We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some people are missing the point”
Review of Futuroscope

Futuroscope
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With more than 40 million visitors since it opened, Futuroscope is one of the best-loved leisure parks in France and the only one of its kind in Europe. Futuroscope is the ideal place to relax in, with 60 hectares of tranquil green countryside and 25 original experiences you won't find anywhere else: films in giant format, thrill-filled attractions, 3D rides with 4D effects, games, live shows, open-air activities, and more. The spectacular theatres inside Futuroscope are gigantic sculptures and their futuristic lines blend in smoothly with the surrounding landscape. Discovery and thrills guaranteed for everyone, young and old!
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some people are missing the point”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was initially rather sceptical having read the mixed reviews, but knowing that we (family with kids of 12,11 & 7) could visit out of season and avoid queuing, I finally gave in and we went.
I came away really pleasantly surprised and now I understand why there seems to be a bit of a love/hate reaction to Futuroscope.

I think that the fundamental problem is that prospective visitors need to understand beforehand, the idea that Futuroscope is designed and marketed as "Fun and education". It is not a theme park in the mould of Thorpe Park or Alton Towers. It is not just about screaming your head off on a roller coaster and heart pounding thrill rides. What Futuroscope tries to do, but clearly fails with some people, is to make you occasionally use your brain and to think a bit, while still having plenty of fun. The less equipped are inevitably going to feel short-changed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cota247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,357
    3,641
    1,481
    502
    236
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Out of Season”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

It was a wet Monday in May when we visited. I've been here before but that was about ten years ago and in the summer. The pluses for out-of-season are no cues so we did everything in one day finishing about 5pm. We didn't stay for the evening show as we thought it might be cancelled and it was wet and cold. The downside to out-of-season is most eating establishments were closed and very limited choice for those that were open.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pointless rubbish”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This park offers very little in the way of rides and things to interest children. It has plenty of 3D cinemas but, let's face it, so does the average big town these days. Nothing here is as impressive in the 3D world as Avatar or any of the modern 3D films on offer, and frankly one would be entertained for longer taking the kids to see a full length film in 3D than putting up with the combined queuing across all the park for a total of maybe half an hours 3D viewing across the cinemas. Indeed many people now have this technology in their own homes, so not particularly futuristic really.

Not one traditional 'ride' to be found apart from Dance with Robots, which, whilst the ONLY fun ride for adults in the park is not at all suitable for young children, despite what their adverts might suggest. The kids do not get to dance with the robot, but are flung about by a gigantic robot arm. Little kids under 1 metre 20 are not permitted to ride at all.

There is a kiddy play park attached, but this opens for just 4 hours at 2pm and shuts promptly at 6pm. This does have a few more fun kiddy rides, but nothing special for a theme park. Also the evening show does not start until 22:30 so most kids will have turned into a pumpkin by then.

So all in all save your money (39€) and instead visit Park Asterix (36-44€) or Disney (39-49€) instead. You will have a MUCH MUCH MUCH better time at both of these alternatives. (Am I making my point there with the CAPITALS? if so, Futuroscope = Sadly Here It's Terrible) Sorry Futuroscope, but you are more Boroscope. As you celebrate your 25 years I very much doubt you will make another quarter century now the rest of the world has caught up with your vision of the 'future'.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Stuck in the Nineties-o-scope”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

No more than average theme park that charges a way above average entrance price. Interesting architecture surrounds you but the kids won't be interested in this but will be disappointed by the lack of rides. Man focus is on 3d and 4d shows some of which are only shown at certain times of the day. Some were pretty good e.g. Arthur, others were pointless e.g. Tahiti wave. Kids also liked the open play areas which had self-controlled equipment. Mediocre and expensive food options as you might expect so bring a picnic if you can. The service we had in the Comptoir du Monde "fast food" was simply hilarious - fast food being cooked to order for each customer - no one being served until the previous order had been cooked. Laughable except for the 30 minutes queue... Attraction still allows smoking in the open areas which in our opinion is both disgusting and unnecessary. This is one of those places where you can make a day of it if you overlook a few things but is it worth the entry price ? No. Does it need serious upgrading and a change of management? Definitely! Bon chance....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SherpaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkey, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Futuroscope, not just for kids”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Futuroscope especially at night time takes on a new amazing look and worth the visit, the lights the shows, the 3D films are not just for kids. We had a great time and would visit again and again great value for money. You would not see 5 hours going. This is not like the usual fun park, it has culture, art and great fun. We Never stopped laughing we all had such fun.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DalkeyPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Futuroscope also viewed

Montgenevre, Hautes-Alpes
 

Been to Futuroscope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing