We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel along sea front” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Les 3 Iles Chatelaillon Plage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Les 3 Iles Chatelaillon Plage Hotel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel along sea front”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Enjoyed an overnight in this hotel whilst having a quick visit to Chatelailon Plage. Staff were friendly and helpful, we were able to check into our room at midday even though check in was stated as 4pm so that was great. Our room unexpectedly had a seaview from our balcony which was an added bonus and was a reasonable size the only small problem was that it smelt a little of ciigarette smoke probably from people smoking on the balcony. The restaurant had some nice meals on the menu but was quite expensive as was the wine on offer. Quite a walk to main restaurants and bars but an enjoyable one along the coast. The TV does have BBC worldnews on it so there is an English channel now.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    265
    111
    24
    14
See reviews for
127
308
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Try for a room on 2nd or 3rd floor sea facing if you want the view.
Odd carpet decor but apart from that, very clean and well maintained
didnt eat here so cant comment on food quality
Staff very helpful and excellent English; car park safe. Was about a mile or so walk into the centre, but it was a nice walk and im sure it did us good!
fridge and free water in the room which i always see as a positive, especially in the summer in a non central hotel
comment was true about TV- bit sick of watching BBC world news on holiday all the time!
went to Ill de Re for the beaches, as they are better there, but be warned, the toll bridge is 16 euros

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeysoxnorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is close to the sea but about a mile anad a half from the centre of Chatelaillon Plage, so the location is very suited to those travelling with car, and there is no problem with parking.
Very much like a Travel Lodge with hotel rooms in a box like construction extending from the foyer, and room sizes are not generous.
The restaurant is high quality and we chose to eat there twice in a four night stay, with as la carte choice or a formula menu of 36 euros.The duck was as good as I have ever had, served in a rich sauce on a bed of mushrooms.
From the hotel there is a fifteen minute walk in either direction to the nearest restaurants, with the nearest beach about ten minutes walk, a very pleasant small beach.
The hotel has a small pool with a few sunbeds, and a grassy area in front of the hotel with a few tables and chairs.
Breakfast is a hefty 15 euros, and is typical of French hotels with fresh fruit, muesli, cold meats, streaky bacon, scrambled eggs, and pastries available.
Overall this is a reasonable choice hotel that will suit those who have travelled by car and like walks by the sea, but is somewhat over-priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheels96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Hotel is overpriced for the service and facilities offered unless you get a deal. It would have been nice to have included at least one British channel on the t/v among the 26 French channels on offer. Beautiful view from hotel and some lovely beach walks. Good car parking facilities. Good central location for trips to Rochefort and La Rochelle. Would visit hotel again but only if price deal on offer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beefsteak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had a very good surprise when we arrived at the hotel, the location was just magnificent! At the back of the hotel there's a big garden overlooking the sea and from there you can get to a nice small beach, only a few steps away. The restaurant has also a beautiful view, the food was very nice and the staff was friendly. The rooms are small, but very comfortable and clean. However the cleaning staff wasn't super efficient, there were trays on the corridor all the time and they left and ashtray and a couple of glasses on our terrace for the 3 days we were there. Apart from that, we had a wonderful stay and I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jujuetmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatelaillon-Plage
1.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Les Flots
Clarion Collection Hotel Les Flo...
#1 of 10 in Chatelaillon-Plage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel IBIS La Rochelle Thalasso
Hotel IBIS La Rochelle Thalasso
#3 of 10 in Chatelaillon-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Bains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Acadie Saint Victor
Hotel Restaurant Acadie Saint Vi...
#4 of 10 in Chatelaillon-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Goelands
Hotel Les Goelands
#6 of 10 in Chatelaillon-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Rivage
Le Rivage
#5 of 10 in Chatelaillon-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Les 3 Iles Chatelaillon Plage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Les 3 Iles Chatelaillon Plage Hotel

Property: Mercure Les 3 Iles Chatelaillon Plage Hotel
Address: Avenue de la Falaise, 17340 Chatelaillon-Plage, France (Formerly Hotel Thalasso)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Chatelaillon-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatelaillon-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Les 3 Iles Chatelaillon Plage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the ocean and the islands of Ré, Aix and Oléron, 7.5 miles (12 km) south of La Rochelle, the hotel has been completely renovated and is ideally located 109 yards (100 m) from the Thalasso La Rochelle Sud. The Mercure 3 Iles hotel has 79 rooms, bar, panoramic terrace, outdoor swimming pool, a 7.4-acre (3-hectare) park, direct access to the sea, boules area and iclose to the Casino de Châtelaillon Plage. The restaurant has outstanding sea views and serves exquisite and original cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Les 3 Iles Chatelaillon Plage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing