importantly, too many services were missing for an M Gallery: no turndown service, no room service (basic food from the bar can be delivered, though), no individual shampoo or shower gel toiletries in the shower but a large collective dispenser stuck on the wall, no guest directory (we therefore had to keep calling front desk to know how to phone from one room to the other, how to get towels for the beach, how to order food through room service...) and so on. At breakfast, nobody is in charge of welcoming and seating guests, which results in long waits to make a waiter take your hot drinks & eggs order, and then a long wait to have them served at your table (one morning our coffee arrived tepid). In one of our room the welcome sweets were two lollipops: a strange idea for a party of grown-up adults.
On a positive note, we enjoyed our dinner at Gaya restaurant, and found food and wines great. Anyhow, despite having confirmed through e-mail that my guests would be given menus with no price on, cost information was written on all the menus they got.
To conclude, our expectations from M Gallery were unfulfilled. This hotel is more Mercure-like, and its rooms are actually worse than in the most recent Mercure properties we visited (in Cherbourg e.g.). Accor has an issue with its rebranded Mercures becoming M Galleries (rooms are revamped but remain small, etc.).

Room tip: Beware of small rooms
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric_Beylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Arrived with my wife, son and daughter in law and grand daughter (3yrs old). First impressions were that this was a good hotel. excellent reception staff and décor and layout was impressive. Location is close to the beach but if you have a problem with steep stairs give it a miss or walk the mile or so to the main beach in the town.
The problems start when you want to eat. There is a 'Bistrot' and what claims to be a fine dining restaurant. During our visit the restaurant was fully booked each night although only about half the tables were actually occupied. Therefore I cannot comment on the quality of the food served there. I thought not too much of a problem as there is still the Bistrot. Arrived there and found a table. Menu for food and drinks eventually arrived. After looking at the food menu I called the waiter and asked for the main course menu as well only to be told that this was the only food available. It was nothing more that a list of Starter dishes with bowls of chips available if you asked for them as they were not on the menu. Prices were also very high for Starters. By end of evening went to bed very hungry. (See photos of menu)
Following evening we were baby sitting and decided to have room service. What a mistake!!!! Menu for room service was the same as for the Bistrot.
Following evening (our last) decided to eat out but wanted a simple meal for my grand daughter at about 6.30pm. The request was made and the response was the chef was too busy. The food requested was a small bowl of PLAIN pasta which had not been a problem the evening previously. After my son threatened to call the hotel manager the chef agreed to prepare this but that it would be the last time. It is, I must accept a very difficult dish to prepare for a professional chef/kitchen and the pasta fell far short of acceptable.

Room tip: All rooms seem to be comfortable and quiet
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gordon-Rodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

Did a couple of nights here as a family of 4 in a Junior Suite. The service is very good here & the hotel plush. The suite despite being interesting with twin level was small & didn't really give much room to walk around when the sofa-bed was in use. The spa is nice but most people didn't appreciate having kids in there & the restaurant was good. The terrace was great for drinks overlooking the ocean & watching the sun come down.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Nicely decked out in a beach chic design. I didn’t even realise to start with that it was a Sofitel. Situated on the coast it reminded me of being in the Frisian Islands on the German coast. Huddled up against the wind and rain, it probably was totally different in the sunshine. Small but comfortable rooms, little hideaways dotted around the hotel was like a maze. Food was good, I recommend the sea food platter, at €42 expensive but delightful. I didn’t get around to trying the spa but ample expanse to run along the shore.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Skytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews